Otterbox Symmetry Review – iPhone 6


Find out why this case isn’t great for one-handed iPhone users in our Otterbox Symmetry Review

Watch the Otterbox Symmetry Review on YouTube
Looking for a slim case for your iPhone 6? The Otterbox Symmetry case for the iPhone 6 will definitely hold you over until more case manufacturer’s come out with their iPhone 6 products. We’ve got three Otterbox iPhone 6 cases (the Defender, Symmetry and Commuter) and out of these three cases, we have to give our hat tip to the Otterbox Symmetry. It feels like a solid case, especially when compared to the equivalently priced Otterbox Commuter but with that said, I struggled a bit with the case when using it with one hand. I’ll elaborate on that in a bit.

Based on our time with the case, we gave it a score of 3.9 Eh’s out of 5. It’s a case that fits the iPhone 6 well, is fairly affordable but will add a bit of bulk to the iPhone 6 and needs a bit more rubber on the back of the case.

For this Otterbox Symmetry review, we spent a reasonable amount of time with the case before rating it. With these slim cases, they’re pretty simple and we don’t do much to them especially if they’re not drop rated. I do have to hand it to Otterbox though, I received all the cases I ordered 2 days before the iPhone 6 was released.

  Compare With other
     Otterbox Symmetry
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    $39.90 USD
    Similar Cases
    Top Buy Buttons
    - Fits the iPhone 6 fairly well
    - Much better than the Otterbox Commuter
    - Thick for being a slim case
    - A little tougher to get to your iPhone's button
    - Makes the iPhone feel bigger than it actually is
    - Will easily slide off a table as the back of the case isn't rubbery
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - None that we can think of
    Design Rating
    (Otterbox Symmetry)
    Weight/Bulk/InstallationWeight/Bulk/Install (3/5):
    - More than doubles the thickness of your iPhone 6
    - Will add approx. 1/4 inch around the entire iPhone
    - Makes the iPhone 6 noticeably heavier
    Build QualityBuild Quality (3.5/5):
    - The Otterbox Symmetry fits well together
    - the rubber around the buttons tends to move quite a bit when pressed
    - The slickness of the back makes the iPhone 6 feel less stable when used with one hand
    Protection Rating
    (Otterbox Symmetry)
    General ProtectionGeneral Protection (3/5):
    - Will not protect your iPhone 6 from dust
    - Case isn't drop rated but Otterbox says it will protect your iPhone from drops
    - Edges of the case extend approx. 1/8 past the screen providing a bit of screen protection
    Functionality Rating
    (Otterbox Symmetry)
    iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (5/5):
    - Able to access all buttons on the iPhone 6
    - Able to use larger headphone jacks as the bumper along the bottom is quite flexible
    - Edges of the case may peel away your screen protector
    Screen FunctionalityScreen Functionality (4.5/5):
    - The Otterbox Symmetry does not get in the way of viewing/accessing your iPhone's touchscreen
    Bottom Purchase Buttons

    Design – The Otterbox Symmetry is an slightly above average slim iPhone 6 case

    Depth_of_Otterbox_SymmetryThis case will add a bit of bulk to your iPhone 6 which may be a problem for people who really enjoy the design of the new iPhone. It will more than double the thickness as well as adding a 1/4 inch bumper around the entire device. We did notice the additional weight of the case on the iPhone 6.

    For the most part, the case is well designed. The plastic back and the rubber inset seem to fit fairly well which is pretty surprising for a Otterbox Product. One of the great things about the Commuter is your ability to customize the colour of your case so if you’re very attached to a set of colors, this case might be for you.

    Now we weren’t a big fan of how pliable the rubber around the buttons are. There’s quite a bit of give and it does make the buttons a little harder to use, especially if you’re trying to use your iPhone 6 with one hand.

    During our testing period for our Otterbox Symmetry review, we found that the back of the case is very slick so when you’re holding the iPhone 6 in one hand, it feel like it can easily slip out of your hand.

    Protection – The Otterbox Symmetry is better than the Otterbox Commuter in terms of protection

    Otterbox Symmetry Review - Using it with one handNow according to Otterbox, the Symmetry is one of the slimmest, most protective iPhone 6 cases in its class but like most Otterbox cases, its not rated to any Mil-Spec so take it that statement with a grain of salt.

    For our rating system, we take into account how many layers of protection it has, the screen protection, drop protection and drop rating. For the Otterbox Symmetry, the case will keep most debris from entering the case cavity. The edge of the case is raised approx. 1/8 inch so it will offer a bit of protection if you drop it face first.

    The Symmetry will allow you to install external screen protectors with the case but be warned, the edges of the case may peel away at the screen protector. We have an Otterbox screen protector installed on our Symmetry and it doesn’t wrap around the rounded glass of the iPhone 6 so where the Symmetry ends is where the screen protector starts so any movement of the case will push on the edge of the screen protector.

    Functionality – Use your iPhone 6 like how Jony Ives meant it to be used

    iPhone6-access-Otterbox-symmetry-reviewFor our Otterbox Symmetry review, in terms of functionality, the Otterbox Symmetry doesn’t have any negative effects on the usage of your iPhone. The cutouts for the headphone jack and lightning port are large enough that you can easily use non-Apple accessories with the iPhone 6 installed inside the Symmetry.

    Have questions? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page.



    1. Pingback: Otterbox Commuter Review - iPhone 6

    2. Jorge (George)

      November 22, 2014 at 4:28 am

      Hi Aaron, I been watching your videos and reading your reviews and I have a question for you
      ¿Does this kind of cases (protective) doesn’t get problems with the flash? or ¿Does it happens in slim cases?

      I have seen some imitations for mophie cases, and when you want to get a photo using your flash, have to take it out, because the case is to big and the flash get first con the case instead on where you want it.


      • Aaron Ho

        November 22, 2014 at 9:53 pm

        For all the slim cases, there usually isn’t a problem with the flash. The problems (from our experience) only occur with cases that are thicker than usual. On the tougher/waterproof cases, there are very few cases that allow for the full flash to go off so you get odd exposed edges along your photos.

    3. Courtney

      December 26, 2014 at 8:16 pm

      I just got an iPhone 6 and have been really looking for a case that is not huge, since the phone itself is already pretty big, but something that will definitely stop my phone from cracking when I drop it. I’ve narrowed it down to the otterbox symmetry, incipio dualpro, and the spigen tough armor. Which one would you recommend the best?

      Ps Your videos have helped so much!

      • Aaron Ho

        December 28, 2014 at 4:38 pm

        I personally would go with a darker coloured DualPro (the lighter ones stain), followed by the Tough Armor and the Symmetry. My issue with the Tough armor is that edges might be a bit sharper and the clearance of the iPhone screen is pretty minimal. For the symmetry, the edges of the case changes the shape of the iPhone and makes it feel very bukly.

        If you want to see the side/side comparison, check out our tool: http://www.mobilereviews-eh.ca/top-iphone-6-case-comparisons/

      • Jorge Rogel

        December 28, 2014 at 5:25 pm

        I used my IPhone 6 without a case for 3 days and I was able to use it one handed (the double tap on home button actually work well), Now that I have my Simmetry case it has been a little bit difficult (even with the double tap on the Home Button), and in the way I Handle IT, with my pinky ay the bottom of the cellphone the edges of the case, can be not that commfortable (beca use of the access holes for the headphones and for the charger. But Inspite that I think is a great case, not that Bulky as other cases, and now Im not worried if my IPhone falls.

    4. Jack

      January 9, 2015 at 2:04 am

      I have the otterbox symmetry and even though it does double the size of the iPhone 6, so does the incipio dual pro which was rated better and not dinged points for this. Someone I know has that case and it is just as thick as the Symmetry… Btw is there any way that you would try drop testing the symmetry? Like starting at 4 feet going through 6 feet? Great videos and reviews, keep it up!

      • Aaron Ho

        January 14, 2015 at 3:33 pm

        You are correct. The size of the Symmetry and Dual Pro are almost the same in thickness. I believe the score I gave the Symmetry also factored in the additional bulkiness of the Symmetry. The case feels wider than the Dual Pro mostly because the edge of the Symmetry isn’t as rounded so it makes the iPhone feel wider than usual. Is that something you’ve noticed as well?

        I’ll consider dropping the Symmetry if there is more interest.

    5. Jeanette

      January 26, 2015 at 1:19 am

      I am VERY interested in a drop test with Symmetry! I just found your site and watched a Candyshell review that basically solidified for me why I am afraid to drop my phone in the Candyshell Grip I have and bought a Symmetry to test it. My last phone, which was an Android, had a Commuter on it and I never had a cracked screen in the many timesI dropped it on my concrete garage floor. I prefer to slimmer design of the Candyshell grip and being able to use the iPhone one-handed, but dint eel infuse mr it would survive a drop and your video review confirmed my fear. Thank you for that! So now I would love to see a drop test with the Symmetry case!!!

    6. Jeanette

      January 27, 2015 at 5:08 am

      I am personally very interested in seeing the Symmetry drop-tested! I have it and actually have the same issue as another comment or with the pinky getting sore from holding it and working one-handed and hat is an issue for me, as is the bulk and noticeable weight, but if it can drop face down and survive, it may be worth the issues. I also do not like how slick it is on the back though. I was loving my Speck Candyshell Grip for the slim profile, non-skid strips, and ease-of-use until I saw you drop the regular Candyshell and the screen shattered. Ouch.

    7. pswu

      March 1, 2015 at 2:16 pm

      Hi Aaron, have been watching your videos, they are great. Just wonder what your thoughts are on the new Speck Mightyshell for iPhone 6? I am thinking about that rather than the Incipio duo pro.. thanks

    8. Svari Battleborn

      March 16, 2015 at 4:05 pm

      I actually kinda like the Symmetry.
      I agree though that it would have been better if the back was made of a material that give some more grip. I’m very interested to see you do a drop test with the Symmetry… I kinda know what it should be able to take though 😉

      • Aaron Ho

        March 20, 2015 at 2:48 pm

        Thanks for the comment. I probably won’t drop an iPhone in the symmetry but from my guess, it’ll take a 4ft drop fairly well.

        • Svari Battleborn

          March 20, 2015 at 8:33 pm

          Hey Aaron,

          Any chance i can talk and send you something in private?
          You have a good guess..

          As i said earlier i kinda like the Symmetry but to be honest the last couple days the fit of the iPhone inside the Symmetry started to bug me. The rubber around the volume buttons and power button is kinda “wobbly” and is not exactly straight in line with the edge of the phone anymore. Also the rubber under the home button is a bit too loose which makes it very easy to see “through” the rubber edge there to the lightning connector. Kinda hard to explain in words 🙂

          My other case, Dog & Bone Wetsuit, is broken after a single 4ft drop and customer service is a total pain in the *** about it. Looks like I’m not getting an replacement anytime soon if at all.. my first and last Dog & Bone case.

          I took a leap of faith and ordered an Incipio DualPro today. Hopefully that case will be able to live up to my expectations.
          I already bought more cases (3) for my iPhone 6 Plus i have for 4 months then for my iPhone 5 (2) which i had for over two years. 🙂

    9. Pingback: Drop Test – Urban Armor Gear for the iPhone 6

    10. Sheryl Discher

      September 18, 2015 at 6:18 pm

      Hello Aaron,

      I just found your website and I LOVE it!!!! Your drop tests and reviews are great. I’m getting the new iphone 6s and am debating whether to get the lifeproof fre or the otterbox (commuter/symmerty). Which one would you recommend? I am upgrading from the 5s and have the commuter now. I’ve dropped this phone many many times and the case has protected the phone, this is why i’m hesitant to change cases. I’m also worried about the glare of the fre, is it really that bad?

      Thanks in advance for your opinion!

      • Aaron Ho

        September 18, 2015 at 11:18 pm

        Stick to what you like! The Fre isn’t great for screen usability but between the commuter and symmetry, I”d go with the Symmetry.

    11. http://photographe-web.com/uruzz01/coach-66448-113.htmlコーチ ショルダーバッグ f20044,コーチ キーケース 花柄コーチ キーケース 金具,ニナリッチ 財布 年齢
      コーチ ショルダーバッグ 黒,コーチ キーケース 花柄コーチ キーケース 金具,ニナリッチ 財布 年齢 http://photographe-web.com/uruzz01/coach-56447-109.html

    12. しかしまだに関係なく、どのように優秀いつかは現在、巨大なリグを処理することを伴うことが、あなたが見つける処理する工程;さらに主フィットネスレベル、あなたの本当の年齢しかし、しかしまだに基づいて、完全無料無料無償重量キャラバンそれはありますです。所有日除けがあると嬉しい

    13. Gerald

      November 15, 2015 at 4:32 am

      How high can I drop my iPhone in this case?

    14. Mark

      December 22, 2015 at 5:32 pm

      Otterbox has released a new version of the Symmetry for the iPhone 6/6S. Its slimmer and it feels better.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top