iPhone 6(s+) Plus Screen Protectors

Cinder Screen Protector Review – iPhone 6 and iPhone 6 Plus

 

There is nothing like Cinder

(Scroll down for the written review)


Cinder Screen Protector Review - Its hidden?

 

Cinder Screen Protector Review – The perfect screen protector

The Cinder by Cupert is one of the best screen protectors that we’ve ever used. If Mobile Reviews Eh was to stop, this would be the screen protector we would want on all our devices.

This is a true edge to edge screen protector made entirely out of glass which is pretty unbelievable and its one of the few screen protectors that doesn’t feel like its there. It fits incredibly well, feels great and despite being an edge-to-edge screen protector fits almost every case that we’ve reviewed.

For our Cinder screen protector review, we’ve given it a score of 4.4 Eh’s out of 5. This is the current champion of screen protectors as it beats out the iLoome ScreenMate Maxx, another edge to edge screen protector and the Sir Lancelot.

  Compare With other
     
     Cinder
     
    Header
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    PricePrice:
    iPhone 6: $39.99 USD
    iPhone 6 Plus: $44.99 USD
    Top Buy Buttons
    Coming Soon!
    ProsPros:
    - Perfect fit for the iPhone's curved screen
    - Not noticeable
    - True edge-to-edge protection
    - Tough
    ConsCons:
    - None
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - None that we've found
    Design Rating
    DESIGN
    Installation/FitFit/Install (4/5):
    - Perfect fit
    - Re-applicable
    - 50/50 with bubbling issues
    Build QualityBuild Quality (5/5):
    - Thin (less than 0.2 mm thick)
    - Rounded edges reduces the chance that chipping will occur along the edges of the screen protector
    Protection Rating
    PROTECTION
    Scratch ProtectionScratch Resistance (3.5/5):
    - 9H hardness
    - Keys, knives will do nothing to this screen protector
    Impact ProtectionImpact Protection (5/5):
    - Provides great impact protection (protected against several hammer strikes)
    Functionality Rating
    FUNCTIONALITY
    ViewabilityiPhone Viewability (5/5):
    - Perfect
    Screen SensitivityScreen Functionality (5/5):
    - Perfect
    Bottom Buy Buttons
    Coming Soon!

    Design – Its so good that you’ll forget about it

    The design of this tempered glass screen protector is impressive. It’s beautiful. The screen protector itself is less than .2mm thick but with the rounded edges, you can’t really figure out how thick it is when you’re using it.

    We didn’t have any issues with the installation of the screen protector and the adhesive on the back allowed us to remove dust (if it was there). Taking the screen protector on/off didn’t result in any cracking and bubbling was non existent.

    The fit of the screen protector is very impressive. The rounded edges of along the screen protector fit the iPhone very well and makes the protector seem like part of the case rather than an accessory. The cutout for the Touch ID is completely surrounded and since its all glass, you won’t have bending issues like you would find on the iLoome ScreenMate Maxx (a glass/metal hybrid screen protector).

    Protection – Look! A hammer!

    Cinder Screen Protector Review - Impact protection

    In terms of protection, this screen protector has 9H hardness and is strong enough to withstand a medium strike from a hammer. The prototype unit that we have withstood several weeks of going in various pockets and bags and came out unscathed after a decent scratching with a knife.

    In terms of chipping, the rounded edges reduce the chances that the edges of the screen protector will chip. The average glass screen protector has a 90 degree edge at the end of the screen protector so any sort of pressure will result in the edge chipping. The Cinder, with its curved edge will minimize this from happening.

    The Cinder will add another level of impact protection as it any screen shattering blow will be absorbed by the Cinder. We took a hammer and strike several times without any impact on the iPhone.

    Functionality – The curved edge makes all the difference

    Cinder Screen Protector Review - Rounded edges reduces chipping

    In terms of using your iPhone’s touch screen, it covers the whole thing so usability isn’t an issue. In fact, as we mentioned above, this product is so good you won’t notice it there. The coatings on the screen protector aren’t sticky and the Cinder does a good job of keeping fingerprint smudging to a minimum. The clarity of your iPhone’s touchscreen is maintained so you won’t have to deal with any extra glare or reflections that occur with other plastic screen protectors.

    Have questions about our Cinder Screen Protector Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page.

    164 Comments

    164 Comments

    1. Chris

      September 4, 2015 at 12:07 am

      Aaron, can you find out from the folks who sent this to you if it will work on the 6s and 6s plus, or if they’re working on a different variant for those models. The measurements are a hair different but a lot of companies are now marketing their protectors to work on the regular 6 and 6 plus as well as the corresponding “s” models. Thanks in advance.

      • Mennoger

        September 9, 2015 at 1:41 am

        Yes as the iPhone 6s and 6s Plus are the same models as the normal iPhone 6 and 6 plus. Nothing changed on the iPhone models itself.

      • Charles Moran

        October 19, 2015 at 11:41 pm

        So your review of the Cinder protective glass screen for the iPhone 6S Plus states that it is due out soon. So when will it be available and where can you buy it?

        • Aaron Ho

          October 20, 2015 at 1:16 pm

          I believe they are out…Amazon would be your best bet but I know that Cupert is low on their supplies.

          • MJfromMD

            November 9, 2015 at 6:11 pm

            They are vaporware. Amazon has prohibited Cupert tech from selling because they cannot deliver. Cupert has raised pricing and is taking orders from their website, but NO CINDERS have been shipped.

            • Aaron Ho

              November 9, 2015 at 11:16 pm

              Thanks for the info. I know they ran into production problems…but they have shipped Cinder. I have one and not the review one they gave me.

            • Justin

              November 13, 2015 at 3:32 am

              CINDERhas shipped their products. I received mine today. Their “new” CINDERs are better than the originals. The company seems to have had a less than desired start up, but they do deliver on their products.

            • Aaron Ho

              November 14, 2015 at 7:51 pm

              Great! What’s different?

    2. Molly

      September 4, 2015 at 12:22 pm

      You mentioned it worked well under any case, just wanted to ask which cases you tried over it and see if you had any more details on that. Thank you for all the work you do on this by the way! Yours is the only review site I trust.

      • Maike13

        September 12, 2015 at 4:58 pm

        There’s a list of some cases that work/don’t work on Cinder’s old indiegogo site (see below).

        Aaron/ It would be great if you could add any additional cases you tested to this list. The biggest problem with these edge to edge screen protectors is knowing if they’ll fit the case you’re using, or knowing which case to buy that will fit. I was surprised to see that the Spigen Tough Armor didn’t work, as it worked in your review of the iLoome ScreenMate Max, which i would have thought was very similar. Perhaps the edges of the ScreenMate are thinner?

        Working cases;
        Apple leather case
        Apple Silicone case
        Ringke Fusion
        Rhinoshield Crash Guard
        Thule Atmos X3
        Urban Armor Gear
        Incipio NGP – updated May 4th
        Speck CandyShell Grip – updated May 4th
        ZooGue Social Pro – updated May 6th
        Magpul Field Case – updated May 11th
        Powersupport Air Jacket – updated May 14th

        Cases not working;
        Spigen Tough Armor Cover Case
        Spigen Air Skin(very close, and some might be able to do it) – updated May 6th
        Incipio dual pro(very close, and some might be able to do it) – updated May 8th

        • Aaron Ho

          September 12, 2015 at 8:02 pm

          The Tough Armor did work but it took a bit of effort to pull the lip of the case over the glass screen protector. Same with the DualPro.

        • James

          October 13, 2015 at 4:36 am

          6s Plus, Cinder, and Thule x3 work?

          • Aaron Ho

            October 13, 2015 at 12:37 pm

            It should. Check with Cupert Tech to make sure.

        • Oral

          November 14, 2015 at 10:45 am

          Griffen survivor core doesn’t fit at all . Contstantly lifts up screen protector.

        • Jon

          December 7, 2015 at 7:18 am

          Have you tried this screen protector with an otterbox resurgence?

          Jon

          • Aaron Ho

            December 8, 2015 at 2:41 pm

            I haven’t. Check with Cupert to see if its compatible. I’d imagine it would be.

      • Steve

        September 24, 2015 at 7:51 pm

        Two questions
        1. have you tried this with the Thule X4 for the IPhone 6S+
        2. With the Thule X4 for IPhone 6s+ do you know anyone who makes a belt clip that would work?

        thanks your site and info is fabulous
        STeve

        • Aaron Ho

          September 24, 2015 at 10:11 pm

          1. It should work together. The 6S’s aren’t out yet so I can’t say for sure.
          2. I haven’t come across any belt clips that would work well with the Thule.

          • Nico

            November 13, 2015 at 3:56 am

            Hey Aaron —

            Love your reviews — they’ve been insanely helpful to me. Just wanted to know if this will work with the Griffin Survivor Core or Griffin Identity Clear?

            Thanks for all you do!

            • Aaron Ho

              November 14, 2015 at 7:51 pm

              I believe they fit. Check Cupert’s website to be sure.

    3. Francisco Saldaña

      September 5, 2015 at 5:07 pm

      Como realizar la compra de protector iphone 6 para Mexico

    4. Jane

      September 6, 2015 at 2:21 am

      Hello,
      Did you try the Incipio Dualpro on with the Cinder? I really hope they work together. The Cinder sounds so perfect!

    5. Wendy

      September 7, 2015 at 4:39 am

      Could you please advise which one of the following provides the best protection?

      A. Rhino Shield Crash Guard Bumper + Cinder Screen Protector
      B. Rhino Shield Crash Guard Bumper + Rhino Shield High Impact-Resistent Screen Protector
      C. Thule Atmos 4X

      Thanks!

      • Aaron Ho

        September 9, 2015 at 3:45 pm

        Thule X4 for greater all round protection. If you’re not too clumsy, go with the A.

        • leo

          September 24, 2015 at 1:40 am

          witch one is the best option for iphone 6s plus: thule atmos x4 or atmos x3+cinder screen protector?

    6. Nick

      September 10, 2015 at 12:49 am

      Will this screen protector work with a lifeproof nude on an IPhone 6?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 12, 2015 at 8:06 pm

        Nope. I tried and the cutout is just a tad too big to have a solid seal between the case and the screen protector.

    7. Chax

      September 11, 2015 at 4:18 am

      Great review. Apart from this screen protector, what about Patchworks ITG protectors, any advice?

    8. Ben

      September 12, 2015 at 1:02 pm

      Would K11 and Cinder combo work well for protection

      • Aaron Ho

        September 12, 2015 at 8:04 pm

        It would for a bumper setup. The back is still exposed if you’re worried about it (I don’t).

    9. Ed

      September 12, 2015 at 8:55 pm

      Hi Aaron. Does the Speck CandyShell grip case work with iPhone 6? Another reviewer mentioned that it doesn’t, although her review was done on a 6+ only. Could you check and see if it fits just the regular 6? Thanks.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 13, 2015 at 8:32 pm

        It should…Speck sells a 6 version on their website.

    10. Matt

      September 13, 2015 at 3:38 am

      What would be your thoughts on combining this with a Thule Armor X3? Best combination ever or would you suggest something else? I’m looking for solid drop protection with a best in class screen protector. Thanks!

      • Matt

        September 13, 2015 at 3:40 am

        Sorry Atmos not Armor. Too many case reviews lately!

    11. korteza

      September 13, 2015 at 7:42 pm

      Hi Aaron,
      Love your reviews.
      Can you please confirm that Cinder will fit Thule Atmos X4 on Iphone 6? (i think i saw this cover on your video)
      Cause combo atmos x4 +cinder on 6+ dont

      • Aaron Ho

        September 13, 2015 at 8:23 pm

        I never had the cinder on the 6 but my guess is that it will fit. I see no reason why it would be different.

        • korteza

          September 14, 2015 at 12:47 pm

          According to info I,ve get from The Tech Reviewer, Cinder is too big (edge to egde) for Thule atmos x4 on Iphone 6+. I was hoping maybe on smaller iphone will fit better

          • Chris

            September 14, 2015 at 10:11 pm

            Nice plug!

    12. Kyle

      September 13, 2015 at 11:07 pm

      Hey Aaron, thanks for the video. Do you know if tempered glass screen protectors like this one are going to work with 3D Touch on the s models?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 14, 2015 at 11:03 pm

        Cinder has confirmed that it will.

    13. evry1lovej

      September 14, 2015 at 5:35 am

      Hi,

      I was looking to get a cinder case too! What case would you recommend for it? I was currently looking at the moshi iglaze napa.

    14. Janelle

      September 14, 2015 at 5:35 pm

      When is the estimate release date?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 14, 2015 at 11:01 pm

        I believe they are in production now.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 14, 2015 at 11:02 pm

        They mentioned to me that they’ve sent me production products already but I haven’t seen them yet.

    15. Evan Cabrera

      September 17, 2015 at 2:05 am

      Where can this screen protector be bought at? Also does the cinder work on the catalystlifestyle case?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:34 pm

        They are close to releasing it. No it wouldn’t work with the catalyst.

    16. Nick23

      September 17, 2015 at 2:06 pm

      What’s the best Case and Cinder combination for Protection, Slim Fit, and Preventing slight bending (in pants pockets)? Is the Rhino Shield Crash Guard rigid enough? or Should I go with a hard backing case like the Thule Atmos X3?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:36 pm

        I don’t think the Crashguard is rigid enough to prevent bending. If you want complete bend protection, go with a metallic case.

    17. Jim

      September 17, 2015 at 6:42 pm

      Sounds like a great product. Just wondering if you know if they’ve considered making it with a privacy screen. That’s important for me in my job.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:38 pm

        I’m not sure…I’ll pass the request along.

        • Jim

          September 21, 2015 at 4:17 pm

          Thanks! I love and rely on your reviews!

    18. Evan

      September 17, 2015 at 7:16 pm

      Where can this screen protector be purchased?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:41 pm

        I’ve been told they are in final production.

        • Steve

          September 18, 2015 at 9:30 pm

          Aaron, have they given you an ETA?

          • Aaron Ho

            September 18, 2015 at 11:17 pm

            “Our products will launch on several sites and platforms the coming months and starts at Amazon US (with global shipping) around 23nd -24th september. “

    19. Diana

      September 18, 2015 at 6:12 pm

      Will this work with the Otterbox Symmetry case? Thanks!

      • Aaron Ho

        September 18, 2015 at 11:18 pm

        Yes.

        • Diana

          September 28, 2015 at 3:17 am

          Thanks!

    20. Simon

      September 18, 2015 at 7:33 pm

      Hey Aaron, just in case you’re not tired of hearing it- YOU’RE REVIEWS ARE THE BEST EH! After watching your review for the cinder I gotta have it brother- looks awesome. So we probably missed out on the Indiegogo price but where/ when do you think we can order this at the best price? Thank you!

      • Aaron Ho

        September 18, 2015 at 11:17 pm

        They’re in the process of rolling them out. Looks like September 23/24 on Amazon.

        Thanks for the support!

    21. Jon

      September 18, 2015 at 10:36 pm

      I received a reply from their sales department, looks like they are about to push this to market.

      This was their reply to my request for information;

      “Our products will launch on several sites and platforms the coming months and starts at Amazon US (with global shipping) around 23nd -24th september. “

      • Aaron Ho

        September 18, 2015 at 11:17 pm

        Thanks for the info!

    22. Marcus

      September 19, 2015 at 4:03 am

      Aaron, thanks for the great website. I need something a little tougher and more protective than a bumper but I don’t want to go for one of the really big bulky cases. Also, I’m really interested in this screen protector. I know it might be a little pricey but what do you think about the idea of using the Thule Atmos X4 without their screen guard and adding a Cinder as the screen protector? Assuming price isn’t really an issue. Thanks!

      • Aaron Ho

        September 21, 2015 at 3:43 pm

        If I was to stop reviewing products, that would be my goto setup.

        • Christian Min

          September 22, 2015 at 12:29 am

          Aaron, can you confirm that the CINDER for the iPhone 6 WILL work with the thule atmos x4 without the included stratoshield? thanks!

          • Aaron Ho

            September 23, 2015 at 2:06 pm

            I was able to use them both.

        • Marcus

          September 22, 2015 at 1:00 pm

          Thanks a lot, Aaron. I have read from “other sources” that the Cinder for the iPhone 6/6s+ is incompatible with the Atmos X4 for the +. We have both a 6 and a 6+ in our household and are upgrading to the 6s and 6s+. Can you comment on the compatibility for each of these use cases (Atmos X4 with Cinder for both 6/6s and 6+/6s+)? Thank you so much for all your great work, Aaron.

          • Aaron Ho

            September 23, 2015 at 2:04 pm

            Cupert said the Cinder should with the new iPhone’s. I’ve used the Cinder with the X4 without any problem…

            • leo

              September 24, 2015 at 1:42 am

              witch one is the best option for iphone 6s plus: thule atmos x4 or atmos x3+cinder screen protector?

            • Aaron Ho

              September 24, 2015 at 2:43 pm

              The X4 will be tougher. The screen protector on the X4 can take a beating.

    23. Curtis

      September 23, 2015 at 1:32 pm

      Aaron, can you tell us if the Cinder screen protection is compatible with the Catalyst waterproof case ?? Thanks 🙂

    24. Ryan

      September 25, 2015 at 1:28 pm

      Hi Aaron – I’m getting the K11 because of your site (and posted to their Kickstarter you were the cause as well)… I’m seeing other protectors by this company… have you looked at the Phantom or Eclipse?

      • Ryan

        September 25, 2015 at 2:13 pm

        more specifically… I’m wondering if it’s worth the extra cost of getting the Cinder vs one of the other ones if I’m using the k11 bumper. As far as I can tell the only difference is the Cinder going further on the edges with curved glass..

        • Aaron Ho

          September 26, 2015 at 7:10 pm

          The Cinder doesn’t work with the K11. I think the Zagg Glass Luxe will fit but I haven’t reviewed it. You’d be ok going with other screen protectors as well.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 26, 2015 at 7:10 pm

        I haven’t yet.

    25. Ryan

      September 25, 2015 at 8:12 pm

      To go with my message above…

      Sorry for all the messages, K11 just sent out this email:

      “ZAGG’s Glass Luxe WINS!
      After looking everywhere for a Luxe since they are sold out, we ended up driving to their corporate office and stealing an employee’s phone to test it (of course we asked). In the end, it is a perfect fit! Actually better than the Tech Armor E2E.
      Cupert’s Cinder LOSES!
      Bad news folks, it does not fit and is the furthest E2E that we have tested. To be honest, if I wasn’t using a case at all and I wanted a good screen protector, I would use the Cinder. But because it goes so far over, there are a limited amount of cases that it can work with. Unless the case has no lip over the screen (bad case in my mind) or the case can go OVER the glass, then it’s going to be a hard fit.”

      I don’t see that you’ve reviewed the Luxe by Zagg.. or perhaps you have? Was wondering your thoughts, I particularly was drawn to the good review regarding viewability/ fingerprints.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 26, 2015 at 7:06 pm

        Not yet. I’ll get one.

    26. Scott

      September 25, 2015 at 9:26 pm

      K11 has stated that the cinder does not fit with the bumper. They say the zagg glass luxe is the best. Plans to review the zagg?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 26, 2015 at 7:06 pm

        Yes.

      • Mary

        September 26, 2015 at 10:55 pm

        If you like cupert’ technology, the PHANTOM screen protector would work, right? They haven’t talked much about this or their non-curved product, ECLIPSE.

        Aaron – can you get these from Cupert to compare and review?

        • Aaron Ho

          September 28, 2015 at 2:33 pm

          I will see what I can do.

    27. Mary

      September 26, 2015 at 11:00 pm

      Anyway, I actually scored a black SPlus Cinder on Amazon in the 10 minutes before they sold out the other day! I think Cupert is totally overwhelmed… I’m pairing it with a rhinoshield bumper and black matte slickwrap skin. Thanks for the reviews!

      • Aaron Ho

        September 28, 2015 at 2:32 pm

        Sounds like a great setup.

      • Marc

        September 30, 2015 at 3:55 am

        @mary, did Amazon.com allowed Cinder to be shipped to Canada? The pre-order apparently does not allow for shipping to Canada at the moment.

        • Terry

          October 4, 2015 at 4:53 am

          Great reviews. Same comment as above, not able to order for Canada through Amazon.com. Hope that changes. Figured with it being reviewed it would be available in Canada.

    28. Alexis

      September 28, 2015 at 2:52 am

      Hello Aron,

      Do you try it with the Urban Armour Gear cases? Will this work with the iPhone 6S Plus with the 3D TOUCH?

    29. jesse

      September 28, 2015 at 5:09 pm

      Hey Aaron, great review and really looking forward to purchasing this product. Any idea where the best place is to purchase? Also I have a spigen slim armor iphone 6 case that I am currently using on my 6s, will this set up work with the cinder as a screen protector?

    30. Derek Siu

      September 29, 2015 at 1:08 am

      Will this work with the Caudabe Veil XT? Thanks

    31. Bram

      October 3, 2015 at 6:53 pm

      On the amazon.com website one of the reviews about the Cinder said the following:

      “We contacted Corning to verify whether Cupert Technology is actually using Corning Gorilla Glass in the CINDER screen protector. According to the Corning rep, Gorilla Glass is not used in the CINDER. Further, Corning stated that Gorilla Glass is NOT approved for use in screen protectors generally. Below is the email exchange. I hope that Cupert addresses this issue.

      From: Gorilla Glass [[…]]
      Sent: Thu 10/1/2015 8:44 AM

      Thank you for your inquiry. Corning Gorilla® Glass is a cover glass designed into consumer electronic devices. I can confirm that the Gorilla Glass brand has not been authorized for use with screen protectors.

      Regards,
      The Gorilla Glass Team”

      Is this true according to you Aaron?

    32. Shaw

      October 6, 2015 at 12:25 am

      How the heck do you buy them in Canada?

      They’re only available from Amazon.com.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 7, 2015 at 9:17 pm

        It think they’re being released in the next few weeks in Canada via Amazon.

    33. Rahul

      October 6, 2015 at 9:12 pm

      Hi Aaron, I have an iphone 6 and am thinking of getting the urban armour aero case. Could you please advise if the cinder screen guard would work on it and if it would be a good combination in terms of protection ?

    34. Daniel

      October 7, 2015 at 2:55 pm

      Hey guys, I just want to know if the cinder screen protecter could be able to activate the iPhone 6s background with 3-D touch. It’s like when you heavily tap the iPhone 6s left edge of the screen and slide to the right, the background will be activated just like you double tap the home key. thx!

      • Aaron Ho

        October 7, 2015 at 9:11 pm

        It works with 3D touch.

        • Daneil

          October 10, 2015 at 5:20 pm

          Thx!

    35. Nadine

      October 8, 2015 at 3:53 pm

      Hi,

      Do you know if Cinder works with the Otterbox Commuter case?

      Thx =)

    36. NMS

      October 9, 2015 at 3:51 pm

      Does Cinder work with Speck Candy Shell Grip case?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 13, 2015 at 12:39 pm

        Not with the 6S versions of the iPhones.

        • Nadine

          October 18, 2015 at 2:10 am

          But it will def work with the X4?

          • Aaron Ho

            October 18, 2015 at 9:23 pm

            yes and no. Some have issues with it…I’ve got the Cinder on an iPhone 6s+ in a X3 right now and it seems to be fine.

    37. Chris Roadfeldt

      October 12, 2015 at 7:43 pm

      Bought a cinder for my 6s Plus based on the rave review here. Sadly it does not work with the Speck CandyShell Grip case. I suspect when Cupert said it would, they were using the 6 Plus which is sligthly thinner.

      So for those of you wanting to use a Speck CandyShell Grip and a Cinder on a 6s Plus, it will not work. The cinder is compressed and pushed of the screen. I’ve spent an hour trying to get the lip of the case over and even then it still does not work…

      Will be looking for another case or returning this and going with case friendly protector.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 13, 2015 at 12:34 pm

        Doh! Sorry to hear that.

    38. Frank Wu

      October 12, 2015 at 8:46 pm

      Will cinder work with DROPSUIT from Body Glove?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 13, 2015 at 12:34 pm

        I’m not sure, never used the Dropsuit.

    39. Fahad

      October 15, 2015 at 12:51 am

      Hi, Where can I purchase it? for my new iPhone 6s.. I live in the USA

      • Aaron Ho

        October 16, 2015 at 3:36 pm

        Amazon.

        • Arina

          October 19, 2015 at 10:10 pm

          Hi Aaron, amazon seems to only have phantom and eclipse models now. Cannot find cinder. Can you please send a link where cinder can be purchased from (US)? Thank you!

          • Aaron Ho

            October 20, 2015 at 1:17 pm

            I’d try Amazon.com. They are in short supply right now…issues with the adhesive on the back.

    40. yana

      October 15, 2015 at 9:19 am

      What is the most protective case that will work with the Cinder? Thule Atmos X3? Is it a huge pain to get the Spigen Tough Armor case on? Thanks!

    41. Mike

      October 18, 2015 at 2:16 pm

      Hi, Does the Cinder work with your new favorite case K11 Bumper??

      • Aaron Ho

        October 18, 2015 at 9:24 pm

        It does not. Thanotech says the Zagg Luxe will.

    42. Sam

      October 18, 2015 at 11:29 pm

      Hi Aaron,

      I’ve never used a screen protector in the past. This is due to phones that I’ve seen with protectors unfortunately show the icons appearing grainy on the home screens and the lettering below them seeming to have a suffered resolution and things generally appearing pixelated. This was enough to convince me not to invest in a screen protector.

      Now, in your chart above under functionality, you list iPhone viewability as 5/5 perfect.
      Based on that rating, would I be correct to assume that staring at my iPhone through the Cinder would be as though I were looking at the screen of my iPhone with nothing obstructing its view at all? That is to say, as if there is nothing over my screen?

      Thanks for your consideration!

      • Aaron Ho

        October 20, 2015 at 1:21 pm

        Yes. Any glass screen protector that I’ve reviewed does a decent job of maintaining the clarity of the iPhone’s touchscreen.

        • Sam

          October 20, 2015 at 5:36 pm

          Thanks!

          I also saw a YouTube video where the guy mentions he thought the screen looks even sharper with the Cinder on!

          Extremely excited to purchase Cinder after all these glowing reviews!

    43. brandon joseff

      October 29, 2015 at 2:00 pm

      Hey Aaron,

      I was thinking about buying both the K 11 bumper and this Cinder screen protector, but on Cupert’s website they dont recommend using that bumper with this screen protector (bumper because they are the two top rated items in their category on your website)

      I was hoping you could try out this combination and let me know if you experience any problems or what you think in general!!

      Thanks
      -Brandon

      • Aaron Ho

        October 30, 2015 at 12:01 am

        They don’t fit. The Cinder is finicky because of its close fit to the metal portion of the iPhone. Any case that reaches over slightly will push the Cinder off the iPhone.

        • Dennis

          November 5, 2015 at 6:32 pm

          Hello Aaron,

          I’ve jsut recently found your reviews and i like them cause they answer the questions i myself ask when looking. Would you recommend say a sir lancelot’s and k11 combo? or a resurgance and cinder? Im looking to upgrade from my 5s. Could you use cinder with say a Lifeproof Nuud? Sorry to be bothersome but trying to maximize my protection cause i hate having to re-buy things because of issues.

          Thanks 😀

          • Aaron Ho

            November 6, 2015 at 1:45 pm

            The Cinder is a tough screen protector to use with lots of cases because of the full coverage. It will not work with the Nuud.

            The Sir Lancelot and K11 combo is pretty good. I know Thanotech suggests using the Zagg luxe screen protector with the K11.

    44. melissa

      November 5, 2015 at 3:47 am

      Can you review the Cupert Eclipse? I saw you had wonderful things to say about the cinder but I’m looking for something a little more compatible with cases.

    45. chris

      November 6, 2015 at 6:41 am

      i purchased this screen protector waiting for it too arrive in the mail i was interested in the otterbox symmetry or the otter box defender i know you prefer the symmetry over the defender but which one would you recommend with this screen protector or would skip these two and go to a different phone protecting case? please let me know thanks.

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2015 at 1:47 pm

        The Defender bulks up the iPhone and comes with a built-in screen protector. The Symmetry is slimmer but doesn’t have that screen protection.

        I personally don’t need to have a tough case so I gravitate towards the Symmetry.

    46. Luc

      November 8, 2015 at 2:10 pm

      Hi,
      Can you review the leesentec glass screen protector? My wife has been using it and she loves it. On top of that it’s darn cheap on Amazon.ca

      Thanks

    47. Christos

      November 10, 2015 at 3:47 pm

      As I can tell from all the comments and the review cinder would be the best edge to edge protector. Is that right?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 14, 2015 at 7:47 pm

        I’ve only come across three…Cinder is the best so far.

    48. Oliver

      November 13, 2015 at 7:52 pm

      Hello Aaron
      I’m really at a loss with the Cinder Screen Protector. I have an iPhone 6s and I want to install the Cinder on it but reading from all the reviews it seems that only the Thule X3 and X4 cases will work….. The indications on Cupert’s website are false since they are based on the iPhone 6 model….. do you have any other suggestions?
      Thank you for your time

      • Aaron Ho

        November 14, 2015 at 7:53 pm

        The difference is so minimal between the two that whatever Cupert says should be relevant for the 6s versions of the iPhone.

    49. Vikas Mehta

      November 20, 2015 at 12:55 am

      I placed Cupert Cinder screen protector order on 11/7 and it’s been almost 2 weeks and I have not received any shipping notification from them. I tried logging into their site but not able to relogin. If I click on forgot password it says new password sent to but I never received any email.

      It seems Cupert is having problems with shipping the products. It would be nice if they at least provide the tentative/estimated shipping date. Product may be good but not happy with their service response.

    50. Meghan

      November 24, 2015 at 7:32 pm

      I know you’ve mentioned cinder is NOT compatible with the Rhinoshield crash guard and Rhinoshield Playproof on an iphone 6s, but what about on an iphone 6? On Cinder’s website, they claim they are compatible. Just want to know what you’ve experienced. Thanks

    51. Nipun

      November 25, 2015 at 6:08 am

      Hiya Aaron,
      I really like your reviews and it has helped me make some really smart decisions in the past.
      I am planning to use Cinder with “Spigen iPhone 6 Case Thin Fit”. Have you tested cinder with this case? Do you think it will work ?
      ~Nipun

    52. Phi

      November 26, 2015 at 7:12 pm

      For some reason I have only had my cinder for a couple of days and have noticed there are tons of scratches towards the bottom near the home button. Mind you I never keep my phone and keys in the same pocket for put my phone face down. I have taken my keys and a knife and it doesn’t seem to scratch.

      • Aaron Ho

        November 27, 2015 at 3:04 pm

        Huh. I’d say contact them for a replacement but it seems like they’re generally unresponsive to everything (I think they’re in trouble).

    53. Christopher Fuller

      December 1, 2015 at 3:51 pm

      Hey Aaron,

      Great site! Thanks for your awesome reviews!

      FYI, I ordered a Cinder and received it in a few days. No problem at all. I’m in the US.

      My question… will I have any issues using the Cinder with a Rhino Shield PlayProof case?

      Thanks!

      • Aaron Ho

        December 4, 2015 at 3:20 pm

        Despite what I’ve said before (I said no), Cupert has confirmed that it works with the Playproof.

    54. Ray

      December 19, 2015 at 2:44 pm

      Aaron, great videos! Thanks! I bought the Cinder and the K11 bumper thinking the two would be awesome together. Even if I install the iPhone 6s + through the back of the bumper, the Cinder starts peeling on the edges. It recovers, but not completely. Can you give it a try maybe I’m doing something wrong. Thanks again!

    55. Shawn

      December 28, 2015 at 4:03 am

      Aaron, awesome site! I stumbled across it a couple days ago researching cases and screen protectors. Out of curiosity, I have wondered how protective the cinder would be against the 200g ball. I understand that it is glass and will likely break however will it keep the phone’s screen intact? I know rhinoshield has a video comparison of their product vs glass protectors however it doesn’t show if the glass protectors prevented the gorilla glass from breaking. Just something I have been pondering while deciding which type of protector to buy. Keep those iPhones scared!

    56. Mario

      December 28, 2015 at 4:04 am

      Hey, can you please drop your ball on the iphone with this screen protector?

    57. Felisha

      January 20, 2016 at 3:51 pm

      Hey Aaron, thanks for the awesome review on this product. After watching your review, I immediately placed my order on January 4th. Since then, I haven’t heard anything from Cupert technology. They haven’t sent me any shipping info or a tracking number and I have yet to receive the Cinder. I’ve tried to contact them several times by submitting the order inquiry form, sending emails and calling the google voice number that goes straight to voicemail. I went to their Facebook page and stumbled across a lot of other consumers who are in the same boat. Some have been waiting since December! Do you know if the company has stopped shipping orders or if there’s a problem? It’s now been 16 days since I placed my order and I’m wondering if I should cancel. I would really love to use this awesome product but am currently without screen protection for my iPhone 6s Plus. Any feedback from you would be really helpful! (Just in case you happen to have some sort of secret way of contacting them, my order number is 100003265) 🙂

    58. Nan

      February 2, 2016 at 11:07 pm

      I can’t say if Cinder Glass is the second coming or not because I — and the guy at the Apple Genius Bar — can’t install it so that it adheres all around. I can say that their “customer service” is nonexistent. I filled out the required replacement form & many days later was told I installed it wrong; the picture I attached was in a case, apparently a no-no, but the installation was done without the case, which was put on after everyone gave up. So I tried installing it again without the caes and got, predictably, the same problem. I took a photo of that, filed another replacement form — and 2+ weeks later have heard nothing. You don’t get a case number or copy of the form, emails go unanswered (they say they’ll get back to you w/in 24 hours), and the phone number on their site goes directly to a robo operator. They don’t answer voice mail either. So I’m out $40 and angry.

      • Aaron Ho

        February 3, 2016 at 9:09 pm

        Its not the first time I’ve heard of this happening. Sorry.

    59. BCGuy

      February 4, 2016 at 6:29 pm

      May be a good product – overpriced though. Customer service is a disaster. I sent back a screen that was for the wrong phone and had to get my bank and the BBB involved to get my refund. They seem to only communicate with those that get their attention….good luck if you have any problems.

      • Aaron Ho

        February 5, 2016 at 2:58 pm

        I keep hearing more and more of these concerns. I am starting to think that I should include a CS rating on the site.

    60. Lee

      April 27, 2016 at 1:13 pm

      I actually purchased the eclipse, not the Cinder. Nonetheless, this review likely applies in many ways. I would also mention when using the cupert protector with a case the edge to edge curved glass benefit of the more expensive Cinder is probably rendered moot. Your case or bumper will likely overlap the curved edge of the where the cinder would be curved. In short if you like the use your iphone naked with just a screen protector the Cinder may be a good choice. However, if you want back or bumper protection you are probably better of practically and financially to go with the cinder. There is also of course improved case compatibility with the Eclipse over the Cinder and the $25 price tag of the Eclipse make this a no brainer.

      Though I did not purchase the Cinder, I am please to say I was very impressed with the build quality, packaging, materials, tools, and instructions provided with the Eclipse. Cupert’s inclusion of a cleaning cloth, anti static mat, and dust sticker give you confidence during installation. Everything about the product looks and feels premium. I had no difficulty installing and reinstalling the protector as is usually necessary to get perfect alignment. The protector feels great and I have to agree with Aaron that Cupert’s slick surface actually feels better then the iphone glass. I am using this protector with the Spigen Ultra Hybrid case. The pairing of these is both effective and sparse. My only mild complaint is that when using the the off switch key on the right of the phone the case pushes on the protector causing momentary prismatic effect. In truth, I barely notice it and the protector rejoins immediately with no permanent hazing. This is more of a case compatibility issue then it is a defect. I thought it worth mentioning though as the ultra hybrid is also well reviewed here and the pairing is one I would endorse. Moreover, I installed the same combination of Cupert Eclipse and Spigen Ultra Hypbrid on both my wife’s iphone 6 and my iphone 6s with the same result.

      I have to say I was extremely reticent to try a Cupert product after reading the Cupert customer service horror stories here and elsewhere. I am happy to report, however, that I had a trouble free experience. I got exactly what I ordered within a few days and am quite pleased with the performance. It would seem Cupert may have solved some of its logistics issues. I also should mention that it appears my product shipped from Pennsylvania. My guess would be this is Cupert’s east coast warehouse or shipping hub location. In any event, as I am in Pittsburgh – shipping was prompt.

      I hope Aaron will review the Eclipse as I think it is more practical solution for most consumers.

    61. Larry

      May 11, 2016 at 12:58 am

      I bought the Cinder after reading your reviews. It was quite a chore to get the air bubbles out and they kept re-appearing. Finally after a week of chasing bubbles I managed to get rid of all of them. I use an Iphone 6 Plus. I purchased this in December of 2015. It does have a smooth feel to it which I enjoyed. I cannot say that it resisted finger prints though and needed to clean the screen as often as my glasses. The other day I pulled my phone from my pocket and was surprised to see that the edge in the middle of the phone had cracked and chipped away. I do use a RhinoShield bumper and was quite surprised to see that this had happened because I am pretty careful with the phone.
      Not sure if I will replace or purchase something else. Pretty expensive for 5 months of usage…

    62. Oscar

      May 24, 2016 at 6:24 am

      Could this screen protector possibly be able to be used with the lifeproof nuud? Since it’s flat throughout this entire screen

    63. Viacheslav

      June 14, 2016 at 1:15 pm

      It’s fake, it’s not the Gorilla Glass. It’s China Glass. I’ve lost 30$. They are scammers!

    64. Kimberleigh

      September 5, 2016 at 4:57 pm

      I’ve used 2 Cinders personally (iP6s) and I actually bought 4. The first broke when I was installing it- I didn’t even bother to go down the replacement route for the CS issues outlined above. The second broke when I dropped my phone on a concrete surface. How can that be?! For it to just crack on a concrete floor from waist height was honestly disappointing & I felt duped. It looks great-aesthetically pleasing. I like that it’s seamless but the air bubbles were a pain- I couldn’t get them out so (exasperated) I just lived with them.

      My mum’s is still going strong on her iP6- her phone is more lightly used but air bubbles are again, the bane of her existence.

      I was really trying to support a start-up but I am not minded to purchase from them in the future.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 6, 2016 at 2:04 am

        Thanks for the comment. For the drop, it is a glass product…I haven’t seen any glass screen protector stand up to a glass fall.

    65. Jason

      September 8, 2016 at 10:19 pm

      Be careful with cupert products, I have had multiple protectors on different phones and they all succumb to the same fate. There are no where near as strong as InSkin products. Their customer service is horrible, never mind the 20% discount they don’t even respond to multiple emails. My advice… Stay away!

    66. Jonathan Lim

      December 13, 2016 at 5:16 am

      Im planning on getting the thanotec iphone 7 bumper… do you think i should just stick with their company screen protector or this one? WIll this one work with a thanotec bumper? Thanks so much!

      • Aaron Ho

        December 13, 2016 at 3:05 pm

        Stick with the E2E class. It’s built to fit the K11 perfectly. The Cinder will have issues.

    67. woody

      March 13, 2017 at 2:07 am

      Stay away from the Cinder! They have NO customer service and do not reply to emails, warranty questions nor phone calls. I purchased a new iPhone 7 and ordered the cinder after reading the review. They both arrived at the same time. I installed the case per the instructions and have several bubbles. i tried and tried to re-install and can not get the bubbles out. Also their is a piece of “lint/hair/dust” in the glass. I used the supplied tape and its in the glass. I contacted cinder via the warranty section on their website. I have never head back. I sent several emails to their customer service and they have never responded. They don’t publish their phone number but I found one via the credit card charge and called. Someone answered once and they said they would look into it but I never heard back. Now when i call no-one answers. I put a charge back with my credit card and also filled a complaint with the BBB

    68. woody

      March 23, 2017 at 6:45 pm

      Here is a follow up to my review of the cinder and the poor & NO customer service. I have tried to contact Cupert of the last month due to the fact that my screen protector has bubbles and no amount of re-installing will remove them. it also has a piece of lint in the glass, inbeded. Anyways, I have sent them many emails and warranty claims and have not heard back. I submitted a complaint with the BBB and they just informed me that the address cuperT has on file and on their web page is no good. They can not get ahold of them. I would STAY AWAY from Cupert at all costs.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top