iPhone

Speck Candyshell Review – iPhone 6

 

While making the Speck CandyShell Review, we shattered our iPhone 6 in the case. This iPhone 6 case isn’t that tough.

 

The Speck CandyShell case is a pretty popular iPhone case, probably because its sold right in the Apple store (that’s where we got our iPhone 5/5s version) but with the Speck CandyShell for the iPhone 6, it feels like putting the iPhone 6 into a bowl.

The best part of the Speck CandyShell is that it allows you to use your iPhone 6 fairly easily but that shouldn’t be the best part of a slim case. You can easily access all the hardware functions of your iPhone 6 without any hassle. There are several things that bother us about this case while using this case during our testing period for this Speck CandyShell Review. We were bothered by the build quality of the case and the fact that Speck says its drop tested but doesn’t offer any heights or measurements for us to actually drop against.

At Mobile Reviews Eh! we base our reviews on actual usage. For these slim cases, it doesn’t take much time to figure out what they’re good for but with the CandyShell, it’s taken a couple of tumbles off my messy desk, we noticed how scratched up the case is after a couple hours of use and most importantly, we’ve compared it against other slim iPhone 6 cases.

With all that being said, we gave the Speck CandyShell a score of 4 Eh’s out of 5. This case is better than your Otterbox Commuter and Symmetry cases but’s not as good as a Spigen Tough Armor or Urban Armor Case.

  Compare With other
     
     Speck Candyshell
     
    Header
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    PricePrice:
    $34.95 USD
    Similar Cases
    Top Buy Buttons
    ProsPros:
    - Easy access to your iPhone 6 inside the case
    ConsCons:
    - Quality of protection may be a bit exaggerated
    - Build quality of the Speck Candyshell is a bit lacking
    - Scratches easily
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - This case will show its wear and tear easily
    - This case (despite what Speck says on their website) will not provide the same level of protection as a Otterbox Defender or Griffin Survivor
    Design Rating
    DESIGN
    (Speck Candyshell)
    Weight/Bulk/InstallationWeight/Bulk/Install (4.5/5):
    - Doubles the thickness and weight of the iPhone 6
    - Will add 1/8 inch around your entire iPhone 6
    - The Speck Candyshell is a little more difficult to install when compared to other cases
    Build QualityBuild Quality (3.5/5):
    - Glossy back of the case scratches really easily
    - Stress bends will occur if you're Installing an iPhone 6 into the case constantly
    - Smooth texture of the case makes it feel less "grippy"
    Protection Rating
    PROTECTION
    (Speck Candyshell)
    General ProtectionGeneral Protection (3.5/5):
    - Speck Candyshell exceeds military drop specifications but Speck doesn't mention how high you can drop it
    - 6ft face first drop on smooth concrete resulted in an iPhone 6 breaking
    - Significant lip prevents iPhone touchscreen from touching smooth surfaces
    - No screen protector
    Functionality Rating
    FUNCTIONALITY
    (Speck Candyshell)
    iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (4.5/5):
    - Able to access all buttons on the iPhone 6
    - Able to use slightly larger headphones jacks and 3rd party lightning cables easily with the Speck CandyShell
    - Back of the case does not provide enough texture as it feels like it will easily fall out of your hand
    Screen FunctionalityScreen Functionality (5/5):
    - Edges of the case are very noticeable on the Speck Candyshell
    Bottom Purchase Buttons

     

    Design – Build quality on the Speck CandyShell is a bit lacking.

    Speck CandyShell Review - Poor Build QualityThe Speck CandyShell will show wear and tear quite easily. When you take the case out of the packaging, it’s this shiny, glossy looking case but then you put it in your pocket and take it out immediately and it looks like you bought a second hand case. The glossy nature of the Speck also seems to a wonderful repository for your naturally occurring hair and face oil so if after a day, it feels a little greasy.

    Now, on top of that, the case is a little more difficult to install when compared to other cases so you end up flexing the case a bit more and we’ve noticed that certain parts of the case seem to show that wear and tear from taking your iPhone in and out of the case.

    Protection – Will it protect your iPhone 6 from a 6ft face first drop? Nope.

    Speck CandyShell Review - Drop Rating IssuesWe’re not entirely convinced with Specks claims of protection with the Speck Candyshell. Their website and packaging has lots of logos saying that their cases are drop rated but never mention how high you can actually drop the cases. While filming the video portion of the Speck CandyShell review, our iPhone 6’s touchscreen actually broke during one a 6ft face first drop test. Despite that, we’re still very confident that our iPhone 6 will survive the occasional day-to-day drop from 4ft (or texting height)

    In terms of screen protection, the Speck Candysehll has some pretty significant edges which extends approx. 1/8 inch past the touch screen. This edges is pretty significant when compared to other cases so the screen protection is going to be better on this case. However, Speck does not include a screen protector for this case.

    Functionality – Accessing your iPhone in this case won’t be a problem.

    SpeckCandyShellReviewiPhone6AccessThe best part of the Speck CandyShell is the access that it offers your iPhone 6 inside the case. With that being said, we have to mention that it doesn’t do any better than other slim iPhone 6 cases. We’re only saying this because the protection and design of the case is lower, especially for such a popular case.

    The only thing that we’ve noticed about this case is that the edges on the case are so high that it feels like you’re putting the iPhone 6 in a bowl. The edges are quite noticeable and given the rounded features of the iPhone 6, having a case that puts this odd edge to the device seems odd to us.

    We compared the Speck CandyShell for the iPhone 6 against the iPhone 5 version and we found that the edges of the case are as high but on the iPhone 6 version, they sit closer to the touchable area of the iPhone which makes the edges more pronounce.

    Have questions about our Speck CandyShell Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page.

    25 Comments

    25 Comments

    1. Doobie

      October 18, 2014 at 10:03 pm

      What about the incipio dualpro ? It is pretty slim two layers protective case with 4ft militery drop test , i’d like to hear what do you think because i looked at the uag,speck and spigen review and it seems the incipio have better dust protection
      I’m looking for a iphone case , in my 5s i had spigen slim armor s which was excellent due to the face dust didnt came in and temperd glass screen protector, one year with 4 ft drops and he was still without scratch

    2. Eric

      October 18, 2014 at 10:34 pm

      Bummer!!! Sorry about your phone!

      Thanks so much for these reviews, Aaron. Awesome info.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 19, 2014 at 1:16 am

        I was a little shocked it broke but I’ve got a new one. Thank goodness for Apple Care!

    3. doobie

      October 21, 2014 at 9:23 am

      just got my new iphone 6 4.7″ with the incipio dualpro, the case fills a little bit slicki but very comfortable in the hand, i think the minimalistic look works amazing for me and accessing to the iphone buttons feel very good and you can feel you are pushing and hear the click. one hand usage is also ok especially when using apple rescaling option (douple click on the touch id) the case it self is fitted good to the iphone and not include lots of cutouts so i think dust won’t be a major problem ,the edges are high enough to protect the screen and still gives accesses to the whole screen, i’m very happy with this case, i compared it to my friend uag and to my ipad mini retina though armor and he is more dust proof and designed better for my taste

      • Aaron Ho

        October 21, 2014 at 12:26 pm

        Thanks for the comment! The DualPro is pretty good, we have one for the iPhone 6 and 6+ though we did snap the plastic right above the camera cutout. Just be careful when you’re take the case apart not to put too much pressure on it. Let me know how it fares after a few months worth of usage!

        • Doobie

          October 25, 2014 at 12:41 pm

          I don’t think it will get through fewmonths, here’s the thing in the past days iv’e used incipio fualpro, uag , pure gear dualtek and switcheasy numbers.
          It doest matter how protective the case will be, if the case has no good grip its not worth for me, the incipio and the uag are too much slick in my hand and i fill the’ll gonna slip any second, the pure gear dual tek got a nice grippers in the sides but he added too much bulk cause of his special protection which is good for falling, less for dust. And last the most cheapest and smallest case, switcheasy numbers, doesn’t add bulk or weight , full silcone/tpu cover means cutouts only for mute button , speaker, lightning and headphones jack, the lightning and headphones jack are nit seald but protected with some enclousure so dust or small amount of water cant get in… And he is not slick at all… So i dont know how high he can be fall from but the chance you’ll drop him us very small as i see it, right now i consider to check casemate tough or melcko kublat, waiting for lifeproof fre pics abd dimensions

    4. Michael

      October 22, 2014 at 4:35 am

      The Speck Candyshell Grip has a better design over the standard Candyshell in terms of traction when holding the phone or placing it on any giving surface…especially smooth, hard surfaces. This significantly decreases the phone from sliding around/off and incurring damage. Have you had a chance to review that case? Also, I’ve been trying to find a dealer that sells the new Speck MightyShell. This is slightly thicker than the Candyshell and thus offers additional protection by incorporating a silicone bumper around the entire perimeter of the case. Any possible future reviews for the MightyShell?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 24, 2014 at 2:08 pm

        I do agree that the Grip has a better design. I am waiting for the MightyShells to be available online. Once they are, I’m going to get one.

    5. Juan

      November 1, 2014 at 10:54 pm

      Can u do a review on the speck candyshell grip case.?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 2, 2014 at 9:55 pm

        It’s on the list. Stay tuned.

    6. 2muchCoffee4sleep

      November 6, 2014 at 4:24 pm

      Thanks for this review.

      I’m torn over whether or not to get this case now.

      I really love their “ case with a picture of a nebula on the back, but if it gets scratched up and looks ugly it defeats the purpose of having a cool looking case.

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2014 at 4:30 pm

        Is there a Grip version of it? That would wear a bit better.

    7. Brenda

      November 12, 2014 at 7:04 pm

      I am new to the world of smartphones. Yes, I am one of those. I just got the iphone 6+ and am completely confused on the world of cases! I am pretty careful with things, but I also have two kids, so I want to protect my phone. I just came across your reviews and am so thankful to have found this website! There are so many options I just do not know where to begin. I also do not want to spend a fortune on the case. My latest cases I have been researching are the Speck Candyshell Grip, Marblue Elite, rooCase Slim Xeno and rooCase Kapsul Series. Do you have any thoughts or reviews on any of these cases? Any advice you could give would be greatly appreciated because I am completely confused and pretty much exhausted from looking!

      • Aaron Ho

        November 12, 2014 at 10:43 pm

        Hey Brenda. Surprisingly, I haven’t reviewed any of the cases that you’ve listed. How tough do you want the case? Do you mind it being a bit bulky (bulkier means it’ll be a bit tougher)?

        • Brenda

          November 13, 2014 at 6:13 pm

          I do not mind it being a little bulky if it helps protect the phone. However, I do not want it to be so bulky that I have a hard time holding it. Then there is the other category of screen protectors. I am a mass of confusion! Thank you so much for responding to me. I appreciate any help you can offer!

          • Aaron Ho

            November 13, 2014 at 11:50 pm

            We’ve got our Top 10 post here: http://www.mobilereviews-eh.ca/otterbox-symmetry-review-iphone-6/

            I’ve used all of those cases and they’re all pretty good. In terms of screen protectors, they’re generally good for protecting your iPhone screen from shattering. i haven’ started to review screen protectors just yet but I personally prefer the the glass ones as they are close to what the actually touch screen feels like.

            • Brenda

              November 14, 2014 at 6:56 pm

              Thank you so much for all of the info! I have made a decision on the Thule. It is more than I wanted to spend, but since I am 6ft tall I feel more comfortable with that ‘drop zone’. Thank you so much for all your help! Your website is awesome. My kids loved watching your videos. I reminded them never to do that with mom’s phone. 🙂

    8. Semir Palic

      January 25, 2015 at 12:59 am

      This case is not good

    9. Alexander

      November 1, 2015 at 5:03 pm

      Thank you for the review, Aaron.

      What do you think about Speck GammaShell case? It looks like an advanced version of the Candyshell which is not as sleek and as glossy as Candyshell is. Could you please review GammaShell?

    10. Juke

      November 11, 2015 at 5:02 am

      Hmmm – I’d somewhat disagree with you; Speck’s Candyshell has been my ‘go to’ case since they 1st came out & I’ve never been disappointed in the solid protection it has offered through four iPhones – though I WILL agree with you on one thing; almost as soon as it is out of the package, it shows every minor scratch & scuff, and, as you said, looks like a 2nd hand case almost immediately; that’s always been a pet peeve. That said, I always use a good screen protector along with my case, so I’ve never had any problems.

      P.S. – LOVE this site! I’ve always wanted to see someone put good, solid, case reviews all together in one place like this! Great job!

      • Aaron Ho

        November 14, 2015 at 7:56 pm

        Thx for the comment and kind words!

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top