Product Comparisons

Top 10 Slim iPhone 6(s+) Cases – Updated June 2016

Out of the 100’s of cases that we’ve reviewed, what are the 10 best slim iPhone 6(s+) cases? (Updated June 2016)


*June 2016 Update – Added the new #1 – the Rhinoshield SolidSuit Leather
*May 2016 Update – Added in the current Top 10 cases

At Mobile Reviews Eh!, we base everything we do on actual usage which means our reviews and content take FOREVER to come out. But rest assured, when we publish something, you can be confident that you will know the best and worst parts of the product.

The list below has ten of the best slim cases that we’ve used for the iPhone 6(s+). There are many others that are highly rated but didn’t make the list so check out the full list of cases that we’ve reviewed.

If you’re looking for all the cases that we’ve reviewed for each class, you can find them here for slim cases, for tough cases and waterproof cases.

We evaluate all the cases, in the same manner, to ensure consistency and each product get used for at least a week before we sit down and create a review for the product.

#1 – Rhinoshield SolidSuit Leather

Rhinoshield SolidSuit Leather Review - iPhone 6sThe Rhinoshield SolidSuit Leather is the BEST iPhone 6s(+) case we have ever used. It’s slim, light and provides an incredible amount of drop protection for your iPhone.

Our biggest complaint about the Rhinoshield Playproof was the lack of grip on the case, but the SolidSuit Leather addresses that problem. Using the iPhone in the SolidSuit is an absolute joy. Click here for the full review or check to see if Amazon has any in stock!

#2 – Rhinoshield Playproof

Rhinoshield Playproof Review - iPhone 6 case reviews - ThicknessThe Rhinoshield Playproof is one of the toughest cases that we’ve reviewed. We’ve dropped an iPhone in the case over 40+ times on concrete and rock and the iPhone still works. In fact, the Playproof is most likely tougher than most tough cases that cost 50% more. It’s light and offers great access to your iPhone and comes with lots of customizable options. The only downside is that this iPhone case is a little slicker than others which means it may fall out of your hands easier. Get it on Amazon now or read up on the full review.

We’re so confident with this case that we dropped an iPhone over 40 times from heights varying between 3ft to 15ft and the iPhone used in the video still works. It’s that tough!

#3 – Spigen Ultra Hybrid Tech

Spigen Ultra Hybrid Tech ReviewThe Ultra Hybrid Tech is a slim Spigen case that is the brightest iPhone case that we’ve ever reviewed. The Ultra Hybrid Tech is a clear iPhone case that offers excellent access to your iPhone. It’s also drop rated though the clear back in the case will show wear and tear a little quicker than other cases.

We say this is the brightest case that we’ve reviewed because the flash from your iPhone will reflect throughout the case, which is perfect for times where seeing your phone ring is more important than hearing it!

For our Spigen Ultra Hybrid Tech review, we’ve given this case a score of 4.6 Eh’s out of 5 which makes this case one of the top reviewed cases to date. In our opinion, this is the best Spigen case for your iPhone out of the several that we’ve reviewed.

See what other colors Amazon
has in stock!

#4 – Thule Atmos X4

Thule Atmos X4 Review - iPhone accessThe Thule Atmos X4 is a slim, tough iPhone case that comes with a screen protector but isn’t waterproof.

The X4 is the slighlty tougher version of the X3 as it comes with a screen protector and still has corners that are drop-rated to 6 ft. The buttons on the case are exceptional, and the adhesive screen protector is top notch regarding protection, but we’ve got a small usability issue which is more noticeable on the iPhone 6 than 6 Plus.

For our Thule Atmos X4 Review, we’ve given this case a score of 4.6 Eh’s out of 5. This is currently the highest rated slim case that we’ve reviewed as it edges out the Rhinoshield Crashguard slightly, is higher than Thule’s own Atmos X3 and is higher than the Incipio NGP, Tech 21 Classic Shell, and any Otterbox case.

Get it now on Amazon!

#5 – Spigen Tough Armor Tech

Spigen Tough Armor Tech Review - DesignThe Spigen Tough Armor Tech for the iPhone 6/6(s+) is one of Spigen’s newer cases, and we are happy to say, it’s solid. In fact, it’s probably the best tough Spigen case to date. The Tough Armor Tech is drop-rated, has port covers, has a speaker cutout that projects sound forward which is great for gamers. You can also find the buttons on your iPhone easily (unlike the original Spigen Tough Armor).

For our Spigen Tough Armor Tech Review, we’ve given this case a score of 4.5 Eh’s out of 5. The Tough Armor Tech is one of the higher rated Spigen cases as it scores just a smidge under Aaron’s current favorite, the Spigen Ultra Hybrid Carbon and is way better than either the Tough and Slim Armors.

If you’re looking at other Spigen cases, check out the comparison tool we have for all the Spigen cases we’ve reviewed!

Get it now on Amazon!

#6 – Pong Radiation Sleek

Pong Radiation Case Review - iPhone 6 casesOther than killing your productivity, do you ever wonder if all the useless Facebook updates that you get on your iPhone are killing other things?

The Pong radiation case is a unique case because it has an antenna built into the case that’s supposed to provide relief against cell-phone radiation. That’s a unique feature that sets it apart from all the other cases out there but whether that is something you care about, the actual case portion of this Pong Radiation case feels very solid.

For this Pong case review, we’ve given it a score of 4.5 Eh’s out of 5. This means that the Sleek Pong Radiation case is one of the higher rated cases that we’ve reviewed, but there are a couple of things that will stop us from going out of our way to recommend it. Find out why in our full review.

Have the need to stop radiating yourself? See if Amazon has them in stock!

#7 – Expro by Onpro

EXPRO by ONPro Review - iPhone HandlingThe Expro is one of the thinnest cases that we’ve reviewed and yet feel comfortable enough to drop it from a decent height. It offers great access to your iPhone and handles quite well.

The edges of the case are quite rubbery, and the corners of the case are unique which improves one-handed usage. The thinness of the case does affect the screen protection as there isn’t much clearance for the iPhone’s screen when placed on a flat surface.

For our ExPro review, we’ve given this OnPro case a score of 4.5 Eh’s out of 5. It’s a “winning” case in our opinion. We know this case is in high demand, and they’re not always in stock on Amazon.

#8 – Thule Atmos X3

Thule Atmos X3 ReviewThe Thule Atmos X3 for the iPhone 5/5S was one of our favorite cases for that device. Does the iPhone 6 version of the Thule Atmos X3 hold up to that standard? Generally, yes!

During our testing period of the Thule Atmos X3 review, we were impressed with the design and handling of our iPhone inside the Atmos X3 case. The case feels thinner than it is and adds a minimal amount of bulk to your iPhone 6 concerning thickness. In addition to all that, the Atmos X3 provides drop protection of your iPhone 6 up to 6.6ft or 2 m.

With all that being said, for out Thule Atmox X3 review, we gave this case a score of 4.5 Eh’s out of 5. It doesn’t score as high as the Thule Atmos X4, but we know that you can get this case at a bargain sometimes.

See if Amazon has any on sale!

#9 – Griffin Survivor Core

Survivor Core Review - iPhone 6/6 PlusThe Survivor Core is a slim case made by Griffin that offers drop protection of 6.6 ft. To us, this seems a little crazy since it’s so thin/slim and similar cases with that level of drop protection are easily 2-3 times the size such as the Ballistic Urbanite and Tough Jacket and they’re twice as thick as the Survivor Core!

The buttons on the case are a little harder to use but do loosen a bit over time. The clear backs will show wear/tear a little quicker than other cases, and the white colored case may discolor over time.

Based on our time with this case, we gave it a score of 4.5 Eh’s out of 5. Its one of the better slim Griffin cases though the Griffin Journey would be a worthy alternative if you’re looking to get a Griffin case.

Get it now on Amazon!

#10 – Patchworks ITG Level

Patchworks ITG Level - iPhone 6 casesThe normal Patchworks ITG Level is a great case and is quite comparable to the Rhinoshield Playproof. There are two additional variations of the case which include the Level Pro, which allows you to carry a couple of cards and the Level Prestige, which is a fancier leather case.

The ITG Level is drop rated and slim which makes it perfect for somebody who doesn’t want to deal with the bulk of tougher cases. The back is quite slick and doesn’t have much texture so it will show wear and tear a little quicker than other cases.

For our Patchworks ITG Level review, we’ve given this case a score of 4.3 Eh’s out of 5. See if you can get one on Amazon!

Have any questions for our “Top 10 slim iPhone 6 cases” post? Leave them below or  ask them on our Google+ page or our Facebook page or our About Us page.

22 Comments

22 Comments

  1. Lisa Donovan

    November 11, 2014 at 3:41 am

    The MightyShell by Speck should be on this list. It’s an excellent all around case.

    • Aaron Ho

      November 11, 2014 at 3:03 pm

      Once we’re about to get that case in Canada and review it, we’ll put it on the list!

  2. Dale

    November 25, 2014 at 10:07 pm

    I see you’ve tested other Incipio models, but I wanted your opinion on the Incipio Stowaway Advance for the iPhone 6 Plus. I’ve looked through many of your reviews and have narrowed my choice down to the Urban Gear, Tech21, and maybe Incipio depending on your recommendation. Want something thin, yet drop protective. I like a bigger lip on the front side to protect the screen during drops and to set on flat surfaces upside down. Wouldn’t mind being able to carry at least one credit card, but not sure I will like the folio designs, as I think the flap would get to be a pain in the ass, especially when you want to take a quick picture. Also wouldn’t mind a kickstand, but don’t want to sacrifice protection for either of those two luxeries. Anyways, subscribed to your channel and look forward to your thoughts.

    • Aaron Ho

      November 26, 2014 at 3:50 pm

      Dale,

      We have a stowaway for the 5S and didn’t really like it. We liked the Stashback over it. The Speck wallet one was pretty nice as well.

      I’m hoping to get a few more card cases in the next few weeks (people have been asking for them) so do stay tuned.

      Aaron

  3. orville

    December 8, 2014 at 8:02 am

    Can you review the Rokform V.3 seems good, but like to see it reviewed.

    • Aaron Ho

      December 8, 2014 at 2:05 pm

      I’ve got 2 rockford cases on my desk. I’ll get to them probably next week.

  4. Eh-Oh

    January 16, 2015 at 3:56 pm

    Hey Aaron

    Thanks for all the amazing mobile reviews so far, they’re so good to watch and the best case reviews hands down!

    One question / request, would you mind reviewing the Incipio NGP? It’s getting a lot of attention from the other case reviewers and I noticed it’s one that’s not included on mobilereviews-eh.

    Any personal interest or plans to review this case?

    Would appreciate any thoughts you have on it.

    Thanks 🙂

  5. Justin

    March 5, 2015 at 3:01 pm

    Hi Aaron

    I’m a first-time messager here. My wife and I just got new iPhone’s…I got the 6 as i still actually use my phone as a phone and she got the 6+ because she uses hers for mostly watching videos and surfing the internet. Anyhow we having a terrible time trying to pick out the proper cases for our new phones. My old phone had an OtterBox Defender on it and worked very well protecting it but is incredibly bulky. After reviewing what seems like hundreds of potential cases I’ve narrowed it down to these three: Urban Armor Gear, Incipio DualPro and Ballistic Urbanite. I tend to drop things plus I have a 4-1/2 year old son who loves to grab my phone and run off with it to play games. I’d like a case that is slim enough that I don’t feel like I have a brick in my pocket but it absolutely needs to protect the phone at all costs as we didn’t splurge for the insurance. What would be your recommendation of the above 3 if it was your phone? Also, what would you recommend for my wife (not nearly as drop prone as myself but she does have the same son and again, no insurance)?

  6. karen

    April 13, 2015 at 12:36 am

    I love your reviews but now I’m so overwhelmed by all that data (and I am soooo not tech savvy) that I don’t know which case to buy for my iphone 6. Its my first smartphone so I don’t want to mess it up. Don’t plan to swim with it and your reviews seem to indicate that water proof cases distort sound. I prefer something easy to use. I’d like dust protection and definitely screen protection. I’m not a total klutz but ive dropped the old flip phone a time or two. Could you please email me your recommendation? Thanks so much!

    • Aaron Ho

      April 16, 2015 at 1:48 pm

      I’d go with a Thule Atmos X3 with a glass screen protector (I like the Sir Lancelot ones). If you’re not submerging your iPhone, I’d general stay away from the waterproof cases.

  7. Jase

    May 21, 2015 at 5:32 pm

    1) Thank you kindly for all the honest, informative, real life practical, super in depth reviews!

    2) What is the absolutely best, all around toughest, kick asphalt protective case for the iPhone 6?

    3) Any thoughts/reviews on the latest $100.00 Ballistic Hard Core “TACTICAL” case? How does it compare to the regular Ballistic Hard Core case…. Is the “improved” design worth the extra bucks?

    Safe travels and secure phones,

    Jase

    • Aaron Ho

      May 22, 2015 at 6:44 pm

      Huh, I didn’t notice the update but the Hardcore is now only drop rated to 10 ft, not 12 and the hardcore tactical is 12 ft. Guess I’ll have to bug Ballistic for a review case! Thanks for the comment!

  8. Mike

    September 26, 2015 at 3:37 pm

    Pleas look at the Best Buy reviews from people using the Thule x3. It appears their are some issue and inconsistency with the durability of the x3. Lots of iPhone breakage, do you think it’s a manufacturing problem?

    • Aaron Ho

      September 26, 2015 at 7:05 pm

      I haven’t found a case that protects fully from iPhone breakage. Your iPhone will have a better chance surviving a bad drop in Thule but it is by no means invincible. I know the bottom lip of the X3 broke a lot…they fixed that with the X4 but I haven’t heard about manufacturing problems.

  9. Timothy

    November 24, 2015 at 5:45 am

    Hey A-A-RON! (Don’t know if you get it or not)

    Anyways, I appreciate all of your unbiased reviews on iPhone cases. It really helps to average consumer like me compare and choose from the endless amount of cases that companies produce. For that I sincerely thank you and your team.

    So I have a question, I noticed that this specific page was last updated in June 2015 stating “The best case that we’ve reviewed to date is the RhinoShield Crash Guard for the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus”. I just recently watched your review with the K11 Bumper by ThanoTech. Is the K11 Bumper, in your opinion, “The best case that we’ve reviewed to date is for the iPhone 6 and 6 Plus” to this point today in late November 2015, or does the RhinoShield Crash Guard still hold the top spot?

    I am contemplating on which to purchase since the K11 pre-orders ship out next week on November 30th.

    Thank you for your time and keep up the great work!

    • Aaron Ho

      November 27, 2015 at 2:59 pm

      For bumpers, I’d go with the K11 if you’re careful with your iPHone. Its looks and feels great but if you drop your iPHone alot, the bumper is going to bend. The Crashguard won’t have that problem.

  10. Peter

    November 24, 2015 at 8:45 pm

    hi Aaron – big fan of yours, as I ultimately purchased a UAG for my iPhone 6. My wife finally upgraded from a flip to iPhone 6s, so I’m on the hunt for another case…

    Have you reviewed the Body Glove Dropsuit? I found someone performing a 50ft drop test on it and it seemed to come out untouched. Of course, it all depends on where the point of impact is when it hits the ground, but wondering about your thoughts on this iPhone 6/6s case.

    thanks in advance,

    Peter

    • Aaron Ho

      November 27, 2015 at 2:59 pm

      I’ve got one on my desk, haven’t had time to get to it.

  11. ashton

    June 11, 2016 at 9:55 am

    how up to date are you with the reviews? as i am in the market for a new slim very protective case but this thread was posted over a year ago and was inquiring as to if any new cases are out that are now on top of this list, such as any ghostek?

    • Aaron Ho

      June 13, 2016 at 4:07 pm

      I doubt you will find a more updated list of the best slim cases for the iPhone 6 on the web.

  12. Animesh

    January 19, 2017 at 4:59 am

    Hey Aaron. I have an IPhone 6s. I am desperately looking for a case that’s slim but also tough and can effectively protect my phone against drops. I am confused between UAG and Speck Mighty Shell and Spigen Tough Armor. Which one should I get ?
    And also, does the Rhinoshirld Playoroof case have decent screen protector lip ?
    Thanks man.
    🙂

    • Aaron Ho

      January 20, 2017 at 3:02 am

      The lip on the Playproof is decent. Deeper than the Tough Armor.

      The MightShell is the biggest case out of the grouping. I personally would get a Playproof with a design on the back, followed by the UAG, Mightyshell and then Tough Armor.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top