iPhone 6(s+)

Ghostek Atomic 2.0 Review – iPhone 6(s+)

 

One of the best waterproof iPhone cases that we have used for the iPhone 6(s+)

(Scroll down for the written review)

Ghostek Atomic 2.0 Review – Looking for great day-to-day protection? Get the Ghostek Atomic!

Today we’re going to do a review of the Ghostek Atomic. The Atomic is THE waterproof case for day-to-day use. We’re very sad that after this review, we have to take the Atomic off for us to use other cases.

The Ghostek Atomic 2.0 is an aluminum bumper with removable front and back panels. This case is only waterproof to 1 m for ten mins and from our point of view, very droppable. This case maintains the slimness of your iPhone and also maintains most of the functionality of the iPhone inside the case that is not normal for iPhone cases. Also, if you’re afraid of bending your iPhone, this is the case to get but if you’re looking for a case to take the beach or lake, the Ghostek Atomic might not be the right one for you.

For our Ghostek Atomic 2.0 review, we’ve given this case a score of 4 Eh’s out of 5. This is one of the higher rated waterproof iPhone cases that we’ve come across and based on our scoring system, is on par with the LifeProof Nuud and does better than the LifeProof Fre, Catalyst Waterproof and Lunatik Taktik 360. In fact, a zip lock back would do better than the Taktik 360 but that’s another story. Looking for all the waterproof cases that we’ve reviewed, find them here!

[divider][/divider]
 Ghostek Atomic
 
Header
(out of 5)

Full Review
PricePrice:
$59.95 USD iPhone 6(s+)
Similar Cases
Top Buy Buttons
ProsPros:
- Tough
- Slim
- Offers the best sound of any waterproof case
ConsCons:
- Mute switch is tough to use
- Cutouts only fit Apple-sized accessories
- Waterproof up to 4ft/1.2m only
Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
- None
Design Rating
DESIGN
(Ghostek Atomic)
Weight/BulkWeight/Bulk (4/5):
- Slim
- Fairly light
InstallEase of Installation (4.5/5):
- 3 parts to the case but the back never comes off
- Requires a bit of finagling to fit the front into the frame
Build QualityBuild Quality (5/5):
- Case feels solid
- Case maintains shape after usage
- Lots of texture to the case ("grippy")
Protection Rating
PROTECTION
(Ghostek Atomic)
Shock ProtectionShock Protection (3/5):
- Not officially drop-rated
- We dropped it from 15+ ft and it was fine
Water/Dust ProtectionWater/Dust Protection (3/5):
- Slightly below average water protection at 4ft/1.2m
Screen ProtectionScreen Protection (4/5):
- Thick plastic screen protector
Functionality Rating
FUNCTIONALITY
(Ghostek Atomic)
iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (3/5):
- Great button access
- Mute switch is tough to use
- Better than average sound (for a waterproof case)
- Touch ID works
- Camera/Flash works
Screen UsabilityScreen Usability (4/5):
- Small gap between iPhone and screen protector
- Very small (almost negligible) sensitivity loss
- Edges don't get in the way
Screen ViewabilityScreen View-ability (5/5):
- Clear plastic screen protector
- No rain-bowing issues
- No extra glare to deal with
Bottom Buy Buttons

 

Design – That aluminum bumper!

Ghostek Atomic Review - iPhone 6 - Aluminum Bumper

In terms of design, the majority of this case is the aluminum bumper. This is the thickest aluminum bumper that we’ve seen for any case which is why your iPhone isn’t going to bend in it. The size of the Ghostek Atomic doesn’t compromise the size of the iPhone. The aluminum bumper makes the Atomic feel solid and subsequently, feels incredibly well built.

Assembling the Atomic is also unique because you don’t snap anything together. There isn’t a traditional O-ring setup like you would find in LifeProof cases. The waterproofing comes from the front and backs of the case fitting into a tiny slit along the edges of the aluminum bumper.

[divider][/divider]

Protection – Go ahead and drop it. From any height.

Ghostek Atomic vs Car - iPhone 6

In terms of protection, the Ghostek Atomic isn’t officially drop-rated though our multiple, 12 ft + drops indicates that it will definitely keep your iPhone safe from any sort of normal, accidental drop. If you want to see the full drop test video, check out that video.

For water protection, the Atomic isn’t as waterproof as other cases. Most waterproof cases are waterproof up to 6.6ft for 30 mins; the Atomic is rated to 4ft for ten mins which means that this case is more suited for the occasional drop into your toilet rather than a weekend by the ocean or lake. The slightly reduced water protection is why we say this case is the perfect day-to-day case, not a water vacation case.

[divider][/divider]

Functionality – The best waterproof case for iPhone access

Ghostek Atomic Review - iPhone 6 - Tiny Cutouts

Regarding functionality, accessing your iPhone is pretty great in the Atomic. Buttons are easy to use, but the mute switch is a little more difficult to access. The cutouts at the bottom of the case are quite small and generally will only fit Apple-sized cables. There were a couple of instances where our cables didn’t work because the iPhone was off inside the case so if this happens, all you need to do is to re-install/re-align the iPhone in the case. Ghostek does include a headphone jack extension for people with larger than average jacks.

Waterproof cases are quite poor in terms of sound quality, but the Ghostek Atomic is one of the better. The sound coming from the iPhone inside the Atomic is slightly muffled but there are no cracking/popping noises like you would find on LifeProof cases. The camera flash has its independent cutout which means the flash doesn’t spill into the photograph. The TouchID membrane works well with the iPhone.

In terms of screen functionality, there is a gap between the screen protector and the iPhone. The sensitivity loss of the screen isn’t terribly annoying but is noticeable. For screen functionality, the Atomic fares as well as waterproof cases.

The viewability of your iPhone’s touchscreen is quite decent. There are no rainbowing effects, and the plastic screen protector is quite clear, so glare isn’t a big issue. The gap between the screen protector and iPhone does result in double reflections but is not terribly noticeable. We do have to note that there is a grid of dots on the screen protector that may bother some people.

[divider][/divider]

Again, we gave this waterproof a score of 4 Eh’s out of 5. This is one of the best waterproof cases that we’ve come across for the iPhone 6 and will set you back $80 through Ghostek.com

Have questions about our Ghostek Atomic 2.0 Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or our Facebook page or our About Us page.

45 Comments

45 Comments

  1. Jordan Urbani

    December 5, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    Hi Aaron,

    I’ve been looking for an exact water proof case like the Ghostek for a long time – I tried the Nuud and it didn’t work well. The X5 was my next hope, but it falls short. Did you have any reception issues with the metal bumper/frame in this case? The Ghostek seems slim and good enough to be able to wash it and get wet once in a while – which is my main concern at work.

    Let me know! And keep up the awesome reviews.

    Thanks
    Jordan

    PS next time you’re at Safeway go to the meat department chest freezers and check out our Risottoballs that we make 🙂

    • Aaron Ho

      December 6, 2015 at 4:16 pm

      Heh. I’ll check out the Risottoballs.

      I didn’t notice any issues with reception but its tough for me to gauge if that will be the same for everybody since it depends on the provider, distance from the towers and whereever you are. I know for certain that the frame didn’t effect the Bluetooth range.

  2. Tom

    December 6, 2015 at 1:06 am

    Can you please comment on how the cover over the camera lens influences photo quality?

    • Aaron Ho

      December 6, 2015 at 4:17 pm

      I didn’t notice an degradation in the photo. Just make sure your lens is clean before installing it into the case. The flash doesn’t wash out flash photographs.

  3. Bob

    December 8, 2015 at 4:33 pm

    Great review as always! What about call quality? Listening and talking? Also, how about being able to hear phone ring etc? Tried the GRIFFIN SURVIVOR SUMMIT and had issues with being able to hear callers as the ear piece is covered and really muted my ability to hear callers. Hope this one is better in that regard ?
    Also when are you going to review the New Dog and Bone Wetsuit Impact case? Looks pretty promising (?)
    Thanks again!

  4. HorstS

    December 15, 2015 at 10:28 pm

    Aaron I love your site just contacted hitcase to see if iphone 6s plus was in the pro lineup as an option.They said no so now I am stuck.I am looking for a full protection case for 6s plus.The perfect case would offer very good/eccellent water,screen and dust/dirt protection basically a totally sealed case that is the highest your eh review could get without turning it into a brick,any suggestions.Would also like advice on a good leather wallet case with card slots for same 6s+ phone. Say Hi to Monty.Time for me to take off … Thanks in advance Horst

  5. Oscar

    December 17, 2015 at 2:34 am

    Amazing reviews! Thank you for all the time and effort you’ve put in to them.

    Two questions about the Atomic:
    1. Is it possible to attach a threaded headphone jack adapter to the Atomic 2.0? (which you screw in)
    2. Should I be concerned about the fact that your iPhone got damaged in the drop-test? I take it as a sign of poor choice of material to hold the phone in place (not soft enough) and/or poor shock absorption by the case. What are your thoughs?

    Best regards!

  6. Jess

    December 20, 2015 at 3:23 pm

    Great review. I was wondering how exactly the screen is protected? The front and back floppy covers don’t look all that great for keep screens from cracking. I don’t care at all about the waterproof protection. I am just looking for a stellar tough case with a thin profile and something that protects the screen. I have been through a ton of cases, and I want something very protective but not bulky. But my 6 plus screen protectors keep breaking and I’m not dropping them. Ideas? Thanks for all the great reviews.

  7. Henry

    December 31, 2015 at 12:53 am

    Do you happen to know if the Ghostek Atomic will work with Cinder screen protector? Does the plastic top cover still seal well onto the case? Thanks.

    • Brandon

      February 14, 2016 at 2:35 pm

      This is exactly what I was wondering. Please comment.

  8. Steve

    January 2, 2016 at 12:54 pm

    Hey great website, so annoyed I’ve only just found it! And yes I have definitely hit subscribe! Do you know if the Ghostek Atomic 2.0 is available in the uk?

    Happy new year, and thanks for the vid mate!

  9. Ben

    January 3, 2016 at 12:55 am

    I was wondering if you could use a screen protector under this case either glass or other and if you would experience problems, say if you already have a really nice screen protector you don’t want to take off

  10. Ben

    January 4, 2016 at 7:16 am

    Hi Aaron,

    I was wondering if you could use a screen protector glass or plastic under this case for if you were switching between cases

  11. CJ

    January 6, 2016 at 12:52 am

    Hi Aaron, great site and excellent reviews. Keep up the good work.
    I am looking to get a waterproof/water resistant rugged case for my iPhone 6 and the Atomic 2.0 looks like it will suit my needs (I’m involved in the emergency and rescue services). You mention there is a slight gap between the Atomic screen protector and the iPhone screen. My iPhone has a Cinder screen protector on it, do you think this will fill the gap between the two or will the Atomic not fit properly with the Cinder screen protector installed?

  12. Jon

    January 7, 2016 at 3:25 am

    Great stuff! Thanks!

  13. Kurtis

    February 24, 2016 at 7:04 pm

    Aaron – did you experience any issues with sliding the phone in/out of pockets? did the front edges peel open – catch a corner going in pockets – front or back?

    • Aaron Ho

      February 24, 2016 at 8:55 pm

      I did not. My friend did with an older model of the Atomic.

      • Edwin

        February 27, 2016 at 12:27 am

        Hey, which one is better, ghostek or catalyst? whoch one is more user friendly? Both dont have phone numbers. Can I go to a water park or a day in the pool with the catalyst? What if one comes defective, do I have to send it back?

        • Edwin

          February 27, 2016 at 12:49 am

          Correction, a day in the pool with the ghostek. Which one is more reliable?

      • Edwin

        February 27, 2016 at 12:47 am

        Can I go to a water park or pool with ghostek 2.0? Is catalyst reliable? Qhich one is more user friendly because both don’t have phone numbers ( you know, in case I have to return or use the warranty). What about the ghostek’s shockproof feature? You mentioned it is not shock rated

        • Edwin

          February 27, 2016 at 12:50 am

          Last question would be. Can I put a glass screen protector to reduce the gaps?

          • Aaron Ho

            February 29, 2016 at 10:24 pm

            It could work.

  14. Edwin

    February 27, 2016 at 7:03 am

    Hey aaron! Catalyst or ghostek? In terms of durability. Both don’t have phone numers, therefore How are they customer service wise in terms of warranty? Can I take the ghostek out for a day in the pool?

    • Aaron Ho

      February 29, 2016 at 10:24 pm

      You can take the Ghostek to the pool for a day easily. I like the Ghostek for day-to-day stuff, Catalyst for vacations. What do you mean there are no numbers?

  15. michael

    April 3, 2016 at 8:45 pm

    great review, thank you.

    question on lenses. Can you use an add on external magnetic lens with this case?

    thank you

    • Aaron Ho

      April 4, 2016 at 1:49 pm

      I’m not too sure. What magnetic lens are you talking about?

  16. Igor

    May 18, 2016 at 8:55 pm

    Hi Thank you for the great review.
    I work on a boat and I sail allot.
    Allot of times I get wet from waves and sea spray. Its not that im swimming but I can get soaked and bump into things while jumping around the boat.
    What cover would you advise me that I can use while getting sprayed by sea water and wont leak even if it falls in a feet of salt water after rolling on a wet boat deck.

    Thank you in advance for your advise.

    Kind regards

    Igor

    • Aaron Ho

      May 19, 2016 at 4:06 pm

      I’d stay away from the Atomic. A Lifeproof would be a decent choice…I’m reviewing the Dog and Bone Wetsuits this weekend which may be a good choice.

  17. Jennifer

    September 7, 2016 at 5:17 pm

    Just found your site! Great work! Saves me sooo much time and the reviews are fun to watch – love Monte!

  18. Daryn

    October 11, 2016 at 3:26 pm

    Aaron thanks for the detailed reviews. I purchased the case for the 6 plus and I noticed a drop in signal strength and have seen a big drop in wifi. I take the case off and signal goes up a bar and wifi distance is much stronger. I despise the mute switch, its really hard to twist.

    • Aaron Ho

      October 12, 2016 at 4:37 pm

      Thanks for the comment and feedback!

  19. Jonathan

    October 24, 2016 at 9:06 pm

    How is this case scoring higher than the Catalyst, especially for water proof cases that compare between 4ft and 16ft depths??? This case is maybe a 3.6. The fact that there is a huge gap between the glass protector and the phone is absolutely annoying, I shouldn’t have to modify my phone to get my case to feel flush. The screen protector is more fragile than the catalysts. I have an indent in it with only a week’s use of wear. While trying to buff out said dent the screen fractured in places. The finger print oil capture this screen protector takes is annoying, not only cause it absorbs as much oil as it can, but cleaning it off is not easy either. The case also doesn’t feel solid. I think you need to rerank this case. Slimmer doesn’t always mean better, if a customer is buying a protective case they want their phone protected with as little problems as possible. Both cases the Catalyst and the Atomic 2.0 have tge pros and cons you mentioned, but he cons of this case are worse than you have them rated. I never lost the bumper to this Catalyst, never had that problem, and I lose a lot of stuff, I have the Ekster wallet and the Trackr Bravo fobs as well. That rating factor wasn’t as much of a deal breaker for the catalyst. The dial for the mute button on the Atomic 2.0 is really really really hard to turn. Catalyst was genius in increasing the size of the dial for more leverage and distancing the points inside the dial a little farther apart.

  20. Alec

    November 23, 2016 at 3:04 am

    Best case I’ve ever got except for one little part that is crucial to my everyday usage of my iphone 6. I find that the camera cut out is always dirty even a couple of hours after cleaning and notice a difference in camera quality when I take off my case. Please help if you can think of a solution that doesn’t involve me switching cases, thanks.

    • Aaron Ho

      November 23, 2016 at 4:48 pm

      I’m not sure about the camera cutout being dirty all the time. Have you tried contacting their CS?

  21. Alec

    November 24, 2016 at 1:23 am

    Thanks, called them earlier today and they were nice enough to send me a new one for free. I only hope it doesn’t attract as much dust as this one. Keep up the awesome reviews and I’ll keep on watching them, lol.

  22. Tom

    December 4, 2016 at 7:59 pm

    Have you looked at the “improved” model for the iPhone 7 plus?

    Would this still be your top pick for an everyday tough case for the 7 plus?

    Thanks

    • Aaron Ho

      December 6, 2016 at 3:50 pm

      I’m in the process of reviewing the Atomic 3 right now. It would be toughest because of the bumper but the screen usability takes a hit.

  23. Tom

    December 6, 2016 at 3:55 pm

    OK thanks I will keep checking. Need to know what is going to be the best overall pick for an every day tough case for the new iPhone 7.

  24. Ced

    December 10, 2016 at 5:54 pm

    do you think it’s possible to put a lanyard attachment through the row of speaker holes below ? Cos am looking for a new case but am used to having a lanyard.

    • Aaron Ho

      December 12, 2016 at 6:20 pm

      I believe this is a cutout specifically for a lanyard on the Atomic 2.

  25. Frank

    February 5, 2017 at 12:42 am

    Hi Aaron, I just bought this case and it’s excellent but I’m having problems connecting third party lightning cables. In my car I use a Kenwood system and the cable does not fit. Do you know if there is any product (lightning cable extension, dock extender or an adapter) that will be compatible with the atomic 2.0 for the iphone 6plus? Thanks!

  26. Candace

    March 10, 2017 at 4:27 am

    Cool video. I just purchased this case and can’t wait to get it. I actually had a Life Proof case for my iPhone 5s about a year ago. To demonstrate its durability to friends, I threw it across a room (didn’t hold back lol it was a hard hit). It landed on the hardwood floor. Needless to say, I had to buy a new phone the damages were so extensive. Thanks for this video – I am confident this product will be much better & I will leave the demonstrations up to you.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top