iPhone 6(s+)

Rhinoshield Playproof Review – iPhone 6 (s+)

 

Drop the Playproof from 11.5 ft? Why would you do that? Seriously…

(Scroll down for the written review)

Rhinoshield Playproof Review – Stupidly light and protective

Rhinoshield Playproof Review - InfographicToday we’re going to review the Rhinoshield Playproof by Evolutive Labs for the iPhone 6s. This is one of their newer cases and despite being light as a feather it provides an incredible amount of drop protection. Access to the iPhone is quite nice but there are certain aspects of handling that we’re not terribly fond of.

For our Rhinoshield Playproof Review, we’ve given this iPhone case a score of 4.6 Eh’s out of 5. Technically this case rates higher than the Rhinoshield Crashguard by a tiny amount (Crashguard scored 4.55 but we round to one decimal place for the scores). Other cases that are up there include the Thule Atmos X4, the Pong Sleek Radiation case and the K11 Bumper by Thanotech. This would have been the perfect iPhone case but there’s one thing we think Evolutive labs needs to change in order for that to happen.

If you’re wondering what other cases we’ve reviewed, check out our comparison tool for 40+ slim iPhone 6s+ cases.

  Compare With other
     
     Rhinoshield Playproof
     
    Header
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    PricePrice:
    iPhone 6(s+): 24.95 USD
    Similar Cases
    Top Buy Buttons
    ProsPros:
    - Drop it from 11.5 ft
    - Super light
    - Great access to the iPhone
    ConsCons:
    - Playproof's back is really slick
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - None that we found
    Design Rating
    DESIGN
    (Rhinoshield Playproof)
    Weight/Bulk/InstallationWeight/Bulk/Install (4.5/5):
    - Super light
    - Fits the iPhone well
    Build QualityBuild Quality (4.5/5):
    - Case fits well
    - Super strong materials
    - Back scratches a little easier
    Protection Rating
    PROTECTION
    (Rhinoshield Playproof)
    General ProtectionGeneral Protection (5/5):
    - Drop-rated to 11.5 ft
    - Screen protector included
    - Decent lip for screen protection
    - Tight fitting case minimizes dust/debris damage
    Functionality Rating
    Functionality
    (Rhinoshield Playproof)
    iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (4.5/5):
    - Cutouts for headphone jacks and lightning port connectors are large
    - Excellent access to the iPhones buttons
    - Edges of the case are fairly "grippy" but back is very slick
    Screen FunctionalityScreen Functionality (5/5):
    - Doesn't get in the way of accessing your iPhone's screen
    Bottom Purchase Buttons

     

    Design – Stupidly light but protective

    Rhinoshield Playproof Review - Design

    In terms of design, this is one of the thinnest, lightest cases that we’ve seen. We usually make fun of marketing fluff but we believe Evolutive Labs when they says that the materials in the case is the first of its kind in the tough case market because we spent several days beating up their cases. The Playproof iPhone case is so deceptive because its tiny and light, covers the back of the iPhone and is slightly smaller than the Rhinoshield Crashguard but just as droppable.

    In terms of build quality, the Playproof is solid. The case fits together well, allows you to use screen protectors (or the ones included with it) but after several concrete drops and the iPhone sidewalk slide, the Playproof will start to show signs of wear and tear. Scratches are a little more pronounce on the back of the plain cases as the matte finish gets scuffed up easily.

    We do need to add a disclaimer as the cases we tested were early versions of the case so certain things will change with the production cases. Evolutive Labs is sending us production cases to compare so do check back to see if there are any differences.

    Protection – Honestly, when are you going to drop it from 11.5 ft?

    Rhinoshield Playproof Review - Drop Test

    In terms of protection, the Playproof is hands down the slimmest, toughest case we have ever reviewed. Our iPhone 6s, despite being heavier than the 6, suffered no visible damage after being dropped from approx. 11 ft. A slew of normal height drops barely left a mark on the case and no damage on the iPhone so if you need something slim and tough, the Playproof is going to be your best bet.

    The awesome fit of the case also means that dust/debris will be kept from your iPhone and the edges of the case are high enough to keep the screen off a flat surface even with the screen protector on.

    Functionality – Decent access but it handles like a bar of soap

    Rhinoshield Playproof Review - Protection

    In terms of accessing your iPhone, there is nothing on the Rhinioshield Playproof that will stop you from accessing your iPhone. The buttons are nice, large and easy to find and the cutouts on the bottom of the case are large enough for 3rd party cables.

    Our only gripe for this case is that the back is really slick. The whole case isn’t too bad as the edges of the case are quite rubbery so when you’re using your iPhone with one hand, you’ve got decent contact around the edges but it doesn’t sit well in the palm of your hand.

    Now, when its out of your hand and on a flat surface, the slick back will cause the iPhone to go flying off tables but this is sort of offset by the fact its drop rated to 11.5 ft so it sort of works out in the end. It might take a few tumbles but the iPhone will definitely survive. We do have to poke a bit of fun at the “Enhances grip” marketing fluff on the website because we totally disagree with it.

    The texture from the printed cases do help a little but its still nothing like the “grippiness” of the Magpul Field case or the Griffin Journey which are two cases we reviewed prior to the Rhinoshield Playproof.

    If Evolutive Labs could add a bit more texture to the back, we’d could probably stop reviewing iPhone cases because this would be close to being the perfect case. We do feel that the slickness of the case might be a deal breaker for some and we’ve taken all the points off that we in our scoring system. If you’re planning on getting this case, consider yourself warned!

    Have questions about our Rhinoshield Playproof Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page or through our About Us page.

    86 Comments

    86 Comments

    1. Chris

      October 26, 2015 at 12:14 am

      Damn, one of those 11 foot drops was face first… I thought for sure that screen was destroyed! I was looking to preorder one this morning, but the slipperiness is a deal breaker for me since I don’t use a screen protector… But still, what they’ve done is darn impressive!

      • Kevin

        February 23, 2016 at 11:02 am

        I have this case combined with a Cupert Cinder and absolutely love it. The only gripe I have is the slippery aspect of the case but that was not a deal breaker for me. The only other comment is I chose plain black and it is very plain – I kind of wished I got one with a design or maybe a splash of colour to spice it up. Other than that I am very happy with the case (and screen protector).

        • Aaron Ho

          February 23, 2016 at 4:06 pm

          The printed cases add a bit more texture to the case. Surprisingly.

    2. Brian

      October 26, 2015 at 10:04 am

      Thank you, Aaron!
      I want to buy one!
      And maybe E will make an adjustment to the mold to provide more texture (and thus more traction in-hand and on-desk)

    3. Thomas

      October 26, 2015 at 1:33 pm

      Does it fit with the Cupert Cinder?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 26, 2015 at 3:43 pm

        Nope.

        • Alexander

          October 28, 2015 at 10:24 pm

          In this case what screen protector would you recommend for the Rhinoshield Playproof?
          May be Sir Lancelot Holy Grail or Phantom by Cinder?

          • Aaron Ho

            October 29, 2015 at 11:59 pm

            For maximum toughness, I’d go with the Rhinoshield crashguard. For glass, the Sir Lancelot or Phantom would be fine.

    4. Matt

      October 26, 2015 at 5:38 pm

      Thanks for the great reviews. This case sounds amazing! How thick is it on the iPhone 6s Plus (7.3mm)? Would you pick this over all other cases using the screen protector like the Atmos X4? How much texture does the printing add for grip?

    5. slioner

      October 27, 2015 at 3:55 pm

      Hi,

      For the smaller 6s is the grip really an issue since it is easy to hold in one anyway?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 29, 2015 at 11:57 pm

        When one-handing the 6s by itself, the corner is thin enough that it digs into the palm of your hand. With the playproof, it just slides around.

        • Alexander

          November 1, 2015 at 9:17 pm

          Is Playproof as slick as Incipio DualPro?

    6. James Owen

      October 27, 2015 at 11:22 pm

      What glass screen protector would you recommend using with this?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 29, 2015 at 11:58 pm

        I’d go with one that only covers the toucheable area. The Holy Grail by Sir Lancelot is a good choice.

    7. Gerald

      October 28, 2015 at 8:06 am

      Without the screen protector is the lip of the case high enough for a bit of screen protection?

    8. Gerald

      October 29, 2015 at 4:39 am

      How big is the lip/raised bezel of this case compared to other cases?
      Speck candyshell, Thule atmos x3, etc?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

        As high as the Candyshell.

    9. D

      October 29, 2015 at 4:44 am

      Can I install the Cupertino CINDER Screen protector on this case? I would choose the CINDER over anything else like you recommended.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 30, 2015 at 12:00 am

        I don’t think so. The edges might cover a little too far for the Cinder to work.

        • D

          October 31, 2015 at 8:49 pm

          How high is the lip of this case because it looks very low on the video and I’m concerned about my screen.

          • Aaron Ho

            November 1, 2015 at 8:03 pm

            About the depth of a quarter.

            • D

              November 1, 2015 at 8:44 pm

              How big is that exactly? I needed to know this in case I needed a screen protector for my screen.

        • David

          January 7, 2016 at 7:13 pm

          I was advised by Cinder it would work

    10. Jem

      October 29, 2015 at 4:58 am

      Will full front tempered glass work with this, like the ones with a Black top & bottom?

    11. Daquon

      October 29, 2015 at 10:21 pm

      Can I install the Cupert CINDER Screen protector on this case?

    12. slioner

      October 30, 2015 at 7:32 pm

      one more question

      which is thinner…Playproof or Atmos x4?

    13. Gerald

      October 30, 2015 at 11:50 pm

      Would you personaly get the Rhino Shield Playproof or the Ballistic Urbanitemail and why?

      • Gerald

        October 30, 2015 at 11:54 pm

        I meant Ballistic Urbanite.

    14. Gerald

      October 30, 2015 at 11:51 pm

      Thank you for answering all my questions. This helped me a whole lot.

    15. Matareses

      October 31, 2015 at 11:49 pm

      does this fit better on 6 or 6s?

    16. Matarese

      November 1, 2015 at 10:22 am

      would this work with a full body skin on?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 1, 2015 at 8:04 pm

        It might. I’m not sure though.

    17. Alexander

      November 1, 2015 at 12:07 pm

      Hi Aaron,
      You mentioned that Evolutive Labs is sending you production cases.
      Have you already got it? Are there any differences in compare with the case you tested especially in the area of slickness?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 1, 2015 at 8:04 pm

        I haven’t gotten it yet.

        • Alexander

          November 1, 2015 at 8:10 pm

          Thank you for your reply.
          Please keep us informed.

    18. Matarese

      November 1, 2015 at 2:28 pm

      May i know if the Iphone 6s case would have any difference with iphone 6?
      May i also know if i can put a vinyl skin on before putting it to the playproof also?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 1, 2015 at 8:05 pm

        Both fit fine in this case.

    19. Gerald

      November 1, 2015 at 7:52 pm

      Would you recommend the Rhinoshield Impact Resistance Screen Protector with this case?

    20. Gerald

      November 2, 2015 at 2:54 pm

      Will a flat full front screen protector work on this case, but no like the cinder?

    21. James

      November 3, 2015 at 2:59 am

      How tall/big is the lip of this case and how big is it compared to another case with high edges?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2015 at 1:40 pm

        Lip is a couple of mm’s with a screen protector.

        • James

          November 7, 2015 at 12:52 am

          Compared to the candyshell though?

    22. Daquon

      November 3, 2015 at 5:01 am

      How tall is the lip of this case?

    23. Davide

      November 3, 2015 at 8:55 am

      Hi Aaron,
      I would like to order this case and it says “shipping est. early november”, do you know about when this will be?
      Because I bought a new iPhone 6 and I don’t want to stay for too long without a case.

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2015 at 1:48 pm

        That’s all I got from them as well.

    24. Matarese

      November 6, 2015 at 11:59 am

      Would you recommend an edge to edge tempered glass on this or just the smaller than screen 2.5d glasses

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2015 at 1:48 pm

        I’d go with a smaller one.

    25. Aaron

      November 9, 2015 at 10:26 pm

      Would you say the slickness of the back is a deal breaker. I am banging my head trying to find a good case that is light but still gives me great phone protection.

      • Aaron Ho

        November 9, 2015 at 11:18 pm

        Depends on the size of the iPhone and hands. I can comfortably 1-hand the 6 so the Playproof is a deal breaker for that size. With the 6 Plus, I can barely 1-hand it so it doesn’t matter is much.

    26. Scott

      November 16, 2015 at 11:06 pm

      Received Play Proof today ( iPhone 6 Plus) , took 4 days to receive after shipping confirmation. Product coming from Taiwan. I can say, Aaron’s reviews is spot on, great case, ridicuously snug fit. Almost too much since its was not just a ” pop it in install”. As mentioned during Aaron’s review, case has matte finish but is quite slick on the back. Obviously did what they wanted in regards to this, Otherwise 5 stars

    27. Mike

      November 19, 2015 at 8:47 pm

      I’ve had my Play Proof cases a few days now and Aaron’s reviews are great. The case is thin and fit is tight. The buttons are hard to push compared to my last cases the Spigen ultra hybrid and Apples silicone case. About as hard to push as Apples Leather case and Thule Atmos x3. I’ve also used the UAG, Candyshell grip, Incipio Dual Pro, Spigen Slim/Tuff armor cases and Evutec Karbon. It finger prints on the back but easy to remove and doesn’t leave an oily film after. I’ve used my finger nail to try a scratch one of the cases but took a decent about of force to do so. Mine are the plain blue and red cases. The print designs are more for the younger generation to me anyway. Case has only slight grip on sides and VERY slippery on the back. Improve the finish slightly on front lip of case, make buttons easy to push, increase grip and put some feet on the back to help with scratches and this would be about as good as it gets for a slim fit case with this much protection.

    28. Polly

      November 20, 2015 at 6:00 pm

      Hey Aaron,

      first of all: Thank you so, so much for your great work! You make navigating through the “tech jungle” so much easier!

      I have a question: Cupert’s website says that the Cinder is compatible with the Evolutive Labs PlayProof case, but I read in the comments that you wouldn’t recommend using these two together.
      Do you know whether there have been some changes in the products on either side, or is it just Cupert assuming that it will fit?
      Have you actually tried it out yourself?

      If it still doesn’t fit, I’d probably go with the Sir Lancelot one. Could you please tell me how much impact protection it offers compared to the Rhinoshield screen protector? (Since both screen guards have 5/5 for impact protection in your comparison tool – which is awesome, BTW!)

      Thanks a lot and keep on doing what you’re doing! You’re by far my favorite mobile tech reviewer!

      • Aaron Ho

        November 23, 2015 at 8:57 pm

        I’m assuming it wouldn’t fit though I’ve never had the two together. Its my best guess based on what I’ve seen and how the case fits…if Cupert says it fits, then go with them.

        For screen protectors, plastic ones usually are tougher than glass ones. The moment you have a chip on the glass one, its usually done but plastic will keep going despite getting dinged up.

        • Polly

          November 26, 2015 at 12:18 am

          Ah, ok. Thank you very much!

      • Brent

        December 9, 2015 at 2:39 am

        I am currently using the Cinder with the playproof and I can confirm that it fits with no issues at all. It is the perfect combination.

        • David Salazar

          December 20, 2015 at 3:32 am

          Dear Brent, would you please send me a picture of how does the Playroom looks with the Cinder? I have Cinder and Urban Armor Gear with my iPhone 6s Plus and to me it is just too tight and the lip doesn’t really go on top of the Cinder, does the Playproof’s lip does? If you would be kind please mail me pictures at: albodavid@gmail.Com

          Thank you!

        • Datsuk

          January 2, 2016 at 4:37 pm

          I can confirm this as well. Be warned, the fit with the playproof is incredibly snug with the Cinder on it. Taking it off is a challenge.

    29. Adam

      November 23, 2015 at 7:44 pm

      You are 100% right about the playproof. Mine just came in for my 6s plus and it is far and away the best case I have tried. It moved my Spigen Slim Armor to back up case. It is the thinnest case I have tried and I still can’t figure out how it has 11.5 foot drop protection.

      Keep up the good work Aaron

      • Aaron Ho

        November 23, 2015 at 9:01 pm

        🙂

      • Victoria

        November 24, 2015 at 7:28 pm

        Do you find it too slick or slippery at all? I have a 6s Plus and I’m debating whether or not to get this case. Are the buttons (power, volume) easy to press? Right now I have the leather Apple case on it but I’m looking for something that will cover the bottom of the phone.

        Thanks for your help!

      • Victoria

        November 24, 2015 at 8:51 pm

        Do you find it really slick or slippery at all? I have a 6s plus and I’m debating whether or not to buy this case based on Aaron’s review indicating it is really slick. Currently I have the Apple leather case on it, but I’m looking for one that covers the bottom of the phone. How are the buttons on the play proof (power, volume), are they easy to press?

        Thanks for your help!

    30. Ezequiel

      November 26, 2015 at 2:43 am

      Hi Aaron! If you have to choose between the Rhinoshield Playproof and the Crashguard for the iPhone 6s+, what would you choose? Thanks from Argentina

      • Aaron Ho

        November 27, 2015 at 3:03 pm

        Crashguard on the 6 Plus sized phone, Playproof on the 6.

    31. M

      November 28, 2015 at 1:33 am

      I’m guessing since you are always testing products your using a screen protector of some type. But would you otherwise?

      Love your stuff

      • Aaron Ho

        November 30, 2015 at 4:11 pm

        I personally wouldn’t use a screen protector if I wasn’t reviewing them.

    32. fadlun

      December 10, 2015 at 6:17 am

      Hi. In terms of protection only, do you recommend the Rhinoshield Playproof or Urban Armor Gear?

    33. Cck

      December 12, 2015 at 1:48 am

      Hi,
      Rhinoshield playproof compatible with imos 3d corning glass iphone 6s plus?

      • Aaron Ho

        December 12, 2015 at 5:41 pm

        I’m not sure…I can’t check (out of town) but I wouldn’t get the IMOS 3D since any type of drop will result in the screen protector coming off.

    34. Thomas

      December 28, 2015 at 8:00 pm

      I was considering Playproof and Thule Atmos X3 for my 6s Plus which would you recommend? I am not sure I how I feel about how slick I have read the Playproof is.

    35. David M

      January 7, 2016 at 7:17 pm

      Hi Aaron I spoke with Cupert and they advised the Cinder will work with the Playproof case..

      My question is would you recommend the Cinder over the Rhinoshield?

      I know one is glass and the other is not. Would Cinder stand against Bertha? Thanks

      • Aaron Ho

        January 13, 2016 at 5:30 pm

        The Cinder wouldn’t come close to the protection the Rhinoshield Impact shield provides.

    36. CDR

      January 12, 2016 at 4:28 pm

      I am really enjoying the Playproof case on my iPhone 6s Plus. Was walking in the freezing cold the other day and placed the phone in my shirt pocket under my topcoat, at least I thought I did, and missed the pocket and it crashed straight down onto the sidewalk. Not a mark anywhere to be seen, not even on the case. I think it possesses a perfect combination of side grip and smooth texture that has yet to slip out of my hand and slides into jeans easily whereas the Apple Silicone case I previously had on the phone, was rather sticky in both shirt pocket and pants pockets. After three weeks with the Playproof it is the best case I have ever used with peace of mind when the inevitable occurs.

      Now with respect to compatibility with the Cupert Cinder, I cannot report a positive outcome. The Cinder is wonderful without the Playproof but after having perfectly applied the Cinder and very carefully installing the phone into the Playproof, the lower right corner of the Cinder (about a 1″ triangular shaped area) began separating from the phone screen about 15 minutes after installing the case. Fast forward five more frustrating attempts of installing the Cinder, all five times installed perfectly with no bubbles or separation by the way, the same 1″ separation in the same area occurred. Each time the case was carefully installed with special care to hold down the corners of the screen protector while pulling the case over the corners….it made absolutely no difference. So in a last attempt, I decided to wash the screen protector as per the instructions and lets just say it was impossible for me to get the sticky side clean without water droplet marks on the sticky side. It was a mess leaving me to wonder what are these people talking about that it is washable?!! I even tried purified water to wash it several times letting it air dry and it still looked terrible with marks you can’t remove. Tried calling the Cupert Service Number listed on their website and you get a recording that it is a Google number that does not accept calls. They make you go through hoops to communicate with them with no telephonic communication possible then you have to fill out a warranty form and submit photographic evidence of the screen saver failure before they will communicate with you.

      Lastly, I went out and bought an InvisibleShield HDX after the Cinder frustration and it is a perfect combination with the Playproof. I am not about to remove the InvisibleShield to try another frustrating attempt of a Cinder install with the case just to take a photograph for Cupert. I may just take a photo of the awful result of washing the screen protector precisely as they instructed…this is not a washable screen protector, in no way shape or form. In fact I find that statement laughable. Basically I would agree with Aaron that the Cinder does not work, at least not for me, with the Playproof, even though it says it is compatible on the Playproof website. I believe the tolerances are so tight that it is a hit or miss proposition. The thought of having to go through the frustration of such a tedious hit or miss install anytime you remove the case makes it a non starter. I’ll probably just throw the thing out then have to deal with Cupert…..terrible customer service in that you can’t easily communicate with these people. Given that even the Cupert website says Cinder is compatible with Playproof, I think selecting a case friendly alternative is a much more prudent avenue. Just a shame to waste $45….oh well.

      Thank you Aaron for all your great work and sound advice.

    37. Branislav

      February 5, 2016 at 4:57 pm

      I have an iPhone 6s. For protection benefits Artwizz 2nd Display for iPhone 6 Is it compatible with Rhinoshield Playproof? Also of torn between Rhinoshield Playproof and Thule Atmos X3.
      Thank you in advance for your answer.

    38. brandon jonathan

      April 27, 2016 at 2:57 am

      hey aaron love your work man,
      ive gotten the play proof for my 6 and loved it now im looking at moving onto the 6s+ and am just wondering is there going to be noticable difference in handling since it is such a larger phone? does the slippery back affect it more on the larger phone or is it roughly the same?

      also i would love to get the case through you to give you some support but i live in queensland australia, is that possible? happy to pay shipping and all that stuff.

      also a shirt would be great 🙂 hit us up

    39. David

      May 8, 2016 at 8:32 am

      Hey Aaron, nice review. Just check with you this Rhino play proof can we use the edge to edge screen protector with it or only need using their screen protector?

    40. RP

      December 28, 2016 at 6:26 am

      Hi, thank you for the many reviews! In the review of the playproof case it’s mentioned that a screen protector is included, but many different sites (such as amazon) state that there isn’t a screen protector included. Does it make a difference where the playproof is purchased? Thanks!

    41. Springboard

      August 23, 2017 at 8:21 pm

      I have mixed feelings about the Playproof, but in the end I can’t recommend it, due to it’s combination of slipperiness and quick breakdown. The case is so slippery that the phone was constantly being dropped, which eventually led to the corners of the case chipping off pretty drastically. Now, we should have replaced it at that point, but before we could, one of the drops cracked the phone. So it’s kind of like a car with great airbags but lousy sight lines and brakes — Protection is great to have, but I’d rather not get into the accident in the first place. The leather SolidSuit could be the answer, if it’s indeed much grippier.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top