iPhone 6(s+)

K11 Bumper Review – ThanoTech iPhone 6 Cases

 

Where’s the case?

(Scroll down for the written review)


K11 Bumper Review - Molded TPU and Aluminum Frame

 

K11 Bumper Review – Wow. Just…WOW!

Today we’re going to do a review of the K11 Bumper by Thanotech. This is one of the best iPhone cases that we’ve reviewed and as you can see from our comparison tool, we’ve reviewed lots of iPhone cases.

This is a metallic/TPU bumper that wraps around your iPhone but what sets the K11 apart is that the TPU frame is specially attached to the aluminum frame. This makes the K11 easier to install, its smaller and lighter than other metallic iPhone cases and provides decent drop protection for your iPhone.

For the K11 Bumper review, we’ve given this product a score of 4.7 Eh’s out of 5. This is the highest score for iPhone 6 cases to date as it beats out the previous champion, the Thule Atmos X4. If you’re looking for something similar, consider checking out the Rhinoshield Crashguard which is a plastic/TPU bumper, the Seidio Tetra or the Draco Design.

 

  Compare With other
     
     K11 Bumper
     
    Header
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    PricePrice:
    TBD
    Similar Cases
    Top Buy Buttons
    ProsPros:
    - Doesn't take away from the design of the iPhone
    - Drop-rated to 6 ft
    - Molded TPU and aluminum frame
    ConsCons:
    - A little slick to handle
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - None
    Design Rating
    DESIGN
    (K11 Bumper)
    Weight/Bulk/InstallationWeight/Bulk/Install (4.5/5):
    - Light
    - Doesn't add a lot of bulk
    - Single piece case is easy to install
    Build QualityBuild Quality (5/5):
    - Molded TPU and aluminum frame is amazing
    Protection Rating
    PROTECTION
    (K11 Bumper)
    General ProtectionGeneral Protection (4/5):
    - Droppable from 6ft!
    - Protects the iPhone's camera
    - TPU extends past the aluminum which keeps the iPhone from sliding around
    - No screen protector
    Functionality Rating
    Functionality
    (K11 Bumper)
    iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (4.5/5):
    - Cutouts for headphone jacks and lightning port connectors are large
    - Excellent access to the iPhones buttons
    - No noticeable signal attenuation from aluminum frame
    - A little slick for our liking
    Screen FunctionalityScreen Functionality (5/5):
    - No issues
    Bottom Purchase Buttons

    Design – Designed so well that you can’t see it!

    K11 Bumper Review - Attention to detail

    In terms of design, the bumper will not add a lot of bulk or weight to your iPhone. One of the neat things about this bumper is that it keeps the general design aesthetic of the iPhone so it doesn’t draw attention away from the iPhone. The K11 is even better looking than one of our most recent, still highly rated case, the iGlaze from Moshi.

    The bumper fits very will together and is compatible with 3rd party screen protectors and the TPU retains its shape quite well. We gave the TPU portion of the case a good stretch and didn’t notice any sort of separation between the aluminum bumper and the TPU. The brushed aluminum sides will hold up to keys and coins so it will keep the matted look.

    Protection – Accidents happen and the K11 bumper will have you covered

    K11 Bumper Review - iPhone 6 Drop Test

    In terms of protection, this is a multiple layered bumper that provides decent drop protection which we demonstrated in our video. The edges are high enough to keep the iPhone off a flat surface and the folded TPU sticks out just enough that your iPhone won’t slip around easily.

    Unlike other cases where you have to fit a metal bumper around a TPU frame like the Seidio Tetra, there’s no where for the dust and debris to accumulate. Thanotech also had the design foresight to actually incorporate a small edge to protect the iPhone 6’s camera so it doesn’t sit on a flat surface. Also, the K11 will offer decent protection against bending for all you people who like to keep and sit on their iPhones in their back pockets.

    Functionality – A little slick but we got over it

    In terms of functionality, getting to your iPhone is a breeze. The buttons are nice and aren’t tough to use and the cutouts at the bottom of the case are large enough to handle even the monstrous Amazon basics lightning cable and other oversized headphone jacks. Since its a bumper, there are no issues in terms of screen functionality.

    The only gripe that we have about the bumper is that its pretty slick especially when compared to similar products. Bumpers like the Draco Design have enough edges to help with the slickness so you’ll just have to be a little more careful with the K11.

    Again, we gave this case a score of 4.7 Eh’s out of 5. If you’re looking for a premium iPhone case, consider getting one of the Ronin’s from Element. It will definitely class up your iPhone and put a dent in your wallet.

    Have questions about our K11 Bumper Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page.

    59 Comments

    59 Comments

    1. Tamer

      September 11, 2015 at 6:22 am

      How on earth u gave it 4.7 and it doesn’t protect it from the back??????? Totally exposed !!!! Come on man!

      • Jhovani

        September 12, 2015 at 7:05 pm

        He compared it to other blumpers not cases

        • Aaron Ho

          September 12, 2015 at 8:03 pm

          Yep!

          • Alexis

            October 2, 2015 at 5:58 pm

            Would you rather go with a bumper like RhinoCrashGuard or a case?

            • henock

              October 10, 2015 at 6:10 am

              Rhino Crash guard it protects the phone as well as being relatively thin

            • henock

              October 10, 2015 at 6:15 am

              For protection what would you prefer the Rhino shield Crash Guard or the K11?

            • Aaron Ho

              October 13, 2015 at 12:38 pm

              K11 is 6 ft, Rhinoshield is 10 ft.

    2. Sid

      September 12, 2015 at 4:09 am

      Nice! I’m gonna have to keep an eye on this case or maybe throw some cash their way through kickstarter. I like the spigen aluminum bumper (it doesn’t have the rubber back.) but i hate how the black rubber stands out from the white and gold phone, but the gold color aluminum looks perfect with the phone.

    3. Curtis

      September 14, 2015 at 7:21 pm

      Would it be a good idea to team this with the holy grail screen protector? Would I get the same protection? I want it to still look like an Iphone and should I be concerned with the back being exposed. I’m getting the Iphone 6s. It’s supposed to be a lot more durable and not able to dent as easily.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 14, 2015 at 11:01 pm

        It would be a decent setup. Generally, the back of the iPhone doesn’t get damaged during drops. It will almost be a corner that hits first but if you’re dropping it on a rocky parking lot, then the back is in trouble.

        I hope the 6S is indeed tougher. I’m definitely going to find out.

    4. Brian

      September 16, 2015 at 12:42 am

      • Aaron Ho

        September 16, 2015 at 2:48 pm

        Huh. It does look the same.

        • BEN

          October 5, 2015 at 3:36 pm

          HI Aaron,
          There’s some 99% like K11 Bumper in the market, just like TUNEWEARs’ bumper
          or other no brand product from China. They have the almost same design/style. Can you tell me K11 have any special unique advantage or feature that worth to it’s price?

          • Aaron Ho

            October 7, 2015 at 8:48 pm

            Thanotech has patents on the aluminum/tpu moulding processes that go into the bumpers. I personally prefer to pay the companies that spent the time to make the product rather than others who rely on copying others/stealing from others.

    5. WBN

      September 16, 2015 at 5:57 pm

      I just backed this project, and was wondering if this bumper would fit with the cinder screen protector?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:32 pm

        It should fit but it would be tight. As long as you installed it back first, I think it would work.

    6. Jason

      September 16, 2015 at 8:48 pm

      Would this case work the Cinder glass screen protector? I currently have the Nuud but am looking for something that will provide protection from drops with less bulk.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:33 pm

        It should but it would be tight. As long as you installed it back first, I think it would work.

    7. Leo

      September 17, 2015 at 1:16 am

      Is Cinder Screen Protector fits in the K11 bumper?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:33 pm

        It should but it would be tight. As long as you installed it back first, I think it would work.

    8. David

      September 17, 2015 at 2:05 am

      Hi Aaron,

      First of all, I think your reviews are some of the most informative on the internet. Having said that, I would really like your opinion! You mentioned that the K11 would work well with a front screen protector. Would a back protector, one that wraps around the sides such as the Skinomi or Bodyguardz, work well with the design of the K11?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 17, 2015 at 10:34 pm

        I don’t know if it would. The K11 fits tightly together though the TPU part at the bottom has a bit of give so it could stretch to accommodate it.

    9. Diogo

      September 19, 2015 at 2:57 am

      When is the release date of the k11

      • Aaron Ho

        September 21, 2015 at 3:43 pm

        End of October I think.

    10. Julian

      September 19, 2015 at 11:39 am

      Does the white TPU discolor easily ?

      • Aaron Ho

        September 21, 2015 at 3:43 pm

        I kept in jeans for two days and didn’t notice discolouration…any longer I can’t say for sure.

    11. Daniel

      September 20, 2015 at 11:20 pm

      With a student discount I can get the rhino shield with front and back screen protector for $42, on kick starter I can get the K11 for $34, which would you say is better value for money? I can see that the k11 has a higher rating, but it doesn’t come with any screen protection whatsoever, any my current zagg glass one is pretty chipped so I wouldn’t mind a new screen protector.

      • Aaron Ho

        September 21, 2015 at 3:47 pm

        Depends on how tough your are on your device. Better value would be the Rhinoshield since it offers more protection and comes with front/back screen protectors. The K11 looks better but won’t offer as much protection. Also, the K11 is made from metal so if you do drop it often, it will deform.

        • Katrianna

          September 28, 2015 at 1:51 am

          Just wondering how come it has a higher rating if you think the rhino shield will hold up better?

          • Aaron Ho

            September 28, 2015 at 2:31 pm

            The metal bumper will bend if you drop it many times. The rhino shield will scuff but keep its shape.

    12. Mike

      September 23, 2015 at 6:14 pm

      Every aluminum (every metal in general) case/bumper diminishes the reception of the phone.. how much does this Al bumper affect the reception? That’s the only thing; but nonetheless a huge deal breaker, that makes me hesitant to buy the k11

      • Aaron Ho

        September 24, 2015 at 2:43 pm

        I’ve never noticed a big hit in signal strength on any of the metal bumpers that I’ve reviewed. I know other viewers have mentioned it but I’ve never noticed it.

    13. Justin

      October 1, 2015 at 1:08 pm

      Would you use the k-11 as the only case if it were the only case you had? I want protection but I love the thinness of my iPhone. It is a great looking product. I have backed them on Kickstarter and am greatly anticipating the case arrival. Also I noticed that in another comment you said that you rated it as a bumper and not a case? But isn’t a case? Or is it because it doesn’t fully enclose the iPhone?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 1, 2015 at 5:46 pm

        Its a bumper as it doesn’t cover the back of the iPhone. The K11 would definitely be one of the products I’d keep on my iPhone if I wasn’t reviewing stuff.

        • Justin

          October 2, 2015 at 8:48 pm

          I’m sorry I rambled so much. So did you rate it as a bumper, or case? You make great videos and I enjoy watching them and look forward to them each week. Thanks again.

    14. Mia

      October 7, 2015 at 6:43 am

      What front screen protector do you recommend would be best for this case?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 7, 2015 at 9:11 pm

        Thanotech says the Zagg glass luxe works but any screen protector that doesn’t reach the edge will work.

        • Mia

          October 8, 2015 at 12:28 am

          Will the Cinder by Cupert not work with the K11 bumper due to its protection reaching edge to edge?

          • Aaron Ho

            October 8, 2015 at 3:39 am

            Your are correct, they are not compatible.

            • David

              October 11, 2015 at 5:37 am

              Here’s some literature from the Cupert website:

              Can I use Edge to Edge glass?

              All Edge to Edge glass that we have tested work perfect with a couple “no name” glass not sticking and the Cinder from Cupert giving us some trouble when taking the K11 off or putting it on.

              Hope this helps.

    15. Andrew

      October 11, 2015 at 3:55 am

      Hi Aaron, thanks for your review. I know you said there are easy access to the buttons, but I’m looking at the cutout for the mute button and it just doesn’t look that big–but you found it to be okay?

      Also, I know another commenter pointed out something similar, but this case looks VERY similar to the x-doria Bump Gear Plus, http://xdorialife.com/products/bump-gear-plus-for-iphone-6?variant=1255982812. Have you had a chance to look at that metal bumper?

      Thanks!

      • Aaron Ho

        October 13, 2015 at 12:33 pm

        I’ll check out the X doria case. I found the mute button to be ok…not too deep but you still need to use the end of a finger to use the mute switch.

    16. Andrew

      October 13, 2015 at 5:04 am

      Hmm, tried to comment the other day but I guess it didn’t go through…anyhow, I’m wondering how big the mute switch cutout is? Is it big enough for a male thumbnail to access the switch? Thanks.

      • Jacob Nguyen

        October 30, 2015 at 1:06 am

        Hi, I’m a kickstarter backer and according to the last update, they did extend the opening for the mute button by 1mm so it should be big enough.

    17. Ram

      October 17, 2015 at 3:06 am

      What color of K11 Bumper do you think would look better on a space gray iphone? Black/black or black/space gray?? Need suggestions. Thanks!

      • Aaron Ho

        October 18, 2015 at 9:22 pm

        I’m not sure…if I was to pick, I’d go with the Black/Space grey. I’m a big fan of the gold/white matching the gold/white of my iPhone.

    18. Jacob Nguyen

      October 30, 2015 at 1:01 am

      I was wondering whether you have been continuing to use the K11. I want to know if the white TPU discolors and if you can post pictures of what it looks like now.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 30, 2015 at 9:03 pm

        I haven’t been using it since the review…lots of other cases to go through. The TPU looks exactly like it did on day 1.

    19. Luis

      November 1, 2015 at 8:39 pm

      What back film do u recommend with this bumper, I am getting the one K11 sells for the front.

    20. Nigel

      November 4, 2015 at 4:28 am

      I know this k11 case good to withstand and keep phone safe from drop or impact from the ground.. If without any screen protector put on it, would the case keep the screen not broken? Does the back also recommend to have film for protection?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2015 at 1:43 pm

        The bumper provides enough shock protection to prevent the iPhone from breaking. The majority of drops will end up on a corner of the iPHone, not the actual screen. If you’re worried, just get a screen protector for the iPhone…the back should be fine.

    21. Mike

      November 11, 2015 at 11:43 pm

      Are you still going with K11 now that you’ve reviewed the Play Proof?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 14, 2015 at 7:56 pm

        I’d take the K11 if I was working in the office all day, the PlayProof for slightly more active days. I haven’t put either on my iPHones in a couple of weeks, have a slew of other cases to get through.

    22. Fred Gatus

      November 18, 2015 at 9:08 pm

      Unfortunately, here’s what Cupert has reported in regards to Cinder compatibility with K11.

      Cases and bumpers that don’t work with CINDER;

      (Although we have made these work, we do not recommend them as, with everyday use or changing case often, it will result in too many problems)

      Incipio DualPro
      K11
      Speck CandyShell Grip
      Tech21 Classic Frame
      Spigen Tough Armor Cover Case
      Spigen Air Skin

      Here is the url: http://www.cupert.com/cindercasecompatibility

      These are two exceptional products. It’s a shame that they will have problems working together with everyday use or changing case often.

      Would love to know if anyone else has tried putting these two products together and what the results were.

    23. Ben

      January 1, 2016 at 12:55 am

      Will this case or the rhino shield crashguard work with a curved screen protector like the cinder screen protector

    24. Gemma

      May 5, 2016 at 6:29 pm

      The screen is detaching from the back of my iPhone 6 plus (there is a slight gap at the upper left corner near the mute button). Would the K11 provide any kind of support to keep this gap closed and/or keep dust out? Are any other cases better suited for this purpose?

      • Aaron Ho

        May 10, 2016 at 2:50 pm

        You could try getting a waterproof case for the iPhone. The K11 might help but your best bet is a waterproof case.

    25. Debbie

      June 1, 2016 at 10:14 pm

      Help! Just got an iphone 6s, and it is actualy my first smartphone ever(pause for gasping!). I have no idea what case/bumper/screen protector, etc. to get! I got the rose gold phone so I don’t want to HIDE that. I will mostly be using it at home or in my purse, so mostly concerned with purse scratching and possible normal dropping, not too intense! My son got the 6s also, but will be working outside, taking it in and out of pocket with dirty/painty hands. We are both phone newbies so your input would be greatly appreciated. Thank you so much 🙂

      • Aaron Ho

        June 6, 2016 at 2:00 pm

        If you’re not terribly clumsy, I’d get a rose gold K11 bumper. It doesn’t add much to the grip of the iPhone but it will look sweet. If you go that route, get Thanotech’s E2E glass for the K11. If you are a little more clumsy, get a neutral colored Rhinoshield Crashguard. http://www.mobilereviews-eh.ca/rhinoshield-crash-guard-review-iphone-6-6-plus/

        For your son, a Griffin Summit would be provide the best, non-waterproof protection.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top