iPhone X

The Best Cases and Accessories for the iPhone X (updated June 2018)

Our top picks for Slim, Ultra-Thin, Tough & Unique Cases + Our Personal Favourite!

Like the video? Make sure you subscribe to our YouTube Channel!

  • March 2018 Update – Added wallet cases to the list, updated slim and tough cases
  • April 2018 Update – Added Accessories and Lightning Cables to the list
  • May 2018 Update – Added Wired Chargers to the list
  • June 2018 Update – Added Waterproof cases to the list

Here’s what we think are the best cases and accessories for the iPhone X. We’ve used every product in this list so our recommendations are solid. We will note that we show certain cases for the iPhone 8’s but that won’t matter since case manufacturers don’t change the design  between case models. We’ve got a dozen Spigen Tough Armor’s across six different devices and the only thing different is the size!

This article will be divided into multiple sections, For easier access, here are the quick links for the best cases and acccesories for the iPhone X:

iPhone X Cases

personal favourite

Loopy Case

Score

4. 3 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on

www.loopycases.com ($5 dollar off code: MobileReviewsEh5)

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Loopy Case - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • iPhone becomes usable ALL the time

CONS:

  • Not compatible with Qi-Charging

Our personal favourite case is the Loopy Case. We know itʼs basically a regular case with a rubber band on it. But the Loop just makes using our iPhone X that much easier.

Itʼs incredibly handy when your hands are full. For example, when youʼre at the grocery store and you need to push a cart but still have your recipe list handy. Itʼs also amazing for taking pictures of your fidgety newborn as you donʼt have to worry about dropping your iPhone when he headbutts you or squirms out of your arms.

The moment your finger is in the loop, your iPhone is going to accidentally fall. Unless you fall. Which would be the bigger problem.

For the iPhone Xʼs, Loopy has made the case portion a lot more robust. Previous versions didnʼt provide the iPhone much protection. But the latest iteration will protect your iPhone form the occasional drop when your fingers arenʼt in the loop.

Out of all the cases on this list, the Loopy is the only case that we would say is made for real life. It greatly simplifies the how we use my iPhone in every aspect of our life. Except for wireless charging but letʼs face it, Qi-charging isnʼt very good.

[Back to Top]

Slim iPhone X Cases

Slim cases for us are anything that doesnʼt look like a brick. Itʼs a pretty loose term as some of the cases in this list are quite large. If you need something thinner, check out the Ultra-Thin cases. The majority of the cases on the list below havenʼt changed much between the iPhone 7ʼs, 8ʼs and Xʼs. We’ve listed the top 10 cases here for you.

Spigen Reventon

Score

5.0 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

The BEST iPhone X Cases To-Date - Spigen Reventon and Spigen Pro Guard

PROS:

  • Amazing fit and design
  • Thin
  • Light
CONS:
  • Won’t offer iPhone as much protection as other cases (like the one below)

What can we say about the Spigen Reventon? It’s a great case. Seriously, we’ve been reviewing cases for years now and most cases manufacturers just keep pumping out the same thing with slight modifications. Not Spigen!

Most cases are either full TPU sleeves or a TPU sleeve wrapped in a PC frame. When it comes to the Reventon, the TPU sleeve is basically sandwich between two PC frames. This design improves the protection of the case (basically there are three layers protecting the iPhone).

Depending on the color of the case, the PC portions have a soft-rubber coating which makes improves the handling of the iPhone and the TPU sleeve has a texture on it that makes the entire setup feel “fancy”. 

The standout feature are the two screen protectors that are included with the case. The fit between the front frame and screen protectors is incredibly tight (which is a good thing). It’s hard to describe how awesome this case is, even showing it in our review videos won’t do it justice!

Catalyst Impact Protection

Score

4.7 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Catalyst Impact Protection - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Thin
  • Tough
  • Handles well

CONS:

  • A little wider than the average case

The Catalyst Impact Protection is one of the best cases we’ve used. The reason why it sits lower than the Spigen Reventon is the fact that the Catalyst Impact Protection doesn’t come with any screen protection. This case shows up twice on our list because it’s that good.

When it comes to slim cases, there aren’t many cases that are thinner than the Catalyst Impact Protection (though it is a bit wider than the average case). The extra width isn’t as noticeable on the iPhone X given that the device is only slightly larger than the iPhone 8. 

The case handles quite well as the micro-texture on the edge of the case ensures a decent connection between the device and your hands. The buttons on the case work quite well and the rotary switch for the iPhone’s mute switch is phenomenal. 

If you need more info about the protection aspect of the case, scroll down to the tough case portion of this list!

Rhinoshield SolidSuit

Score

4.2 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 

Rhinoshield SolidSuit review - Wood back

PROS:

  • “Damn, nice buttons”
  • Has decent protection
  • Texture depends on the back
  • Can use camera lens attachment

CONS:

  • Edges are quite slick

Rhinoshield SolidSuit has the same design and drop protection as the Rhinoshield MOD and Crashguard. The only noticeable difference is the different texture the back cases of the Rhinosheld SolidSuit would offer. The are a lot of variety to choose from but we personally love the texture of the Micro Fiber one. We also really love the feel of the buttons. The buttons are so greatly design that it sometimes feel there is no case at all.

Our only gripe for the case is the texture of the edges. The edges are quite slippery which might be the cause of the phone falling down. However, the protection is quite decent that a couple of drops would not damage your phone.

Urban Armor Gear Monarch

Score

4.3 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Urban Armor Gear Monarch iPhone 7 Review

PROS:

  • Fancy looking case (lots of different materials use)
  • Lots of texture

CONS:

  • Thicker than the average case

The Urban Armor Gear (UAG) Monarch is on this list because like the Speck Presidio Grip, it has a lot of texture to the case. But it isnʼt as grippy as the Speck Presidio Grip. The UAG Monarch has several different types of materials in the case which include metal and leather which what sets this case apart from the others. The only downside is the size of the case. It is not small.

Speck Presidio Grip

Score

4.2 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Presidio CLEAR vs Presidio GRIP - Speck Presidio Clear iPhone 7 Case Review

PROS:

  • Extremely grippy
  • Makes one-handed usage easy
  • Can easily handle a drop

CONS:

  • grip will wear quicker than other cases

Speck Presidio Grip is one of our top picks for slim cases because of the texture. Itʼs the grippiest case on this list. Speck Presidio Grip is a case that we constantly gravitate towards because of how well an iPhone handles in the case.

The ribs on the case definitely help with the handling of the iPhone. The ribs prevents it from sliding around. Though some have noted that the ribs do come off over time. Also, donʼt drop it from 10 ft face first because a naked iPhone screen might not survive. Based from our experience anyways.

Ghostek Cloak 3

Score

4.2 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 

Ghostek Cloak 3 Review - Look at that fit!

PROS:

  • Fits extremely well
  • Metallic buttons feel great
  • Decently priced

CONS:

  • Doesn’t come with a screen protector (Cloak 2 did)

The Ghostek Cloak 3 isn’t your standard TPU + PC frame type of case. This is because the fit between the TPU and PC frame is amazing. The metallic buttons also work extremely well.

On the TPU sleeve, there is a hatching where the PC meets the TPU which improves the handling of the iPhone inside of the case. The handling is also helped by the thinness of the Cloak 3. The back of the case is recessed slightly which also helps with the bulk of the case.

The soft-rubber coated frame, coupled with the hatching on the TPU results in a great-handling case for your iPhone X. We generally didn’t have any issues with the Cloak 3. It’s a great case!

The last upside of the  Ghostek Cloak 3 is that it comes in a variety of different colors!

Spigen Tough Armor

Score

4.2 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Spigen Tough Armor - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Handles well
  • Well-priced
  • Comes with a kickstand

CONS:

  • Not as tough as the iPhone 7 version
  • ‘Boring’ looking case

We have a soft spot for the Spigen Tough Armor. Especially when Spigen decided to use the soft-rubber coating on the PC portions of the case.

From our perspective, if you donʼt really care about a case or haven’t found one that your really liked, go and get a Tough Armor. It handles decently, the buttons are nice and the iPhone X version now comes with a standard kickstand. The thicker material of the case will definitely hold up to every day accidents.

It should be noted however that the iPhone 8 and X versions of the case arenʼt as tough as the 7 as Spigen decided to move away from having a little extra protection around the speakers.

Spigen Thin Fit 360

Score

4.1 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Spigen Reventon vs Spigen Thin Fit 360 - iPhone X Cases

PROS:

  • Well priced
  • Includes 2 screen protectors
  • Slim
  • Handles well

CONS:

  • Wonʼt offer much drop protection

The Spigen Thin-Fit 360 is the predecessor to the Spigen Reventon. If you’re not terribly clumsy with your iPhone, the Thin-Fit 360 should be at the top of your list. The soft-rubber coated PC wraps around your entire iPhone which makes it a joy to use. The 360 comes with two screen protectors and like the ones included with the Reventon fit the iPhone incredibly well. 

Silk Innovation Base Grip

Score

4.1 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Silk Innovation BaseGrip - Best iPhone 8 Cases Under 15 Dollars

PROS:

  • Cheap
  • Comes with a screen protector well
  • Well-priced

CONS:

  • Wonʼt offer much drop protection

If youʼre on a budget, get the Silk Innovation Base Grip. For 12 bucks you get a grippy case and a plastic screen protector. That will provide you with the bare minimum in terms of protection. For people like us, who donʼt drop their phones a lot, thatʼs all the protection the iPhone needs.

SEE ALSO: The Best iPhone 8 cases under 15 dollars (works with iPhone X and iPhone 7)

Mous Limitless

Score

4.0 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

Mous Limitless Review - iPhone 7 Cases

PROS:

  • Looks and feels like a premium case
  • Tough
  • Comes with screen protector

CONS:

  • Expensive
  • Doesn’t handle as well as other cases

If you’re looking for an incredibly tough, fancy looking case, you should consider the Mous Limitless. If you’ve been watching our videos on YouTube, you’ll know that we had a couple of issues with the Mous Limitless in terms of drop protection. The newest iteration of the case eliminates the issues with the screen breaking during excessive drops.

The case edges are a little slick for our liking but the oversized corners help with keeping the iPhone in your hand. 

Rhinoshield MOD

Score

4.0 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Evolutive Labs RhinoShield Mod - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Customizable
  • Easily go from bumper to full case
  • Can be used as a camera lens case
  • Tough

CONS:

  • Edges are quite slick

The RhinoShield MOD is one of the few cases that we know will protect your iPhone from an 11 ft, face first drop. In fact, we tossed an iPhone 8 up 25 ft and the iPhone was “fine”. The phone wasnʼt actually damage as the screen just popped out. But all we had to do was to unscrew the P2ʼs at the bottom and pop the screen back in.

Apart from the amazing drop protection, the RhinoShield MOD allows you to customize the back plates as well as the buttons on the case. It also turns from a bumper to case in a matter of minutes. We personally like to switch things up on our iPhone every once in a while so being able to do so with one product is very appealing.

The buttons on the RhinoShield MOD are incredible. It feels like your actually pressing naked iPhone buttons instead of going through a case. If youʼre into photography, you can easily add lenses to the MOD which is pretty neat.

The only downside from our perspective is the fact that the edges of the case are quite slick and are larger than the average case edge.

Incipio Reprieve Sport

Score

3.9 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Incipio Reprieve Sport iPhone 7 Case Review

PROS:

  • Tough
  • Decent handling
  • Clear back shows off color of your iPhone

CONS:

  • Larger than the average case
  • Clear back shows fingerprints easily

The Incipio Reprieve Sport is one of the toughest clear cases that we’ve used. The oversized corners will over a decent amount of drop protection and also helps with the handling of the iPhone. The edges of the case also helps with the handling of the iPhone.

We’ll be honest with you, our iPhone’s feel very solid in the Incipio Reprieve Sport. There is a tendency for cases to have a bit of give when you squeeze them but that isn’t the case for the Reprieve Sport.

The only other downside that we’ve encountered with this case is the fingerprinting that will occur on the back of this case.

Tech 21 Evo Check

Score

3.8 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

PROS:

  • Handles well 
  • Buy it at the Apple store

CONS:

  • Wider than the average case
  • Face drops might be an issue

Tech 21 Evo Check is another case that handles quite well. In fact, this is the only case on the list that youʼd be able to get at the Apple store. If youʼre concerned about grip, the Tech 21 Evo Check and all itʼs variations are decent cases to get. The texture of the edges handles well in your hands but doesnʼt get caught on your pockets.

Our only concern with the Evo Check is the extra-width that the case adds. This is a big concern for us with the iPhone 8 Plus. But since the iPhone X is a bit smaller, you might be able to get away with it. The case edges are bit more shallow so definitely get a screen protector with this case.

SEE ALSO: Tech 21 Evo Check Wallet, if you want a wallet case,

Spigen Neo Hybrid

Score

3.3 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Spigen Reventon vs. Spigen Neo Hybrid - iPhone X Cases

PROS:

  • Looks unique
  • Handles well
  • Slim
  • Great texture

CONS:

  • Not as tough as other cases

Why is such a low-rated case on this list? This is one of our personal favourites. The Neo Hybrid’s design is why we’ve placed this case on the list.

The Spigen Neo Hybrid is a slightly above average case. But we are pointing it out because we really like what Spigen has done to it. The case is thin and light and Spigen has included a few extra pieces of soft-rubber coated polycarbonate which greatly enhances the handling of the case. The TPU has their Herringbone™ design on it and it has enough texture to improve the handling of the iPhone X. We donʼt have anything negative to say about this case as it is just an average case with a nice texture to it.

Thule Atmos X4

Score

3.9 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Texture - Thule Atmos X4 iPhone 7 Review

PROS:

  • Amazing buttons
  • Edges of the case handle well

CONS:

  • Wide

If youʼve been watching our videos for a while or been visiting this website, youʼll know that we’re a fan of the Thule Atmos line. Sadly, Thule hasnʼt released an iPhone X version when we created this list (and it sounds like they’re not making an iPhone X version but we’re hoping that they do.)

If you know anybody who has an iPhone 8 or older and needs a case, the Thule Atmos X4 needs to be on their list.

[Back to Top]

ultra-thin iPhone X cases

Weʼve grown quite fond of ultra-thin cases because we primarily use the Plus-sized iPhones. In this section, we’re going to start with thinnest case that we have used and then work our way up to slightly thicker ones. The scores for these cases will be lower ONLY because these slim cases will offer less protection than every other case on this list.

Utomic Edge

Score

4 Eh’s out of 5

FULL REVIEW HERE!

PROS:

  • Extreme minimalistic product that offers a bit of protection
  • Modular accessories allow for unique combinations

CONS:

  • Doesn’t offer the same level of protection as tougher slim cases

The Utomic Edge is a unique product. If you’re looking for something to protect from accidental drops but like the naked feel of your iPhone, check out the Utomic Edge.

They have lots of different accessories that fit with the bumpers. The loop accessory is handy (though not as useful as the Loopy case). If you are planning on getting this product, make sure you check out the front and back glass protectors. They fit extremely well with the corners bumpers.

Caudabe Veil XT

Score

3.2 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Caudabe Veil XT Review - iPhone 7

PROS:

  • Thin
  • Wears well over time

CONS:

  • Wonʼt offer much protection

For the ultra-minimalist, the Caudabe Veil XT is going to be the case to get for your iPhone X. We actually prefer the Veil XT over a skin as we’re able to remove whenever we want to . Removing skins on a device is pretty painful to do.

The texture of the Caudabe Veil XT is much better than the Caudabe Peel in our opinion and wonʼt show scratches as easily. We personally love the red Caudabe Veil XT on our iPhone 8 Plus. It just looks awesome.

If youʼre wondering why the score is lower, our scoring system takes into account the protection a product offers an iPhone and every case in this list is going to offer less protection than every product in the slim case list.

A step up from the Caudabe< Veil XT would be the Caudabe Sheath, as well as the Spigen Liquid Air. The textures of both products are quite similar. It doesnʼt have the tacky feel of a regular glossy TPU but still has enough texture that they wonʼt slip out of my hand like a clear polycarbonate case would.

We know there are lots of clear TPU sleeves out there which we’re not a big fan of. Mostly because theyʼll yellow over time and nothing says “cheap” than a yellow case on your white iPhone.

A step up from the Caudabe Sheath and Spigen Liquid Air would be the standard Apple Silicone Case. Sure itʼs thicker but itʼs hard to argue with the texture of the case.

[Back to Top]

Tough iPhone X cases

Tough cases use to be incredibly popular. This type of case, like waterproof cases, seem to be a dying breed. With that being said, there is one case in this grouping that beats all the other slim cases.

Catalyst Impact Protection

Score

4.7 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Catalyst Impact Protection - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Tough
  • Handles well
  • Mute switch access is great
  • Buttons are great
  • Clear back

CONS:

  • No screen protector
  • Not as grippy as other tough cases

The Catalyst Impact Protection case is one the BEST cases we have used to date (as we’ve said above). When it comes to tough cases, there aren’t many cases that offer the same amount of drop protection as the Catalyst Impact Protection.

We’ve dropped our iPhone’s multiple times from 10+ feet and we’re still using the same iPhone in most of our videos. We wish Catalyst included a screen protector with the case but if you’re looking for the most protection for your device, get a plastic screen protector rather than a glass one.

If all that drop protection wasn’t enough, you can easily add a wrist strap to the case to ensure that your iPhone remains attached to your body at all times.

Spigen ProGuard

Score

4.5 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 

FULL REVIEW HERE!

PROS:

  • Amazing design/fit
  • Comes with TWO screen protectors
  • Tough

CONS:

  • Larger than average case
  • Doesn’t handle as well as the Otterbox Defender

If you’re looking for an alternative to the Otterbox Defender, you need to check out the Spigen ProGuard. The ProGuard shares a lot of the design features of the Defender as the iPhone sits in a PC frame that is wrapped in thick piece of TPU. 

There is a lot of texture on the case which helps with the handling of the iPhone if you’re using it out in the elements. Like the Spigen Reventon, the ProGuard comes with two glass screen protectors that fit incredibly well with the ProGuard.

We like the ProGuard more than the Defender despite not having a belt holster because the the usability of the iPhone is greater in the ProGuard. The plastic screen protector of the Defender isn’t great and will show wear and tear quicker than any glass screen protector. 

Otterbox Defender

Score

4 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

PROS:

  • Tough
  • Comes with belt holster
  • Built in screen protector

CONS:

  • BIG

The Otterbox Defender is the staple of iPhone tough cases. If you just need something to protect your iPhone like a tank. Get an Otterbox Defender.

Sure the general design hasnʼt changed in ages but you canʼt argue with the protection it offers your iPhone. We know companies who have policies mandating that every iPhone be in an Otterbox Defender. Thatʼs how reliable it is. Oh! and it comes with a belt holster which is still a thing.

Poetic Revolution

Score

3.9 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Poetic Revolution - iPhone 7 cases

PROS:

  • Built in screen protector
  • Cheap

CONS:

  • Dust will be an issue over time

If youʼre looking for something thatʼs “Defender”-esque, check out the Poetic Revolution. It has a plastic screen protector thatʼs built into the case. Other than that, itʼs going to perform like an average iPhone case.

If you get this case, weʼd recommend cleaning out the cavity of the case every once in a while as dust will accumulate between the screen protector and iPhone because of the cutouts at the top of the screen protector.

Ghostek Atomic Slim

Score

4 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Ghostek Atomic Slim Review - Not that slim

PROS:

  • Tough
  • Great build quality
  • Metal frame keeps iPhone from bending
  • Better than average dust protection

CONS:

  • Bulky
  • Buttons are a little sharp

The Ghostek Atomic Slim is a new case to us. It isn’t waterproof but retains the aluminum frame design of the original Atomic. Despite not being waterproof, the Ghostek Atomic Slim is going to be one of the better dust-resistant cases due to it’s design.

The aluminum frame is unique as it adds another level of sophistication to your iPhone. Most cases are a blend of TPU and PC so adding metal to that mix makes the Atomic unique. The aluminum frame will also ensure that your iPhone never bends if you decide to sit on it. The iPhone sits in a TPU sleeve that has a clear PC back fused with it. Having the two materials fused together helps with the dust protection.

The downside of Ghostek Atomic Slim is that it isn’t really that slim. It’s one of the largest non-waterproof cases that we’ve used. The buttons on the case have a nice response to them but the buttons on the case that we have seem a little sharp for our liking.

The Ghostek Atomic Slim exposes less of your phone when compared to the average case as the TPU sleeve that the iPhone sits in doesn’t actually have button cutouts. The metallic buttons are attached to the metal frame which push the iPhone buttons through the TPU. From our perspective, this is why we say the Ghostek Atomic Slim is going to offer a bit more dust and debris protection over time when compared to other cases.

[Back to Top]

Unique iPhone X cases

.Unique Cases are well…unique. The cases are focused more on making your iPhone different from a regular iPhone. And if that’s a good thing or not, you will be a judge for that.

Casemate

Score

Can you put a score on how colorful the cases are?

Get them now on Amazon!

Casemate - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Fancy
  • Unique
  • Lots of different designs to choose from
  • Fairly tough

CONS:

  • Big
  • Some cases are expensive

Casemate has some of the craziest cases weʼve ever seen. There are ones that light up. Cases that change color based on your temperature. Cases that have particles suspended in them that sound like a waterfall. Cases with mirrors built into them for the selfie-monger, and a ton of other cases that come in very unique designs. You can probably think of a crazy design in you head right now and CaseMate already have it.

Whenever we show people our case collection, they’ll always gravitate to the brightest, shiniest cases which is usually a CaseMate case.

Now every one of these CaseMate cases has a strong personality to them. But theyʼre going to offer your iPhone a decent amount of protection. Your device is going to sit in a TPU frame which snaps into a polycarbonate back. Once the case is installed, it is incredibly tough to take the case off. If you need something that sets you apart in the crowd, your best bet is going to be one of these CaseMate cases.

Ludicase

Score

4 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Ludicase iPhone Case Review

PROS:

  • Great for people who fidget
  • Handles well

CONS:

  • May annoy people with all the clicking that you do

Now there isnʼt an iPhone X version of the Ludicase just yet. But we’ve been told theyʼre working on it. The Ludicase is the perfect case for people who need something to play with all the time. Fidget spinners were all the rage a while back but the Ludicase takes it a step further.

Not only will you be able to click away with the buttons at the top of case. But you can also spin your thumb round and round on the spinner in the middle. You can flip it around and spin the iPhone X like a top if you really wanted to. The bottom of the case has a unique texture to it and the bottom corner has three slippery spheres for your fingers to play with.

The case is currently on Indiegogo so go help them out if you want one.

Olixar X-Ranger

Score

Hard to score since most cases don’t have a screw driver!

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Olixar X Ranger - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Useful
  • Different

CONS:

  • Tools are sharp!
  • Case rattles

The Olixar X-Ranger is going to be a great case for the handy person in the family.

This normal looking case hides one those wallet tools that has several different tools on them. We counted about 20 different tools with the case which seems like a lot. We wouldnʼt consider this a serious tool but itʼs going to be handy in a pinch.

Like when you need to quickly cut open a package that has an annoying sticker on it. Or when the screws in your glasses get loose, or when you need to get your drink on and you need a bottle opener. Or thereʼs a bolt that quickly needs a slight adjustment.

The only downside to the tool is that there are a lot of sharp things on it so be careful. And the tool rattles in the case as well. Which might get annoying after a while.

Wud

Score

4 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 
WUD and ROK Cases - The Best Cases for the iPhone X

PROS:

  • Unique looking cases
  • Textures are unique

CONS:

  • Not as tough as every slim case in this article

This is the only wood case on this list. Weʼve got several cases that are wood. But Wud is the only one we feel that is worth talking about. Because their cases are VERY unique. The packaging is pretty awesome as well. Most wood cases look like a piece of wood but the case from Wud looks amazing.

The only downside is the case isnʼt as tough as any of the case in the slim case list. They also have a case made from actual rock which is equally as impressive because itʼs a piece of rough rock thatʼs on the back of the iPhone. Pretty damn cool!

[Back to Top]

iPhone X Wallet cases

Uolo 2 in 1 Magnetic Case

Score

4.6 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

FULL REVIEW HERE!

8 Cards plus cash - UOLO 2 in 1 Magnetic Folio iPhone 7 Case Review

PROS:

  • Large capacity
  • Extremely versatile
  • Great texture/handles well

CONS:

  • Wear/tear might be an issue

The Uolo 2 in 1 Magnetic Wallet case is our favourite wallet case. Itʼs a wallet case when you need it and a regular case when you donʼt. Uoloʼs magnetic mounting system within the wallet is ingenious because it solves the biggest gripe we have with wallet cases.

Our iPhones are slim sleek devices but they are another thing that you have to worry about. Being able to pack your wallet and iPhone together makes sense but often times it comes at the cost of usability. Certain card cases offer 3-card capacities but are you capable of operating on a day-to-day basis with just three cards? We’re guessing most of us canʼt.

On the other hand, if you get a full-on wallet replacement, your iPhone becomes unusable at home. Do you really need to have your wallet on you when youʼre scrolling through Instagram while sitting on the couch?

The Uolo 2 in 1 Magnetic Wallet case solves this problem. When youʼre going out, just attach the case to the wallet and away you go. Donʼt need all your cash and cards? Easily remove the case from the wallet case. Itʼs simple and extremely useful.

The design feature also allows Uolo to increase the capacity of the wallet portion as you can easily hold 8-cards + cash with ease. There is no compromise between the size of the wallet and functionality of the iPhone. The only downside that weʼve seen with this case is the fact that the material used in the wallet case may scuff easier than other products when dropped. But thatʼs us being incredibly picky with the product.

Uolo also has a slimmer version of the magnetic case as it will only hold 4-cards + cash but still retains the magnetic case portion.

Otterbox Strada

Score

4.3 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 
 
Otterbox Strada - Toughest iPhone X Wallet case with a cover

PROS:

  • Cover is magnetic, wonʼt open (most of the times) during an accidental drop
  • Leather cover and back looks nice
  • Handles better than the average Otterbox case

CONS:

  • Bulkier than the average wallet case (considering the card capacity)

If youʼre looking for a tough, fancier wallet case with enough space to carry a transit pass, the Otterbox Strada is the case for you. OR youʼve managed to find digital versions of all the cards in your wallet and all you have left is your driver’s licence, the Otterbox Strada is for you!

The Otterbox Strada is the only wallet case in this list that weʼd feel going outside and dropping our iPhone from 6 ft. The case itself is thick but with the iPhone X, the bulk isnʼt as noticeable as the iPhone 8 Plus version is. The leather cover of the case is quite nice and attaches magnetically to the case. The magnet is strong enough to keep the cover attached to the case in most circumstances so you donʼt have to worry about having the cover flop around in your bag/purse. We will note that the cover will also attach magnetically to the back of the case which makes one-handed usage of the iPhone quite nice.

Mujjo Leather Wallet

Score

4.1 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 

 
 
Mujjo Full Leather Case - The fanciest no-cover iPhone X Wallet Case

PROS:

  • Real leather that will improve with time
  • Has a better texture than the Apple Leather caseR

CONS:

  • Small capacity wallet case
  • Wonʼt offer much protection

For those who want a fancier wallet case that can store a transit pass without a cover, consider getting the Mujjo Leather Wallet case. The standout feature for us with this product are the high quality materials that Mujjo uses in their case. The outside is covered in full-grain leather which is soft and has a nice texture to the case. The inside of the case is covered in micro-fibre (Japanese micro-fibre to be exact) which adds to this high quality product.

The leather on this case is going to wear differently on each case which will make the Mujjo full leather case look very unique over time. We didnʼt have any issues with the access of the iPhone inside the case.

Unlike the Otterbox Strada, the Mujjo case will only offer your iPhone enough protection for the occasional accidental drop. Weʼd definitely recommend getting a screen protector to go with this case.

When it comes to card carrying capacity, youʼd be comfortable with one-card. Weʼre quite certain the leather will stretch to accommodate the extra card over time. For us, this is going to be a great case for those who need to use an RFID card at work.

Ghostek Exec 2

Score

3.8 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 
 
 
Ghostek Exec 2 - Unique iPhone X Wallet Case

PROS:

  • Unique design
  • Cloth back
  • Handles well

CONS:

  • Canʼt use 5 cards easily in the wallet (despite Ghostekʼs claim)

When it comes to wallet cases, the Ghostek Exec 2 stands out to us. This is because of the materials used on the case. For some odd reason, weʼve gotten very tired of the fake, vegan, leather textured TPU wallet. The cloth back on the Ghostek Exec 2 feels different and thatʼs important for people who spend a lot of time with their devices. The Ghostek Exec 2 is a thicker wallet case as it comes with a TPU frame wrapped in a PC shell. The edges of the the Ghostek Exec 2 has a strong soft rubber coating which great helps with the handling of the iPhone.

When it comes to protection, the Ghostek Exec 2 has a decent lip which will help keep the iPhoneʼs screen off a flat surface. The raised edge, coupled with the PC outer frame will offer better than average face first drop protection.

For the wallet portion, Ghostek claims that you can use 5 cards with the case which is possible but it gets tight. If you want easy access to your cards, we found the 3 card + cash setup being more efficient. we wouldnʼt consider this a full-blown wallet replacement unless youʼre only need between 3-5 cards.

[Back to Top]

Waterproof cases

iPhone X might be waterproof but it can only protect against dust and rain. If you need protection from full submersion, here are some recommendations.

We’ve been reviewing waterproof cases for years now and they always have the same pitfalls. The iPhone isn’t as responsive, calls will be worse and picture quality will be slightly reduced. There isn’t a case that will offer access like a slim case while being waterproof.

There are the two cases we’ve used with the iPhone X. If you’re wondering about other brands, search for the product in the top right corner. These waterproof cases don’t usually change between iPhone updates.

When it comes to durability, most waterproof cases come with a plastic screen protector that will show wear and tear over time. On the iPhone X, you may start seeing scratches along the bottom of the device where you swipe up to unlock your device.

Ghostek Nautical

Score

4 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 
 
 
Ghostek Nautical 2 Review - Oversized corners for drop protection

PROS:

  • Tougher than the LifeProof Fre
  • Great handling when wet
  • Easy access to mute switch
  • Affordable

CONS:

  • Bulkier than the LifeProof Fre
  • Minor glare issues with front facing camera

We were quite impressed by the Ghostek Nautical waterproof iPhone case. It is probably the best valued waterproof case that we’ve used to date. The Ghostek Nautical provides more than double the protection of the LifeProof Fre at 1/2 the price.

The Ghostek Nautical offers 8-12 ft of drop protection and 33 ft of water protection. The Ghostek Nautical also offers exceptional handling which is important considering the potential places you’ll be taking your iPhone in the Ghostek Nautical 

The screen protector sits well on the iPhone’s screen but the little gap over the FaceID area will add a tiny bit of glare into your selfies.

SEE ALSO: BETTER than the Lifeproof Fre? Ghostek Nautical 2 Review for the iPhone X/iPhone 8 for an example of the issue.

Lifeproof Fre

Score

3.6 Eh’s out of 5

Get them now on Amazon!

 

FULL REVIEW HERE!

Speaker Cutout - LifeProof Fre iPhone X Review

PROS:

  • Readily available
  • Great customer service

CONS:

  • Average durability
  • Average water and drop protection
  • Lower than average screen viewability

From our perspective, the LifeProof Fre is a baseline waterproof case. We’ve included this waterproof case on our list because it’s the easiest to get. Any big box store or wireless provider will most likely have the Lifeproof Fre in stock.

The Lifeproof Fre is quite slim and won’t add much bulk to your iPhone. The screen protector still diffuses the screen of the iPhone and will show wear and tear from day-to-day use.

From a protection standpoint, the LifeProof Fre will offer your iPhone 6.6 ft of drop and water protection. From our perspective, this is the bare minimum for waterproof cases. Don’t be fooled by their marketing fluff!

Lifeproof’s customer service is also a good reason to get a Lifeproof Fre. They are one of the few companies that are willing to replace parts of a broken case. We’ve had them send us seals and full case replacements over the last six years.

Other waterproof cases

We haven’t physically used an iPhone X in these cases But the general design of the case doesn’t change between different sized iPhones so there shouldn’t be that much difference.

[Back to Top]

iPhone X aCcesories

Lightning cables

Lightning cables are an essential part of an iPhone experience. If you’re thinking that you can buy cheap cables to compensate for the expensive price of the iPhone. DON’T.

Here’s our recommend Apple Lightning cable alternative!

Anker PowerLine

Get them now on Amazon!

 

PROS:

  • Cheap
  • Apple MiFi Certified

CONS:

  • Cable isn’t as flexible as the Apple branded cable

Anker Powerline is the best lightning cable for us because of the features they got right on the Apple’s MiFi standard guideline. We actually inspected the cable to the point of destroying it. 

SEE ALSO:  Are all iPhone Lightning cables created EQUAL? – Charge Tests, Tips for FAKE cables & Tear Downs

In the attempt to find out what is inside a charging cable. we found out that cheap cables aren’t safe. During our teardown of each cable, Apple MiFi certified cable were much harder to destroy when compared to the cheap $10 dollar gasoline station cables. From our perspective, this is a safety issue as a fault in the connection on a cheap cable might be dangerous.

If you’re unsure if the 10-pack of Lightning cables are actually Apple MiFi certified, make sure you use their MiFi certification tool  to see if you should spend $7 dollars for the 10-pack of cables (you probably shouldn’t).

[Back to Top]

Qi-Chargers

The newer iPhone’s (8 and beyond) are Qi-charging compatible. This isn’t a ground-breaking feature since Android devices have been utilizing Qi-charging for years now. But, at least the option is now available for iPhone users.

However, it should be noted that  Qi-charging on the iPhone is slow which is an issue for us. Even with a 7.5W charger, it still takes 3+ hours to charge an iPhone X from dead. With a normal 5W Qi-charger, it’s closer to 4 hours to charge your device.

But if you want to have that “wireless” charging experience, here’s the two products we recommend.

Anker PowerWave 7.5 stand w/ Quick Charge 3.0

Get them now on Amazon!

 
Anker PowerWave 7.5 Stand with Quick Charge 3.0 - Top 8 Qi-Chargers

PROS:

  • Nice design
  • Angle is suited for a desk setup
  • Can be used on both portrait and landscape charging
  • Comes with a spare charger and cable  

CONS:

  • Price
  • Doesnʼt charge the iPhone faster

Anker PowerWave 7.5 stand w/ Quick Charge 3.0 is one of few Qi-chargers that can let you utilize the new iPhone feature of 7.5W Qi-charging. However, this doesn’t mean that your iPhone can now be charged faster with it. The 7.5 W Qi-charger is actually  almost on par with the charger that comes with the iPhone X. In fact, the spare charger that comes with the Anker PowerWave 7.5 stand w/ Quick Charge 3.0 is even much faster!

SEE ALSOI used 8 different Qi-Fast Chargers over 4 months. Which one was the best Qi-charger? for the difference in charge speeds between Qi-chargers.

For a Qi-charger, Anker PowerWave 7.5 stand w/ Quick Charge 3.0 is unique due to its design and coils. But if you actually want a faster charger, this one is far too expensive and not actually deliver on that promise.  Youʼre actually better off spending the money on a USB-PD power source like a 29W Apple MacBook charger.

Pictek Fast Wireless Charger

Get them now on Amazon!

 
Pictek Fast Wireless Charger - Top 8 Qi-Chargers

PROS:

  • Cheap
  • Thin
  • Large LED to indicate connection
  • One of the faster Qi-chargers

CONS:

  • Requires itʼs own charger
  • Not useful in office areas
  • Easy to lose track of

Pictek Fast Wireless Charger might be lacking in the design department but it is the fastest Qj-charger we used. The Pictek Fast Wireless Charger also has the biggest charging gap which is important for people with thicker cases. This means you will have a better chance of charging your iPhone or Android device in a wallet case.

The only place where we might use a flat style of charger like the Pictek Fast Wireless Charger would be on the nightstand since we generally have no need to check the device while we sleep. But other than that, we donʼt find flat-style chargers to be terribly useful. If we’re going to place the device on a table, weʼd be better off going with a normal wired charger with better charging rates.

[Back to Top]

Wired Charging

Looking for a better wired charger than the 5W charger that comes with every new iPhone?

When it comes to the fastest chargers, we generally default to the two products listed below.

The iPhone for the last few years always benefited from using higher wattage chargers (like the iPad 2.1A charger) but the newer iPhones (8 and newer) also have fast-charging which allows you to charge the device from 0-50% in approx. 30 minutes. But it’s going to cost you a bit more cash than the average charger in order to get that functionality.

MacBook 29W Charger

Get them now on Amazon!

29W and 87W MacBook Chargers vs 7.5 Qi-charging

PROS:

  • Cheapest fast charger available

CONS:

  • Still pretty expensive

Using a laptop charger is going to be the fastest way to charge your iPhone 8 and iPhone X. 

This isn’t a typo. In order to get the best charging experience for the newer iPhone, your only option right now is to buy a laptop charger and a USB-C to Lightning cable. This setup is going to cost a bit as the charger will set you back approx. $50 dollars and the cable is $20 dollars. This price seems steep but consider that an inferior 7.5W Qi-charger is going to cost around the same amount.

As a side note, going with a higher rated charger (like the 87W MacBook Pro Charger) won’t charge your iPhone any quicker. 

We will admit that the fast-charging capability is quite nice and handy every once in a while. And $70 dollars ~isn’t too bad.

Anker 4-Port Charger

Get them now on Amazon! 

Best Non-Apple iPhone Charger - 2.4A Anker iQ Charger

PROS:

  • Cheap
  • Multi-port
  • Offers near fast charging rates

CONS:

  • None

We love this charger. From our testing, this charger provided our iPhone 8 with a charge of 40% in 30 mins which is just a bit slower than the MacBook charger. However, it costs a fraction of the price (we bought it for $20).

The 4-ports also makes it handy for use in busy areas in your home and office!

[Back to Top]

So these are the products that we think are the Best iPhone X Cases and Accessories!  Have any questions? Leave them below! Definitely SUBSCRIBE to our YouTube Channel to stay on top of all the new things we are review!

If you want to know more about what we do, check out this page!

Summary
The Best Cases And Accessories for the iPhone X
Article Name
The Best Cases And Accessories for the iPhone X
Description
What are the best cases for the iPhone X? We've been reviewing cases for YEARS now and here's a list of the cases we'd keep our iPhone X in.
Author
Publisher Name
Mobile Reviews Eh!
Publisher Logo
3 Comments

3 Comments

  1. Stephanie

    November 28, 2017 at 4:22 am

    Love your reviews! I bought my last 2 cases based on them & I use your Amazon links.

    I’m trying to decide what case to get for the iPhone X (which I haven’t gotten yet). I have a tendency to drop my phone a lot & currently have a Playproof on my 6s. I’d like something tough enough to handle the drops but as slim & lightweight as possible. I have a Loopy but the loops have torn. I like the functionality of the Loopy but I’m not sure it’ll provide enough drop protection. I’m considering the Rhinoshield Mod, the Catalyst Impact Protection, & the Loopy. I have pretty small hands so I think it might be necessary to put an Ungrip or something similar on the back of any case that isn’t a Loopy. What would you recommend as far as cases & Ungrip type options?

    Thanks!

    • Jim from Team Loopy

      December 9, 2017 at 8:56 pm

      Hi Stephanie!

      Glad to have had you in the Loop! Bummed to hear about your loop. We have been in the lab creating even stronger loops, so hopefully we can have you experience our newest iteration. We have a lifetime warranty, so please shoot us an email at team@loopycases.com and we’ll get you back in the loop (on the house!) asap!

      Lastly, we’ve beefed up our case design a bit with the iPhone X. It has a higher, rounder raised front lip for even more protection. It also has a recessed pocket in the back so there isn’t much of a bump where the loop lays. It’s definitely our best case yet and we hope you give it a try!

      Stay Loopy!!

  2. HK

    February 28, 2018 at 11:22 pm

    Bought my case after watching and reading your review. Awesome content.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top