iPhone

Spigen Tough Armor Review – iPhone 6 cases

 

In our Spigen Tough Armor review, we tell you why the edges of the case are great yet awful at the same time


The Spigen Tough Armor is one of the slimmer iPhone 6 cases that we’ve come across which makes this case easier to put into your pocket. Between all the other cases that we’ve seen and reviewed for the iPhone 6, we can safely say that the Spigen Tough Armor looks way more expensive that it actually is and the lip of the case is pretty minimal.

Now, despite being sold as a tough case, the Spigen Tough Armor isn’t rated to any drop specification and generally offers a bit less protection when compared to other cases. We did drop the iPhone 6 in the case and its find but still, the lack of drop specification is annoying.

We did have an issue with our Spigen Tough Armor as one of the edges of the case was fairly sharp. This is probably a flaw in the production of our specific case but its definitely worth noting given that the device your’e putting into the case is incredibly slim while the case is sharp? Doesn’t make any sense.

Based on our time with this case, we gave it a score of 4.1 Eh’s out of 5. It’s not the highest rated slim iPhone 6 case that we’ve come across but it’s pretty good. The only case higher is the Urban Armor Gear and the Spigen Tough Armor is on par with the Speck CandyShell. After we go through a couple more features, we’ll tell you what I think about the Spigen when compared to the UAG and Speck cases.

  Compare With other
     
     Spigen Tough Armor
     
    Header
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    PricePrice:
    $34.99 USD
    Similar Cases
    Top Buy Buttons
    ProsPros:
    - Fits the iPhone 6 fairly well
    - Well designed
    - Looks more expensive than it actually is
    ConsCons:
    - Edges are a little sharp on one side of the case
    - Not drop rated despite being marketed as a tough case
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - The polycarbonate back will get scratched up over time
    - Will wear a little quicker than other cases
    Design Rating
    DESIGN
    (Spigen Tough Armor)
    Weight/Bulk/InstallationWeight/Bulk/Install (4/5):
    - Adds a minimal amount of thickness to the iPhone 6
    - Will add approx. 1/4 inch around the entire iPhone
    - As wide as the Otterbox Symmetry
    Build QualityBuild Quality (4.5/5):
    - The Spigen Tough Armor fits the iPhone 6 fairly well
    - Buttons are easily accessibly through the case
    - Skid pads on the bottom also help the case from slipping off flat surfaces
    - One of the edges is a bit sharp on the case
    Protection Rating
    PROTECTION
    (Spigen Tough Armor)
    General ProtectionGeneral Protection (2/5):
    - Back of the case has a cutout that may let dust/debris into the case
    - Spigen Tough Armor is not drop rated
    - Lip of the case only extends 6mm past the iPhone 6 screen
    - No screen protector
    Functionality Rating
    FUNCTIONALITY
    (Spigen Tough Armor)
    iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (4.5/5):
    - Able to access all buttons on the iPhone 6
    - Able to use slightly larger headphones jacks with the Spigen Tough Armor
    - Back of the case provides enough texture to prevent accidental slips out of your hand
    Screen FunctionalityScreen Functionality (5/5):
    - Low edges do not get in the way of the iPhone 6's touchscreen. They don't get in the way when compared to other slim iPhone 6 cases
    Bottom Purchase Buttons

     

    Design – The Spigen Tough Armor is a simple but elegant looking iPhone case

    As we mentioned earlier, the Spigen Tough Armor is a pretty slim case. It’s one of the slimmest cases out there but in terms of bulk, it’s as big as the Otterbox Symmetry but it handles better than the Symmetry.

    In terms of build quality, the Spigen Tough Armor fits well together, the edges of the case are far enough away for you to install a screen protector without having to worry about it scratching it off and despite the fact that there is a sharp edge on the case, it seems to wear well. Sam Symonds on Facebook was concerned about it scratching but we think its something you won’t have to be worried about.

    We found that the case was fairly easier to install when compared to other cases in its class and the rubber skids on the corners of the case reduce the chances that the case is going to slide off a table accidentally.

    Protection – Yep, it uses “Air” as protection.

    We’re not going to complain about the lack of protection rating in this Spigen Tough Armor review anymore but we will highlight Spigen’s use of air in their case. On the packaging of the case, they highlight “Air Cushion Technology” and from what I can tell it means that the corners of the case are hollow and so when you put your iPhone into the case, there’s an air pocket that acts like a piston that reduces shock? Now if that’s truly the case, than this feature would be very useful in protecting your iPhone 6 but since the case isn’t drop rated, its really just a bunch of marketing verbiage.

    In terms of dust protection, there’s a cutout on the back of the case which might let dust in. It’s nice having the Apple logo exposed but there’s a change it might get scratched up, like in our key scratch test. We’ll also mention that Spigen doesn’t include a screen protector.

    Functionality – Getting to your iPhone in this case is a breeze. We especially like the low edges of the case.

    In terms of functionality, I like the accessibility of my iPhone in the case. The buttons are easy to use but the best part for me is the low edges of the case. However, there’s a double edged sword to this lips as it only extends a couple mm’s past the iPhone’s touchscreen which means there isn’t much screen protection. Some maybe ok with this design feature but others who are worried about screen protection and fall on the slightly more clumsy side, you might not want to get this case.

    In terms of screen accessibility, there’s nothing to really talk about as you can to your iPhone 6’s touchscreen easily. With all things considered, we give this a score of 4.1 Eh’s out of 5. We like this case better than the Speck Candyshell because its thinner and lighter, doesn’t suffer from the “greasiness” of the Candysell, isn’t as bulky as the Otterbox Symmetry and offers better screen accessibility than the Urban Armor Gear cases for the iPhone 6.

    Have questions about our Spigen Tough Armor Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page.

    35 Comments

    35 Comments

    1. Odomus Prime

      October 12, 2014 at 3:13 am

      Really dig the reviews! I was looking at this case for my wife, but she (like me) always lays her phone down on the screen side. We use screen shields but our previous cases had high lips (like the Defender and Survivor) so this was no issue. Is the perimeter lip on this phone high enough that it will keep the screen itself from coming into contact with a smooth surface, like a table??

    2. mohamed

      October 14, 2014 at 10:23 pm

      hi
      i like ur review so much
      plz make review about spigen glas tr slim for i phone 6
      thank u so much

      • Aaron Ho

        October 15, 2014 at 3:16 pm

        I will see what I can do.

        • Eric Zeng

          October 31, 2014 at 12:17 am

          Hi Aaron, I would like to see a review on the GLAS.tR Slim screen protector as well.

          http://www.amazon.com/iPhone-Protector-Spigen%C2%AE-GLAS-tR-Rounded/dp/B00JH87X3S

          There is a lot of controversy and angry customers regarding this screen protector. Because the iPhone 6 has rounded edges, this flat piece of glass can only cover so much. Thus, the screen protector leaves some vulnerable areas uncovered. Could you do a review on this 9H glass screen protector?

          Thank you very much, Aaron!

          Eric

          • Aaron Ho

            November 2, 2014 at 9:52 pm

            I will see what I can do. A lot of the screen protectors don’t go over the rounded edges of the iPhone 6.

    3. Josh

      October 21, 2014 at 4:09 am

      Your headers for the paragraph sub-sections are still the same from the UAG review.

    4. mohamed

      October 23, 2014 at 11:05 pm

      thank u so much for all review
      can u plz tell me wut is best for iphone6 plus…uag or spigen neo hybrid metal
      plz if u can make review about spign neo hybrid metal
      thank u so much

      • Aaron Ho

        October 24, 2014 at 2:06 pm

        I will see what I can do.

    5. mohamed

      October 24, 2014 at 7:24 pm

      thank u for answear

    6. jered63

      October 26, 2014 at 6:13 am

      what is your go to case for the iphone 6?
      and can you do a review on the spigen neo hybrid?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 27, 2014 at 8:28 pm

        I am working on the Spigen Neo Hybrid review. Actually on getting the case, then the review.

    7. jered63

      October 26, 2014 at 8:09 pm

      what iphone 6 case is your go to case
      and if i were to use a tempered glass screen protector with the spigen tough armor will it be too thick that the screen protector is higher than the case itself?

      • Aaron Ho

        October 27, 2014 at 8:24 pm

        It might be higher than the case itself. The gap between the edge of the iPhone and the case is about 2mm and that’ pushing the limit of the class screen protectors.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 27, 2014 at 8:26 pm

        In terms of my goto case? I don’t have one right now, everyday is a different case and for the most part, they all do the same thing. Generally, I stay away from the Otterbox and Speck cases.

    8. Ivy

      November 4, 2014 at 5:02 am

      My iPhone 6 plus just bent last week from putting it in my jeans. Apple was kind enough to replace it with a new one. I was wondering what is the best case to prevent bending. I was thing if I should get this Spigen Tough Armor or Tech21’s Classic Check. Any case recommendation to help prevent bending?

      • Jered63

        November 7, 2014 at 7:28 am

        I’ve had the spigen tough armor on my iphone 6 for about a week now and I have had no problems with it. I am very comfortable with my phone in this case just in case I drop it (which I have already) and in case it can bend. I also think the case looks the best out of the cases mobile reviews eh has done. Over all a protective case that looks really nice as well

    9. mohamed

      November 28, 2014 at 6:34 pm

      hi
      what is the best screen protacter for iphone 6 plus?glass screen.to used with spigen tough armor or neo hybrid metal
      thank u so much

      • Aaron Ho

        November 28, 2014 at 6:42 pm

        Sorry, I haven’t tested either of those yet.

    10. Stephen

      December 7, 2014 at 4:54 pm

      Similar copy was the Luvvitt.

      Should have rating of one handed review and/or slip/grip.

      This type of case is actually a little slippery in the hand, though it’s not as slippery as other cases.

      • Aaron Ho

        December 8, 2014 at 2:06 pm

        Thanks for the comment. We take into the account the handling of the case in the iPhone functionality/Build Quality portions. I’ll make sure I explicitly state what I think of the 1-handed handling of the cases.

        • Stephen

          December 8, 2014 at 2:30 pm

          Thanks Aaron. By the way, I think this site is one of the most useful on the web.

          When I think of the people on craigslist selling their 20 “iphone 5” covers for $20; you just know that person took 3-6 months fiddling around with cases they bought on Amazon – just reading reviews, rejecting one case after another.

          I think you’re spot on with one of your comments about size. The large(r) iphone 6 (never mind the humongous “plus”) is such a new animal in the hand. I can’t imagine how women with smaller hands handle these easily one-handed without having a sure-grip kind of case design or one of those (new term to me) “bunker ring” holders.

          The Seidio “Surface” holster you reviewed “http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00N584KCI (I like the easy clip) with maybe a Speck Candyshell “grip” case (soon to be reviewed by you)…. might be the ticket.

    11. Jameskatt

      January 1, 2015 at 8:26 pm

      The thin lip of this case makes it unusable with a tempered glass screen protector. With the screen protector the lip becomes no lip and you cannot place the iPhone on its face since the screen protector will get scratched.

      • Aaron Ho

        January 2, 2015 at 5:10 pm

        Which screen protector did you use? The Spigen one?

        • Howard Moftich

          October 26, 2015 at 12:09 am

          I just measured mine w/ a digital caliper and the Spigen 9H glass cover will stay 0.2mm below the lip of the Tough Armor case on the iPhone 6.

    12. Ferris

      February 18, 2015 at 7:46 pm

      Hi, I can’t find reviews to the Tough Armor FX anywhere.
      Could you make one?? I think it’s important because it combines front and back protection.
      Would be great!!

      • Aaron Ho

        February 19, 2015 at 8:25 pm

        I will put it on the list.

    13. Pingback: How tough is the Spigen Tough Armor for the iPhone 6? – Drop Test, Scratch Test & Review

    14. Pingback: Spigen Tough Armor FX Review

    15. Kris Kisatsky

      June 9, 2015 at 3:42 pm

      Bought the Spigen Tough Armor FX with my iPhone 6 a month ago. iPhone 6 is my first smartphone. After 14 days, I dropped it for the first time as I was about to set it down when I came into my house and began to take my boots off. It bounced off the carpeted step I was about to set it down on and fell 2 to 3 feet to the ceramic tile floor. The screen had shattered into dozens of pieces. In my opinion, this case is good for nothing except keeping the back side and edges of the phone from getting scratched up. New screen at Apple store was $116 including tax. Lesson learned. Getting a Ballistic Hard Core or Otterbox Defender based on your reviews, which are generally awesome.

    16. Garry Amann

      November 1, 2015 at 4:57 pm

      I use the tough armor case with Sir Lancelot glass on a 6+. I stumbled on steps with the phone in my hand and glass down. My full weight landed on the back of the phone scraping the front on rough granite. The case protected the phone from any damage. The glass protector was scratched and the lower part destroyed (scraped away), but the apple glass is fine. So the lip on the case was enough to work with the glass protector to save the phone. And the case was strong enough to have a couple hundred pounds of force slam into it and survive undamaged.

    17. Nate

      October 11, 2016 at 1:09 am

      Website says it is now drop rates to MIL-STD 810G-516.6 military drop-test standards; whatever that means. Might want to update the review.

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top