iPhone 6(s+)

Which iPhone 6 case works with the iPhone 6s?

 

Got a new iPhone 6s? Need a case? Not all iPhone 6 cases will fit..we’ll tell you which ones!


Which iPhone 6 case works with the iPhone 6s

 

Which iPhone 6 case works with the iPhone 6s?

With the iPhone 6s being released, will most iPhone 6 cases work with it? The dimensions of the iPhone 6s are slightly thicker and for most cases, this won’t matter much. However, some of the slimmer, tighter fitting and waterproof cases, the extra thickness of the iPhone will pose a problem.

As a general rule of thumb, I would stay away from any waterproof iPhone 6 case (if you have the 6s). Waterproof cases are designed to fit the iPhone tightly (we discovered that as we watched our LifeProof Nuud fail with a glass screen protector on it) and any change in the thickness of the iPhone will increase the chances of a failure.

For a full list of cases, check out the comparison tools for slim, tough and waterproof iPhone cases.

So for the following cases, make sure you’re getting the iPhone 6s version of the case, not the 6:

Slim iPhone 6 cases that didn’t:
Incipio Octane – Power button is tight
Spigen Thin Fit – Bottom edges don’t fit tightly
Caudabe Veil – iPhone 6s Plus doesn’t fit along the bottom corners
Griffin Survivor Slim – Sleeve doesn’t sit flush on iPhone
Spigen Tough Armor – Fits, but very little clearance between iPhone and flat surface
Incipio DualPro – Slight gap between TPU sleeve and outer shell
Seidio Tetra – Buttons are very tight
Pegacasa Maestro – Doesn’t fit at all
Seidio Dilex – Power button doesn’t work
SupCase Unicorn Beetle Pro – Too tight…buttons sometimes don’t work
Zero Lemon Protector – Couldn’t snap the front/back together
Trident Kraken – Back doesn’t cover

Waterproof iPhone 6 cases that didn’t fit:
LifeProof Nuud – Case didn’t fit at all
LifeProof Fre Power – Fits but everything is REALLY tight
LifeProof Fre – Fits but bottom corner has a tiny gap
Mophie H2Pro – Tight but fits better than the LifeProof Fre Power
Seidio Obex – Fits tightly but everything snaps together, home button almost doesn’t work

If you have any questions about which iPhone 6 case works with the iPhone 6s, please ask them on our Google+ page or on our Facebook page or through our About Us page.

29 Comments

29 Comments

  1. Doobie

    October 10, 2015 at 4:13 pm

    What about the griffin survivor core for the 6s (4.7″)

  2. Doobie

    October 10, 2015 at 4:22 pm

    What about the iphone 6 griffin survivor core competebility with the 6s?

  3. Barry

    October 14, 2015 at 1:15 am

    What about the Thule Atmos x4?

  4. Barry

    October 14, 2015 at 10:25 am

    Or the Thule Atmos x3?

  5. Barry

    October 14, 2015 at 4:24 pm

    Thanks Aaron. Still deciding on which Atmos case to get for the 6s. I will be using a glass screen protector in either case (not the one that comes with the x4). Being that it’s a little thicker and wider than the 6, is either case a “better” option

  6. Sky

    October 15, 2015 at 2:08 pm

    What about the Belkin Grip Case for IPhone 6? Is it for the IPhone 6s?

    • Aaron Ho

      October 16, 2015 at 3:37 pm

      Haven’t reviewed that case yet.

  7. Gary

    October 18, 2015 at 2:37 pm

    hi will any of the thule cases esp x4 stop the 6 plus from bending ?.

  8. Jason Wilczewski

    October 21, 2015 at 10:52 pm

    I believe you said the nuud iPhone 6 case doesn’t fit the 6s. That’s weird because my fre and my nuud both fit my 6s.

  9. Jason Wilczewski

    October 21, 2015 at 11:02 pm

    I see you said the nuud doesn’t fit the 6s. But my fre and nuud both fit my 6s no problem without any bulging.

    • Aaron Ho

      October 22, 2015 at 1:58 pm

      I’m glad it worked out for you. I wasn’t comfortable suggesting they fit given the tightness of the iPhone inside the cases.

      And I was going with what LifeProof said about their products.

      • jason wilczewski

        October 26, 2015 at 6:19 pm

        I will say that it snapped around it, and i should say it fits, but i do not know about the waterproofing feature. That part of it i’m afraid to try. I saw a few others post about the 6s fitting in the fre and nuud but no one mentions if its still waterproof. Obviously I would say go with the one thats made for the 6s I’m just using it because it has to at least me splash resistant with the way it goes on. I also do not see any bulge around the o-ring. And it seems to snap tight all the way around. I’m just curious to see what dimensions the 6s has over the 6 nuud case

      • Koral

        June 21, 2016 at 1:31 pm

        Mine fit as well, but is a bit snug. I think Lifeproof did not want to say they are compatible because of its tighter fit (Along with the fact that they are selling the 6s case for more than the 6). The waterproof and shock proof worked fine but I am not the extreme sports type that Lifeproof has its cases tested for.

  10. AJ

    October 23, 2015 at 2:42 am

    Hey I was wondering, since I recently got the iPhone 6s, what cases work for it. I got the speck mighty she’ll and it said it worked for iPhone 6 and 6s but I think it is a little to small for the 6s. I have gotten it out of the case but it is not easy. I was wondering if it was just because I’m weak(lol) or do other people have this problem. As well as what kind of screen protector I should get.

  11. Ana

    November 1, 2015 at 6:28 am

    Hello! Congratulations for website! The cover Spigen Neo Hybrid Metal fits in iphone 6s of 4.7?

    • Aaron Ho

      November 1, 2015 at 8:04 pm

      It should. Check with Spigen to be sure.

  12. Brec

    November 3, 2015 at 1:09 am

    I bought a Catalyst water proof case for my iPhone 6S when I first got my 6S and although it did fit, the plastic screen on the case seemed to bow outward. Everything seemed alright as far as it still being waterproof, but I did not want to risk it so I returned it. Do you think the bowing is a critical concern that would compromise the case if used in the water?

    • Aaron Ho

      November 6, 2015 at 1:40 pm

      Yes. Catalyst is retooling their case to fit the 6s. Waterproof cases are designed with very tight tolerances so any change in the thickness of the iPhone may compromise the case. By how much? I don’t know nor would I want to find out with a $1000 iPhone.

  13. DAVID

    November 6, 2015 at 10:38 am

    Are you aware of whether or not the Spigen Ultra Hybrid for the iPhone 6 Plus will fit the 6s Plus?

  14. Santiago Perez Zapata

    November 7, 2015 at 5:01 am

    I have the atmos x3 and x4, the griffin survivor core and all terrain. I used these on my iPhone 6 plus, now I´ve bought a 6s plus… will these cases fit?

    Thank´s for your help

  15. Mina Soliman

    November 17, 2015 at 1:37 am

    Does this review imply the same for 6+ cases for 6s+? For example, can I still fit my 6+ nuud for my 6s+?

    • Aaron Ho

      November 18, 2015 at 3:50 pm

      The LifeProof cases for 6 don’t fit the 6s.

  16. Atanas Todorov

    August 3, 2016 at 8:33 am

    Hello. I am writing here for the first time, Your reviews are very helpful and nicely laid out. I have a strange question – I currently own an iPhone 6. In the past I’ve had a Lifeproof Nuud case for it (from the first version, with very muffled loudspeaker and mic). I have tried installing the case with a back and a screen protector but noticed that the case’s back curved a little so I removed the protectors. However, I returned the case because of the speaker issues. I am wondering if I can now use a Lifeproof Nuud case for a 6s with my 6 together with a thin back and screen protectors if they have total width of around 0.2-0.3mm? Will there be a problem with other dimension differences aside from thickness? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

To Top