iPhone 6(s+)

iPhone 6(s+) Tough Case Comparison Tool – 12+ cases reviewed

Which tough case is right for you? Having trouble choosing? Well, our handy little tough iPhone 6 tough case comparison tool will definitely help you choose which iPhone case is best for you. On this page, you’re going to find ONLY tough iPhone cases, not slim ones (like the Spigen Tough Armor and the Urban Armor Gear).

Looking for slim iPhone cases? Go here!

We carefully choose our cases but if you feel that there should be case in the list below, let us know and we’ll see about reviewing the case. We have a scoring system that we put all the cases through to ensure that we give you the most consistent review possible. Our product reviews come out weekly so check back frequently to see the new reviews.


At Mobile Reviews Eh!, we base our reviews on real usage. We try to rate all of our iPhone case reviews in the same manner so that when we say case X is better than Y, you can take that to the bank. Each one of these comparisons take over 8 hours to complete so we’re very through in ensuring that we catch every detail before publishing our iPhone case reviews. If you’re looking for a round up of the best iPhone 6 cases that we’ve reviewed, check out our Top 10 List here.

67 Comments

67 Comments

  1. Pingback: iPhone 6 case comparisons - 12+ cases reviewed!

  2. Molly

    December 6, 2014 at 6:48 pm

    Are the tough cases not really worth it? Those don’t seem to have very high ratings. I will get a new phone in Jan and am still trying to figure out what case I need. I won’t say I drop my phone regularly, but enough to make me want it protected.

    • Aaron Ho

      December 8, 2014 at 2:09 pm

      For now, I rate these tough cases the same way as the waterproof cases and because of it, most of the cases get lower scores because water and dust protection isn’t there.

      If you’re looking for slimmer cases that will protect your iPhone from occasional drops, check out the 5 cases here: http://youtu.be/_qK0DIf_qbQ

      • Kasim

        January 23, 2015 at 6:14 pm

        I need the most protective case possible, I don’t care about bulk.

        Up to $50 is fine.

        What would you recommend?

        Thanks for any help bro!

        Kas

  3. Billy

    December 14, 2014 at 3:15 pm

    How would you compRe the Pelican Voyager for 6 plus to the Otterbox line?

    • Aaron Ho

      December 15, 2014 at 6:12 pm

      We’ve got one coming. Stay tuned!

      • Brian G.

        December 21, 2014 at 10:23 pm

        Billy…I just purchased the Pelican ProGear Voyager for the iPhone 6 a few days ago. I am a construction manager and a volunteer fire fighter so my phones and cases take quite a beating on a daily basis. I’m talking water, dust, mud, drops from extreme heights, etc. I absolutely love the Pelican. I have dropped it over 10′ on concrete and nothing but a nick on the plastic on the corner. It is not rated regarding drop height that I could find. But i am sure that Pelican would be more than happy to answer that for you. iPhone is perfect. I also use a Zagg Glass screen protector as the supplied screen protector is sub par IMO. The Pelican is NOT waterproof but regarding dust and drop protection I personally love it. Pelican has been making products fro the military, law enforcement, and emergency personnel for some time.
        Every case serves a different purpose, and personal preferences vary from Canada to Chicago….(no pun intended Aaron…you are still my hero)
        I hope this helps!

        • Billy

          January 1, 2015 at 3:48 am

          Thanks for the comments! It certainly helps, heard mixed reviews for the Otterbox group.

          • Billy

            January 4, 2015 at 2:25 pm

            Just wanted to follow up. I picked up the Pelican Voyager a couple of nights ago. I’ve been using it with a Zagg glass screen protector, and so far have really liked it. I had a Tech 21 on my black 5s and loved it but my 6+ is white and I do t like how the Tech cases look with white. The white/grey Pelican case looks great and is less bulky than an Otterbox. I can still use one hand for most things (although I am a big guy, 6’5″).

      • Keith Sharp

        January 15, 2015 at 7:12 am

        Hi Aaron
        Just wondering how close you are to reviewing the Pelican Voyager and also if you have a recommendation for a tough Iphone 6 plus case with belt clip?

  4. Dglicks

    December 16, 2014 at 7:38 pm

    Could you review the otter box defender with the built in screen protector removed? I’ve heard of people doing this and was wondering if it was worth. I like the protection of the defender, but hate the loss of sensitivity due to the screen protector.

    • Aaron Ho

      December 16, 2014 at 10:54 pm

      I will think about it. Thanks for the suggestion!

      • Brian

        December 17, 2014 at 3:45 am

        Regarding using the Otterbox Defender for the iPhone 6 with removing the plastic screen protector, I have been using mine like this since day 2. I always use a ZAGG Glass screen protector with any case including my previous iPhone C in both Lifeproof FRE and NUUD. I have never had issues regarding water leakage in either Lifeproof. Now…the Otterbox Defender for my iPhone I use without the plastic screen protector for many reasons.
        1. Too much of a gap to use the screen properly.
        2. Touch ID never worked as it should have.
        3. The membrane on the Otterbox Defender for the Touch ID left a permanent “mark” on the iPhone 6 screen. Luckily I have the Zagg Glass screen protector and both Otterbox and ZAGG are sending replacements.
        That being said, I use the Otterbox Defender for iPhone 6 with the screen protector removed and have a ZAGG Glass screen protector in place.

        • Aaron Ho

          December 19, 2014 at 4:54 pm

          Thanks for the comment. Sounds like a complicated setup.

        • Dylan

          December 20, 2014 at 12:43 pm

          Sounds like the exact set up I would use if I got an otter box today. Any suggestions on how to get the screen protector out easily and is there any glue residue from the screen protector left?

          • Aaron Ho

            December 21, 2014 at 4:32 pm

            I will find out in the new year!

          • Brian

            December 21, 2014 at 4:53 pm

            Regarding your question about the OtterBox screen protector work around. Now…what I am about to tell you WILL void your Case warranty. So…with that being said…I will tell you what I did and I do not suggest that anyone do this unless you are skilled in the art of Ninjitsu and a knife expert. (I am of course)
            I took a razor knife and trimmed around the inner edge of the plastic screen protector very carefully so as to not nick the black plastic on the actual cover. I cut ALL of the screen protector off perfectly. Again…I am NOT suggesting that this be do as it is dangerous and will void your case warranty.
            I am a construction manager and have many years experience working with tools and have always used either OtterBox or LifeProof. I know them both very well and have put all my phones/cases through every type of harsh situation possible. Probably more than Aaron…(don’t want to steal your thunder my friend…you are my hero…) I have dropped both my OtterBox and LifeProof cases with my iPhone 5c and 6 from over 28 feet. Swear…and they BOTH do a great job of protecting the iPhone. Scared the crap outa me but only the cases had minor scratches. Dropped in more puddles and mud than I can count…ran my last iPhone 5c over with a fully loaded tractor trailer…NO JOKE…dusty conditions every day, etc etc etc…So….back to the OtterBox. The screen protector removal worked perfect for me as I explained. I guess you could call it an OtterBox (Nuud). Lol. You can also take a hair dryer and warm up the glue surrounding the screen protector and then peel it off that way. However if you do that there may be a very small gap between the case front and your iPhone. Not to mention the heat may warp the case front. Please feel free to comment and ask any questions. I am not as cool as Aaron but I will strive for excellence in all my iPhone case endeavors.

        • Andrew

          January 6, 2015 at 7:05 pm

          I just ordered a Trident Kraken and a Griffin All-Terrain. I am intrigued by removing the plastic film protector and using ZAGG Glass instead. I wonder if the rainproof features could be restored after the surgery by using credit card glue (AKA “booger glue”) as a gasket material between case and glass.

          • Aaron Ho

            January 8, 2015 at 10:38 pm

            I’m not really sure. I was going to maul my Defender once I got the replacement unit to see if mods like that are worth it.

  5. Matt

    December 29, 2014 at 6:46 pm

    I have a Commuter Series Case for My IPhone 6, Should I return it? And what phone case will provide the best protectin while still being a fairly thin case?

  6. Diogo

    December 31, 2014 at 2:46 am

    Heya Aaron. I was just wondering if you’re planning on reviewing I-Blason’s Armorbox 2. I’ve cough on to it by reading one of forbe’s contributor articles on tough cases, but the actual site and demo video don’t look that sharp. The case only costs 15 USD on amazon.

    Product Page: http://www.i-blason.com/iphone-6-armorbox-dual-layer-hybrid-protective-case.html
    Amazon listing: http://www.amazon.com/Protection-i-Blason-Full-body-Protective-Protector/dp/B00M0QW2RG/ref=sr_1_3?s=wireless&ie=UTF8&qid=1419992557&sr=1-3&keywords=i-blason+iphone+6

  7. Dale Alan Ross

    January 2, 2015 at 7:05 pm

    Have you reviewed or heard any comments regardng the Ivyskin Renegade case for iphone 6/6+?

    • Aaron Ho

      January 8, 2015 at 10:33 pm

      I haven’t! What do you like about those cases?

  8. kermit

    January 12, 2015 at 1:06 pm

    Hey very helpful reviews!
    Could you try the newest from Lunatik?
    https://www.lunatik.com/products/iphone-6/taktik-360?variant=black

    thanks!

    • Aaron Ho

      January 14, 2015 at 3:38 pm

      I’ve pre-ordered my case. Stay tuned!

      • Steve Francisco

        February 2, 2015 at 3:54 am

        Lunatik is shooting themselves in the foot pushing the dates back to April. I hope they keep the same size for a 6s so I can try out the aquatik. If not the case would only be good for a few months before the new phone.

  9. krista green

    January 13, 2015 at 4:30 pm

    First thank you so much for these reviews. They are really helpful when trying to figure out what case is best with all the different cases available. Just came if you are planning on (or in the process of) reviewing the Ballistic Tough Jacket Maxx or Griffin Survivor All-Terrain?
    Thanks again!
    ~Krista Green

  10. Tamer

    January 14, 2015 at 8:28 am

    Rokform aluminum case & Magpul case … both reviews needed for iphone 6 plus…Thanx!!
    http://www.rokform.com/aluminum-iphone-6-plus-case/
    http://store.magpul.com/product/MAG485/cases

    • Aaron Ho

      January 14, 2015 at 3:40 pm

      I’ve got the rokform one prepped for review…I’ve sent magpul a note about reviewing their case. Thanks for the comment!

  11. Tom Jones

    January 16, 2015 at 8:08 pm

    There is a 13 foot drop protection case: Tech21-Patriot that is now available for the iPhone 6, it should be as tough as the Defender, so you might want to give it a review.

    • Aaron Ho

      January 23, 2015 at 4:04 pm

      I’ve seen it…ordering it today!

    • Steve Francisco

      February 2, 2015 at 3:57 am

      I was disappointed in the patriot. I picked it up. The case protection wise is great but the screen protector is complete garbage. Has a large gap between the screen and the protector and it doesn’t allow for a proper finger print scan. Drop wise it held up very well though. Not sure about the drop on the screen part though. Didn’t try that. I’m interested to see your review on it.

  12. Ian

    January 21, 2015 at 7:12 pm

    Any plans to review the Ivyskin Renegade? Their cases have gotten mixed reviews in the past (much like Element) and I am curious about how the iPhone 6 version stacks up. Also the Evutec SI case… I had an SP on my iPhone 5 and have nothing but good things to say about it.

    Thanks Aaron and crew!

    • Aaron Ho

      January 23, 2015 at 4:06 pm

      I haven’t seen that one yet. Interesting, I’ll put it on the list!

  13. Jeff

    January 22, 2015 at 2:59 am

    Hi. I am looking at the iPhone 6 plus and I’ve read good reviews on a case by merit that is waterproof. Have you ever reviewed them? http://www.amazon.com/Merit-trade-Waterproof-Underwater-Shockproof/dp/B00PMXQNGK

    • Aaron Ho

      January 23, 2015 at 4:07 pm

      I haven’t but I’ll check it out!

      • Jeff

        February 10, 2015 at 11:20 pm

        Just checking if you’ve received this yet to test?

  14. Ben

    January 25, 2015 at 11:09 am

    Just about to give up on waiting for the Lifeproof Nuud for iPhone 6…
    Catalyst’s new offering is out — will you be evaluating it? http://www.catalystlifestyle.com/collections/cases/products/iphone-6-black

    Really would love to know how it does on sound distortion and if the screen protector diminishes use of the screen…

    Not sure how they got this data: http://static.iphonelife.com/sites/iphonelife.com/files/resize/unnamed-1_0-600×579.jpg — but its interesting

    Keep up the awesome work!

  15. Chelsea Dezfuli

    February 9, 2015 at 9:01 pm

    Will you be doing a review on the catalyst waterproof case for the iphone 6 anytime soon?
    I loved the comparisons of all the waterproof cases you had for the iphone 5s.

    • Aaron Ho

      February 10, 2015 at 11:17 pm

      I will once I receive my pre-order case. It was shipped two weeks ago and it hasn’t showed up yet…

  16. Wayne

    February 12, 2015 at 12:24 am

    When will you be doing a review of the new Tech21 Patriot case i would like to see how it measures up to review

    • Aaron Ho

      February 12, 2015 at 1:17 pm

      Yes. I have one on my desk and will be getting to it soon.

  17. Jack

    February 13, 2015 at 5:03 pm

    Would you review the iblason armorbox case?

  18. Pingback: Premium iPhone Case Reviews & Comparisons - Mobile Reviews Eh

  19. watermelonjones

    March 6, 2015 at 5:03 am

    Hello I am a new fan who find your reviews very helpful… but I’m looking to get a new phone thinking about and iPhone 6 and it would would be very helpful to see the new Speck Mightyshell in a review… Just wandering if you could help me out

    • Aaron Ho

      March 11, 2015 at 2:28 pm

      I’ve got one on my 6 Plus right now. I really like the case but its no bigger than the Candyshell Grip so that might be a compromise if you need it right now. In terms of protection, they don’t tell us how tough it really is so its hard to say which one is better (between the Mightyshell and Candyshell)

  20. Justin Campbell

    March 22, 2015 at 12:02 am

    Can u please review the MightyShell + FACEPLATE iPhone 6 Plus Cases that just came out

    • Aaron Ho

      March 23, 2015 at 2:27 pm

      Its coming out later this week!

  21. Maysarah Gamal

    April 26, 2015 at 7:15 am

    I want bend and shutter proof case for iPhone 6 plus
    What do you recommend ?

  22. Will

    June 17, 2015 at 2:34 am

    What is the best “Tough Case” you have reviewed? For someone who is clumsy and drops their iPhone 6 a lot, there doesn’t seem to be a highly rated “protective” case… What would you recommend? Bulkiness not a huge factor, but slim preferable.

  23. RMK22

    June 22, 2015 at 7:29 am

    Aaron Great sight very helpfull just bought a iphone 6 im leaning towards the Rhino Shield case is there one that is better ?

    • Aaron Ho

      June 22, 2015 at 2:40 pm

      Not that I’ve found. The Thule is a close second but for the RhinoShield, make sure you get a front/back protector as well since its just a bumper.

  24. Tracie G.

    July 10, 2015 at 5:52 pm

    My husband just bought an iPhone 6 plus and we are looking for a heavy duty case, that is dust proof, water proof, and drop proof. He is a construction worker that is around dirt and water all day. We are struggling to find a case that meets all of his needs. He used the Otterbox Armor for his iPhone 5c and absolutely loved it. What do you suggest? He doesn’t care about bathe bulk or sound (he uses a blue tooth). Thanks!

    • Aaron Ho

      July 13, 2015 at 2:53 pm

      I haven’t really come across anything that is as tough as the Otterbox Armors for the 6 plus (or 6 for that matter). If I had to go with toughness, it would be probably be the Catalyst but its a far cry from the Armor.

      • Tracie G.

        July 13, 2015 at 3:14 pm

        Thanks!

  25. Alicia J.

    August 23, 2015 at 4:32 pm

    Could you please answer the following questions?

    1. Can you use a glass screen with the Otterbox Commuter? If so, what do you recommend?
    2. Do you have any information about Shock Proof cases? Some sites have really cute cases using Shoof Proof, but I want them to protect as well.

    Thanks in advance for any help you are able to offer.

    • Aaron Ho

      August 24, 2015 at 2:20 pm

      The page that you’re commenting on has lots of shockproof cases on it. For the commuter, any screen protector will work…I personally like products from Sir Lancelot and iLoome.

  26. Carolyn Wilkes

    August 25, 2015 at 3:49 pm

    So…if I need a basically decent shock-proof & water-proof case…that is not bulky, has a tight seal,yet easy to open case that doesn’t have high screen-glare, but affords excellent sound and sensitive tactile benefits…what do you suggest for the IPhone 6?

  27. Adrian

    November 6, 2015 at 6:18 pm

    Hi

    After 6 months and being kept in a cheap portfolio (save your) my phone has developed a VERY slight bend and has developed a fault. Will you be reviewing the otterbox stada? Is ther a portfolio that will stop your case bending in your pocket?

    Thank you

    • Aaron Ho

      November 9, 2015 at 4:32 pm

      The only cases that I think will prevent bending would be metallic cases. I doubt the Strada would prevent bending but am looking to review it.

  28. Irwan

    November 29, 2015 at 2:11 pm

    Hello aaron, i’m very interesting with your reviews very helpful! Finally, i have to choose the best rugged case for my iphone 6s plus between thule atmos x5, seidio obex or lifeproof frē. What do you recommend? All i need is rugged case ip68 with good screen sensitivity. Thank you!

    • Aaron Ho

      November 30, 2015 at 4:14 pm

      The Thule is a beast of a case, the toughest of the 3. LifeProof has a great warranty. The Obex and Fre are pretty close in terms of protection and usability (both are better than the Thule).

      I personally would go with the Fre for day-to-day protection. Thule for tougher situations.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

To Top