iPhone

Tech 21 Classic Shell Review – iPhone 6 cases

 

The Tech 21 Classic Shell is one of the best slim iPhone cases around

Watch the Tech 21 Classic Shell Review on YouTube

The Tech 21 Classic Shell for the iPhone 6 is one of the best cases that we’ve reviewed. Its slim and will provide enough protection to face everyday bumps and drops. This case has been highly recommended by many of our viewers and we can see why. The case is quite slim and it offers great access to your iPhone 6. We’re generally very impressed with the build quality of the case but there’s parts of the case that may annoy certain users but all in all, the case is very well built.

We will note that despite all the verbiage on Tech 21’s website about impacts, they don’t explicitly state how high we can drop our iPhone in there cases which is a little worrisome and annoying. Based on our time with the case, we’ve given it a score of 4.4 Eh’s out of 5 which means it beats out eh Urban Armor gear, the Speck Candyshell, Otterbox Commuter and the Spigen Tough Armor.

  Compare With other
     
     Tech 21 Classic Shell
     
    Header
    (out of 5)

    Full Review
    PricePrice:
    $34.99 USD
    Similar Cases
    Top Buy Buttons
    ProsPros:
    - Almost the perfect case
    - Great build quality
    - Scratch resistant back is nice
    ConsCons:
    - Minor build quality issues (really minor)
    Potential ProblemsPotential Problems:
    - None that we can find/think of
    Design Rating
    DESIGN
    (Tech 21 Classic Shell)
    Weight/Bulk/InstallationWeight/Bulk/Install (4/5):
    - One of the thinnest cases for the iPhone 6
    - Will less than 1/8 inch around your entire iPhone 6
    - TheTech 21 Classic Shell is quite flexible which makes it easy to install the case
    Build QualityBuild Quality (4.75/5):
    - Scratch resistant back is a nice feature
    - The Tech 21 Classic Shell fits the iPhone 6 like a glove
    - Good blend of smooth/rubbery parts. Won't slip out of your hand easily or be a hassle to use with pockets
    Protection Rating
    PROTECTION
    (Tech 21 Classic Shell)
    General ProtectionGeneral Protection (3/5):
    - Tech 21 doesn't explicitly state the drop height of the case
    - D30 materials don't extend past the bottom of the iPhone 6
    - Small lip extends a couple of mm's past the iPhone's touchscreen
    - No screen protector included
    Functionality Rating
    FUNCTIONALITY
    (Tech 21 Classic Shell)
    iPhone FunctionalityiPhone Functionality (5/5):
    - Able to access all buttons on the iPhone 6
    - Able to use larger headphones jacks and 3rd party lightning cables easily with the Tech 21 Classic Shell
    - Cover version of the case may be irritating for some users
    Screen FunctionalityScreen Functionality (4.5/5):
    - The Tech 21 Classic Shell doesn't get in the way of accessing the iPhone's touchscreen
    Bottom Purchase Buttons

     

    Design – Designed to fit your iPhone like a glove

    In terms of design, this is a very slim case. In fact, the only other case that’s slimmer is the Apple silicone case and the Incipio Octane. Cases that are just as thin include the Thule Atmos X3 and Spigen Tough Armor. The case is quite flexible which we like and it fits the iPhone 6 like a glove.

    We will note that the D30 band that runs along the edge of the case isn’t uniform. Certain parts seem thinner than others but shouldn’t be a deciding factor for people viewing this Tech 21 Classic Shell review. One of the best parts of the case is that the back is scratch resistant which sets it apart from other cases like the Speck Candyshell.

    The Tech 21 Classic Shell Cover version that we reviewed is basically the same version of the Tech 21 Classic Shell with out the cover.

    Protection – Impactology sounds great but how high can you drop it?

    As we mentioned before, we don’t know how tough this case actually is but from everything that we’ve seen in other videos and on their website we’re assuming that its pretty tough. In our review, video, we dropped it several times (only one was shown) and the iPhone 6 in the case still works.

    In terms of screen protection, the lips are quite low but it will still keep your iPhone screen off a flat surface if placed face first. Tech 21 doesn’t include a screen protector for you to use with your iPhone and given the smaller edge of the case, getting a third party screen protector might be worth it.

    Functionality – Accessing your iPhone like there was no case there

    Getting to your iPhone inside this case is a breeze. In fact, we’re going to be hard pressed to find anything to write in this section because its like the case isn’t there.

    We do have to add that the cover version of the Tech 21 Classic Shell will be a bit annoying to use, especially for people who enjoy taking pictures as it’s difficult to use the case with the cover while trying to capture in the moment iPhone 6 photographs.

    Have questions about our Tech 21 Classic Shell Review? Please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page.

    36 Comments

    36 Comments

    1. Helmer

      October 27, 2014 at 9:18 pm

      Hey Aaron,

      I didn’t really know where to put this (there’s no contact page afaik), so I just wanted to suggest you through this little comment to consider making a sort of “Wall of Fame” or a section of similar concept, where you put all the (top) reviewed products in a list.

      If you already have this and I missed it, uh…, but if you are interested, you might want to check http://www.innerfidelity.com/content/innerfidelitys-wall-fame for reference.

      • Aaron Ho

        October 27, 2014 at 9:35 pm

        Thanks for the suggestion. That’s a great idea!

        I’m in the process of working on my Top 10 lists which is similar but once I move back into my house, I’m going to see where I do that wall!

        • Helmer

          October 27, 2014 at 9:40 pm

          Sounds good, I’ll be looking!

    2. Juan

      November 2, 2014 at 1:30 am

      Which case do u recommend me getting the incipio octane or the tech 21 case.?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 2, 2014 at 9:55 pm

        Tech 21 Classic Shell.

        • Juan

          November 2, 2014 at 10:10 pm

          Why is the tech 21 case better than the incipo octane.?

    3. Nate

      November 3, 2014 at 11:27 am

      Of all the cases you’ve tested, which case do you use on your phone?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 4, 2014 at 12:23 am

        Honestly, I don’t know. I haven’t had any down time with the iPhone 6’s yet but it might be the Element Ion case (if they fix the build quality issue) and the Thule Atmos X3.

    4. Ivy

      November 4, 2014 at 5:03 am

      My iPhone 6 plus just bent last week from putting it in my jeans. Apple was kind enough to replace it with a new one. I was wondering what is the best case to prevent bending. I am thinking if I should get this Spigen Tough Armor or Tech21′s Classic Check. Any case recommendation to help prevent bending?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 6, 2014 at 4:25 pm

        I don’t think any case will prevent bending. We just recently put an iPhone 6 Plus in a Griffin Survivor All-Terrain (the toughest case we have so far) and sat on it a dozen times. The iPhone still bent.

    5. Greg

      November 16, 2014 at 5:32 am

      FYI – The Video Review link goes to your review of the Speck Candy Shell.

    6. David

      November 16, 2014 at 10:21 pm

      Hi man, really good and helpful website.

      I will buy the iPhone 6+ and was looking at best cases available in the UK. I have read the majority of your reviews and checked the Tech 21 Classic Shell.

      However, I found a Tech 21 Rugged Classic Tactical. Any views on this one?

      Many thanks.

      David

      • Aaron Ho

        November 17, 2014 at 5:35 pm

        I’ve heard good things about it from my viewers. I haven’t tested it personally but am looking to get one soon.

    7. Anni

      November 17, 2014 at 7:50 am

      Hey Aaron, will you do a review on the new Tech 21 Evo Mesh. Its only sold by Apple so far, its supposed to be better than the D3O (dee 3 oh) technology. http://store.apple.com/us/product/HGMU2ZM/A/tech21-evo-mesh-case-drop-protective-for-iphone-6-clearwhite?fnode=47
      Also were you planning to do any caseology cases?

      • Aaron Ho

        November 17, 2014 at 5:35 pm

        Thanks for the link. Maybe I’ll pick one up in the next few days.

        For the Caseology cases, I’ll see about getting some once they release some iPhone 6/6 Plus cases

    8. Iphone6user97

      November 26, 2014 at 4:28 pm

      I ordered this case last Tuesday and it still hasn’t came it yet

    9. Iphone6user97

      November 26, 2014 at 4:29 pm

      When will you think it will come in

      • Aaron Ho

        November 26, 2014 at 5:19 pm

        I’m really not sure.

    10. Justin

      November 29, 2014 at 6:22 pm

      I would like to see your review on the 6 plus case

      • Aaron Ho

        November 29, 2014 at 7:45 pm

        I probably won’t do one for the 6 plus since the cases are almost identical. Pretty much whatever I say for the 6 case is going to be relevant for the 6 Plus version.

    11. Rob

      December 21, 2014 at 11:57 pm

      Also would like to see the tech 21 evo mesh from apple site, would be nice to see the white edged version to see if the white will stay white. Any update on you getting this case for iphone 6?

      • Aaron Ho

        December 28, 2014 at 4:32 pm

        I’ve got the smoke grey that I’ve been using for about a month. Just need the time to create the review for it.

    12. Erica

      December 22, 2014 at 11:46 pm

      Hi, can someone tell me the difference between the different models made by tech 21, like they all look practically the same, and the descriptions are all alike. So can anyone answer this might be idiotic question?

      • Aaron Ho

        December 28, 2014 at 4:34 pm

        I think there’s really only three versions, the Classic Shell, Tactical and Evo Mesh. I have the Classic Shell and Evo Mesh and generally they are very similar but they’re made out of different materials. The Classic Shell has a ton of different variations but are all made from the same material.

    13. Lulu

      December 28, 2014 at 10:59 pm

      Which case is better the tech 21 evo mesh case using flex shock or the tech 21 classic shell using d30 material? Which would you recommend? I have both and I thought that the flex shock was loose around the sides and the classic shell was thicker, so both has its pros and cons.

    14. Tyler Stahl

      February 4, 2015 at 12:28 am

      This is a nice case. But I would love to see a review of the tech21 impactology Patriot case. I think everyone and me would be surprised by the drop test. I have this case but will not try it on my own. A shoutout would be nice if you do a review. Thank you and good luck.

      • Aaron Ho

        February 10, 2015 at 11:20 pm

        I have the patriot on my desk…don’t have an iPhone 6 Plus in decent condition to test it yet.

        • Tyler Stahl

          February 11, 2015 at 12:34 am

          Thanks I’ve been waiting to find a good review of this case. So far you are the best person i have seen test a case. Good luck

    15. maria

      March 19, 2015 at 7:03 pm

      hello,

      I need to know if tech 21 Is better than otterbox commuter I can’t decide..

    16. Carol

      March 22, 2015 at 2:57 pm

      Hello, I was just wondering. This case is obviously protected at the bumpers but what if the phone were to be dropped flat on its back or straight on its screen. Would it still be protected or would my phone be severely impacted?

      • Aaron Ho

        March 23, 2015 at 2:30 pm

        If you drop it back/face first on smooth concrete, I think it will be fine. However, if you don’t have a screen protector and you drop it face first in a gravel parking lot, you’re going to end up with a shattered screen.

    17. Brittany

      April 7, 2015 at 4:46 am

      Is there really any difference between the Classic Shell (without the cover) and Classic Check (besides the obvious pattern and color differences)…? Or is the back of the Classic Check like the Evo Mesh?

      When I say this, I mean is one more scratch resistant than the other or something along those lines? The protection seems to be pretty good, but I guess I’m more concerned about whether or not I can put my phone in my purse without getting those annoying scratches.

      Thanks! ^_^

    18. Gerald

      October 31, 2015 at 12:49 am

      Is this case better than the Otterbox Symmetry?

    19. JENNIFER

      January 11, 2016 at 7:17 pm

      Hi Aaron, I Have Been Reading Alot About The Tech 21 Cell Phone Cases,Which Tech 21 Is a Good 1? I Need A Case That Will Pass The Drop Test 50-75 Ft., And If Rain Gets On The Cell Phone It Won’t Be Broken. Most Cell Phones Aren’t Water-Proof, Or Rain-Proof. I Hope I can Find A Cellphone Case That Will Cover All Bases. Thank You In Advance, Jennifer

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    To Top